Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
I expected to dip in and out of this book but I found it so interesting that I
read it from cover to cover and I don't even live in London! As the blurb says,
this is a book for anyone who has ever taken a trip on the Tube. Have you ever
wondered about the origin of the Tube station The Elephant and Castle for
instance? The book has a perfect mix of...
Published on 1 Oct 2011 by F M Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting at first
Begins by being an interesting and informative guide to every tube station but when read for any length of time the, style is very repetitive. Best to dip in for short periods only. Writer needs to rewrite some later entries using more extensive vocabulary to overcome this problem.
Published 16 months ago by Steamroller


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I expected to dip in and out of this book but I found it so interesting that I
read it from cover to cover and I don't even live in London! As the blurb says,
this is a book for anyone who has ever taken a trip on the Tube. Have you ever
wondered about the origin of the Tube station The Elephant and Castle for
instance? The book has a perfect mix of history, name origins and anecdotes,
all at an amazing price. I can't wait for my next trip to London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, things I never even knew about my home town! a must buy, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
A great book jam-packed full of interesting stories about the Underground station names and the areas of London that share their names. I bought this book just before a long weekend sightseeing in London and I really enjoyed finding out so many fascinating things about London - I read it whilst travelling about on the Tube and it made the trip all the more interesting. I'd recommend this book to anyone planning a trip to London or anyone whose ever wanted to know the history behind the Underground's station names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
This is a little gem of a book. It contains fascinating histories of the the tube stations on the London underground. I will definitely be taking it with me on my kindle for my next trip to London. It's great value and no visitor to London should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and interesting, but not what I expected, 6 Feb 2012
By 
D. Tomkin "Dave" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I blame myself.....from the synopsis I thought this book was filled with stories of lost stations, the inner workings of the tube, etc, and in part it is - well pertaining to that station it is.
It is primarily however, more of a history of the ACTUAL place rather than the tube history. Yes it does start by saying "Acton was formed by the xxxxxx railway company in 19xx and was joined to the tube in 19xx" for example but then continues with a description of the once sleepy hamlet and where the word 'Acton, hackney," etc comes from in olde english/anglo saxon etc.
This is interesting but after many many stations it does get repetitive.

GREAT for reference though I must say, just not what I was hoping for. I'm more 'nerdy' and want to know the ins and outs of the tube, what goes on below hidden from view. What am I zooming past? Not how Guy Fawkes was nabbed.

The author deserves credit for excellent research and lovely prose, and for anyone wanting info regarding place name history and a bit of background its great. As a 'how the tube was built' book, I'm less convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little read., 9 Nov 2011
By 
P. MARTIN "psmartin7" (Aldershot, Hants) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I share the view of the other reviewers here. If you have come this far and are actually interested in learning about the quirky and interesting history of the tube network and as an inevitable consequence, the history of London, then this is a great read. Well researched and covering a very wide range of historical information the author is to be applauded for making this a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting resd, 13 Nov 2011
By 
John Gray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting read, and all the more so if you've been to several of the stations described - as I read it I formed a wish to visit each and every station! The author gives a brief history of the network, and then each station is listed, with some detail about its life as a station, followed by a history of the area it serves (origins, noteworthy events, etc.). My only criticism is that there are a few irritating errors that could have been eliminated by better proofing - for example 'spar resort' rather than 'spa', a note that Heathrow T5 opened in 1985, and similar. However, to be fair, it's well worth the modest price and a very easy and pleasant little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London by Tube; A History of Underground Station Names, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It's fascinating to learn where the Tube station names originate from and the book is full of interesting little stories about London's past. A great little read all in all and at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behind the Tubes, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I didn't know there was so much information available about the history of the tube stations: how many more I had never heard of, how they came to be called their sometimes strange names and all the historical detail behind each of them. It was fascinating to read and there were so many more stations than I imagined. Why 'The Elephant & Castle' or 'The Angel Islington' for instance? Intriguing and interesting, if slightly on the long side. I thoroughly enjoyed travelling on my Kindle through the underground railway system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting little book full of facts, 16 Mar 2012
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
i am a fan of our wonderful tube system and love its history and this wonderful little book is full of that, how the stations got their names and really interesting stuff like that, i found it great fun to use it alongside a tube map and check out the story of the stations there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little reference book, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: London by Tube: A History of Underground Station Names (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this and was happy to see stations I recognised. I used to be a manager at LT and once found an old printing copper plate with old stations on (now in the Transport Museum)so this book was of obvious interest to me. I have actually had the pleasure of being in some of the older shut down stations and have seen rooms still prepared for WWII with bunk beds etc still in them. Well researched and a nice read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews