Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars80
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2011
I expected to dip in and out of this book but I found it so interesting that I
read it from cover to cover and I don't even live in London! As the blurb says,
this is a book for anyone who has ever taken a trip on the Tube. Have you ever
wondered about the origin of the Tube station The Elephant and Castle for
instance? The book has a perfect mix of history, name origins and anecdotes,
all at an amazing price. I can't wait for my next trip to London.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
A great book jam-packed full of interesting stories about the Underground station names and the areas of London that share their names. I bought this book just before a long weekend sightseeing in London and I really enjoyed finding out so many fascinating things about London - I read it whilst travelling about on the Tube and it made the trip all the more interesting. I'd recommend this book to anyone planning a trip to London or anyone whose ever wanted to know the history behind the Underground's station names.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
This is a little gem of a book. It contains fascinating histories of the the tube stations on the London underground. I will definitely be taking it with me on my kindle for my next trip to London. It's great value and no visitor to London should be without it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
I blame myself.....from the synopsis I thought this book was filled with stories of lost stations, the inner workings of the tube, etc, and in part it is - well pertaining to that station it is.
It is primarily however, more of a history of the ACTUAL place rather than the tube history. Yes it does start by saying "Acton was formed by the xxxxxx railway company in 19xx and was joined to the tube in 19xx" for example but then continues with a description of the once sleepy hamlet and where the word 'Acton, hackney," etc comes from in olde english/anglo saxon etc.
This is interesting but after many many stations it does get repetitive.

GREAT for reference though I must say, just not what I was hoping for. I'm more 'nerdy' and want to know the ins and outs of the tube, what goes on below hidden from view. What am I zooming past? Not how Guy Fawkes was nabbed.

The author deserves credit for excellent research and lovely prose, and for anyone wanting info regarding place name history and a bit of background its great. As a 'how the tube was built' book, I'm less convinced.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
This is an interesting read, and all the more so if you've been to several of the stations described - as I read it I formed a wish to visit each and every station! The author gives a brief history of the network, and then each station is listed, with some detail about its life as a station, followed by a history of the area it serves (origins, noteworthy events, etc.). My only criticism is that there are a few irritating errors that could have been eliminated by better proofing - for example 'spar resort' rather than 'spa', a note that Heathrow T5 opened in 1985, and similar. However, to be fair, it's well worth the modest price and a very easy and pleasant little book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 November 2011
I share the view of the other reviewers here. If you have come this far and are actually interested in learning about the quirky and interesting history of the tube network and as an inevitable consequence, the history of London, then this is a great read. Well researched and covering a very wide range of historical information the author is to be applauded for making this a good read.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
I really enjoyed this book. It's fascinating to learn where the Tube station names originate from and the book is full of interesting little stories about London's past. A great little read all in all and at a bargain price.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
I didn't know there was so much information available about the history of the tube stations: how many more I had never heard of, how they came to be called their sometimes strange names and all the historical detail behind each of them. It was fascinating to read and there were so many more stations than I imagined. Why 'The Elephant & Castle' or 'The Angel Islington' for instance? Intriguing and interesting, if slightly on the long side. I thoroughly enjoyed travelling on my Kindle through the underground railway system.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 January 2012
I enjoyed reading this and was happy to see stations I recognised. I used to be a manager at LT and once found an old printing copper plate with old stations on (now in the Transport Museum)so this book was of obvious interest to me. I have actually had the pleasure of being in some of the older shut down stations and have seen rooms still prepared for WWII with bunk beds etc still in them. Well researched and a nice read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
i am a fan of our wonderful tube system and love its history and this wonderful little book is full of that, how the stations got their names and really interesting stuff like that, i found it great fun to use it alongside a tube map and check out the story of the stations there
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)