Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat
Episode one of this six-part BBC3 series received a lukeawarm reception from the critics, but I stuck with it and I must say it has exceeded all expectations.

Four episodes in and while some people will of course be turned off by the fantasy element of the concept, I think it's quite brilliantly written. At times scary, sometimes genuinely hilarious and always...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Gaffer_75

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BBC drops the ball
This is a good television series working on a interesting idea however it can be a little childish in places (well, a lot of places really) but as is normal for the BBC these days they killed it of so no second series
Published 11 months ago by Mr. J. James


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like this Please......., 20 Oct 2011
By 
Midge "Midge Spencer" (Soul Fan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This series has proved to be a real treat on BBC3. Consistently good writing and acting,
atmospheric, creepy, exciting and often laugh out loud funny. I would reccomend this to
anyone who is at all interested in GOOD tv. Not just for kids, I'm the wrong side of 50
and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant wait for series 2, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Taylor (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
totally loved it... scary and jaw dropping, cant wait for the next series to come out. Ended far to soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, 9 May 2012
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have fallen in love with British television. I took a chance and ordered this series and can't wait to see season 2. I was a little concerned with the blu ray play back. It's not the worst picture but the beginning and the dark sense are pretty bad. Watched it in 3d and it looked a lot better! Bravo BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might expect, 15 Aug 2014
By 
the dilettante (North West England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So much better than it could have been. After all, the BBC's record with contemporary (as opposed to period, where they are generally excellent) horror/fantasy is not exemplary. And I was afraid it might be another Estuary England tale of everyday London folk. But no, this short series is genuinely entertaining. Of course it draws upon many familiar tropes - scary raggedy girls, jump-edits, false alarms followed by something scary jumping out of the shadows - but the characters are fresh and the settings are recognisably everyday life in England.

It's not a zombie story, as it might initially appear, but it is an epic conflict between good and evil, some of which takes place in a secondary school (does sound a bit like early Buffy, come to think of it). Paul, the reluctant 'hero', struggles with his new found significance and doesn't want to follow the path his destiny dictates. There's plenty of gore and general grunginess (not for those with weak stomachs). Everything goes totally pear shaped as the episodes unfold and now, as I approach the final episode, I'm wondering how the writers will resolve it. Even if they do, there's a lot of misery stored up for everyone involved ...

Well worth a try if you have even the slightest interest in horror, fantasy, magic. Even if you don't you still might like the settings, the writing, the engaging cast and the fact it's all happening in the good old UK for a change! Not that I don't love 'Angel', 'Buffy' etc, but it's great to see genre TV this good come out of England for a change - makes it much more scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only negative is that it got cancelled, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
You should watch this series knowing that these first 6 episodes are all you are going to get. But you should watch it. The seasons story arc does come to a conclusion, so you're not left completely in the open, but there are so many more things I want to see and find out about that could of been a second or third season. I guess that's a good thing.
This is solid UK drama, with a horror and sci-fi twist, but I've shown it to people who don't usually enjoy those genre and they've been hooked.
It's clear from how deliberate the pacing is that they thought they were going to get more than these 6 episodes, but by the midway point it has been unleashed. The acting is very good, the characters strongly defined, the effects are well done and the story and concept are top notch.
It's a real shame this was dropped for 'Being Human', as this is precisely the type of unique, innovative drama the UK and BBC3 used to be so good at producing.
This was a missed opportunity for the station, but what they did produce is very well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, intelligent, funny and occasionally frightening, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The Beeb doesn't always trail its best programmes that well, but this series was advertised with a series of intriguing teasers. And the product surpassed the hype for once. The pitch probably went something like 'teen angst meets Dawn of the Dead' but that probably shows my lack of imagination, as the show is much more than that. The central premise is hard to describe and actually I probably should let you find out for yourself. Suffice it to say, it is intellingently written, with some great performances (Daniel Kaluuya is a comic genius and has the talent to be a great actor with it), and sufficient gore to keep the average horror fan interested, without putting off those who are looking more for an imaginative story with twists and a wonderfully ambivalent ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this series when first screened on tv. Remembered being impressed by it so thought I'd revisit it on dvd. What a wonderful decision, it's spectacular!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unjustly cancelled cult piece., 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It's astonishing to think this intelligent witty teen horror series from BBC3 was cancelled in favour of long-past-its-sell-by-date Being Human. This blu-ray release goes some way to making up for that. The picture quality is fantastic and there are sufficient extras to make it worth purchasing. Positives include superb casting (with one glaring exception) - Iain de Caestecker and Daniel Kaluuya are both fantastic with help from a luxury supporting cast - any one of Claire Rushbrook, Tom Ellis, Johnny Harris, Joe Dempsie and Natalie Dormer would give any show class. Unfortunately Sophie Wu as The Girlfriend is not in the same league as everyone else and does drag down every scene she is in, but only marginally. The script is intricate, possibly too much so and the serial is a bit too long but the direction doesn't skimp on the horror and the sense of eerie dread is impressively maintained. The visuals are extremely well-executed for a low-budget show and any youth-market horror series that can reference both Romeo and Juliet AND Cyrano de Bergerac in the same scene gets my vote. There are far far worse shows out there that get renewed year after year so spend your money on this blu-ray and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it when it aired on BBC3, even better second time round!!
Gutted there was never a series two, another BBC failing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A really good series, what a shame it did not continue, wish it had, the dating was good, the story was great, do yourself a favor and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Fades Series 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Daniel Kaluuya (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews