Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
I expected to dip in and out of this book but I found it so interesting that I
read it from cover to cover and I don't even live in London! As the blurb says,
this is a book for anyone who has ever taken a trip on the Tube. Have you ever
wondered about the origin of the Tube station The Elephant and Castle for
instance? The book has a perfect mix of...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by F M Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting at first
Begins by being an interesting and informative guide to every tube station but when read for any length of time the, style is very repetitive. Best to dip in for short periods only. Writer needs to rewrite some later entries using more extensive vocabulary to overcome this problem.
Published 16 months ago by Steamroller


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs English Farm, 31 July 2012
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
This book is superb. I used to live in London and thought I knew about the tube but I learned so many interesting facts from reading this. A must if you use the tube aor if you are planning a visit to the City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I never knew until I read this, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting snippets of information regarding station names and their origins. It captures the historical meaning where there is one and if one does not exist it does not make one up, very factual in that sense. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 12 May 2012
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I brought this book for my husband as he is a Londoner, He thought it was a great little book so I thought I would give it a try and I just couldn't put it down. It's an easy read and I really enjoyed learning about all the history of the areas ive been to in London.I would highly recommend it to anyone living in London, traveling to London or who just has an interest in London! Fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars history of london and beyond, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
i expected this book just to be about the london stations but it gave more information what place names originated from, the history of the surronding areas its a good book for transport, history and trivia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book some much information, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
There is so much detail is this gem of a book, I have to keep picking it up to read some more.
Whilst the Kindle version has it benefits I still like Hard copy books will this ever be published in hard copy, if so please let me know.

Chris Duff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I have a great interest in all thing London and this book certainly intrigued me. Starting with a brief history of the underground and then sifting through the names of the stations with fascinating tales of how the stations became to be known as what they are today. This was carefully researched and was interesting and thought-provoking throughout and certainly not dull as with some guide books.

What I also liked about this, is that it is a kindle product so you can pop it in your pocket or bag and take it on the tube with you, without the need for a bulky guide book. Good for kids too, it could make a boring tube journey come alive. And it's a great price. A must for London lovers and visitors to the capital alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed, 4 Aug 2012
By 
R. M. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book but packed with typos and inaccuracies. If the author gets the date of the tube bombings wrong (it wasn't 7 June 2005) then you can't really have much confidence in the historical accuracy of the remainder of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better presented, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
Interesting subject matter with lots of quirky facts thrown in, but the layout and basic presentation could have been done much better. I am sure that if you wished to trawl London's streets checking out stations on the Tube network you would benefit from an improved layout of this book's undoubtedly fascinating facts. Also, no map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars London tube a history of underground ration names, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
Poor. Simply working through stations in alphabetical order makes for real drudgery in reading. Far better if stations were grouped according to lines and real historical facts and anecdotes included. Simply listing stations, when opened, who designed the building with the occasional nugget of station specific lore does not make for engaging reading. I thought this would be on a par with Tim Moore's Do Not Pass Go, a history of places on the Monopoly board. No such luck. The 2 bare no comparison whatsoever. This is lazy, disengaged writing and is rapidly putting me off Internet book purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Proof reading would have been a good start, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
What would have been an informative jaunt around the underground soon turns into irritation at the author and his editor.

First, you are told, for some stations, the line they are on. This is helpful because, rather then being on a line by line basis, the way anyone travelling the line would see them, he has decided to go alphabetically. Unfortunately it is not helpful enough because for just as stations you ahve no idea.

Then a substantial part of the start of the book is taken up with a timeline. Not of the the Underground but of London for the 1800 years before anyone even conceived of mechanically hauled trains let alone making them subterranean. There are many histories of London some short, some long but all of them better written.

Then most locations are given an historic derivation of their name. After a while, this is tedious as you grow increasingly irritated by hearing it is Saxon for the farm of a man named Joe. I accept this is the title of the book but there is no consistency to approach. Hammersmith place of the hammer smiths, no s*** Sherlock! Sometimes rather than explaining what the name means, you get something along the lines of Hendon was named after the village of Hendun. Quite clearly the derivation of Hendun was one step beyond him.

The writing style is poor and ill conceived. At one point we are told that multi cultualism did not start in the UK until the Empire Windrush docked in 1956. Yet in another there is reference to Jewish and Hugenot refugees and other communities long before the first Jamaicans. We also have the phrase African-Caribbeans, is it not Afro-Caribbeans, West Indians?

The refernce to Jimi Hendrix and pyromania is interesting, presumably a reference to setting the Stratocaster on fire but Revill's editor should have realised it was pyrotechnics. If Hendrix was a pyromaniac no promoter would have allowed him to perform indoors for fear of him burning the place down!

Another example of the lack of care in editing is "concealed in a vault beneath the church, after which it was formerly interred there." As it was in the vault until discovered it was formerly interred there but what is meant is that after discovery it was formally interred there.

This book is akin to some pre GCSE project which was laid out for a parents' and is really a vanity publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews