Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£5.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2011
Episode one of this six-part BBC3 series received a lukeawarm reception from the critics, but I stuck with it and I must say it has exceeded all expectations.

Four episodes in and while some people will of course be turned off by the fantasy element of the concept, I think it's quite brilliantly written. At times scary, sometimes genuinely hilarious and always intriguing with plenty of surprises and stand-out moments along the way, this has been a triumph for BBC3 and certainly the only series on that channel that has had me coming back for more.

There's some decent support from Tom Ellis and Daniela Nardini, and the lead in the role of Paul does a great job. But the star of the whole show is his wonderfully geeky friend Mac. The dialogue between the two friends is priceless and delivered superbly.

In terms of the plot, well as with all these things the less you know before viewing the better. So essentially, teenager Paul is having vivid apocalyptic nightmares. He is also seeing creepy beings out and about that no one else seems to be aware of. He discovers that these shadowy figures are in fact "Fades" or dead people that haven't ascended and are trapped on earth, unable to communicate with anyone, touch anything etc. Except certain particularly bitter and malevolent Fades have discovered a way to change this, which threatens the whole of mankind!!

Yes, it sounds totally barking and completely off-putting. I'm not into this kind of fantasy/good v evil stuff at all. But trust me it's done in a way that makes it seem scarily believable and once you buy into the concept you'll be hooked. I have to say I was expecting a show aimed solely at teens but I'm in my 30s and absolutely love it.

I'm quite hard to please with TV dramas and as a horror fan I certainly don't appreciate horror-lite - this however deserves a much wider audience. 10 out of 10.
22 comments75 of 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
This Mini-Series is actually a "horror" jewel. I'm really hoping for a second season.

I've bought the Blu-Ray edition and while it doesn't feature many extras (just a look behinde the scenes, deleted scenes), picture & sound is top-notch.

This series is not a cheap rip-off as some claim. Especially it's no buffy clone. I wonder if these people even watched the series.

It tells a dark story and it features some nasty story twists. SFX, especially gore effects, are brilliant, others (e.g. Paul's angelic wings) are far off from being perfect. However it's always fun to watch and episodes 1-5 are a thrill-ride heading towards a drastic climax. IMHO episode 6 is the weakest. It's kinda open ended, even tho it features an end that's satisfying.

If you have a weak stomach... there's a lot of gore and some scenes are pretty drastic, however throughout the whole series there's some dark and twisted humor that keeps the series above the average.

I really loved the "story so far.." episode reviews by Paul's best friend. Anyway, give it a try if you are in for a good story, great actors and some drastic sfx ;-).. Looking forward for series 2.
11 comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 October 2011
I'm always a fan of the horror/fantasy genre, and The Fades has been a real treat to keep me going while Being Human Series 4 is in production. I enjoyed it from Episode 1, despite the fact that some people seemed to think the start was bad and only got better later. If you're among the latter, stick at it! It really builds momentum.

The Fades is visceral, blunt and compelling. Its comedy sits more comfortably alongside its horror elements than you might expect, and the characters are easy to get attached to (warning: this series comes with a high body count). There is little fixation with SFX (when it's used, it's sometimes a bit ropey, but you can't have everything), and a lot more gore. The whole thing is a really tight production: the right pacing; a great script; tense, climatic scenes. Let's hope the BBC decides to commission a second series and, if they do, to put it on BBC 1 or 2. This kind of thing could garner a huge fan following.

One thing though: are the BBC joking when they say the release date for this DVD is December 26th? The day after Christmas? After everyone's had their presents? Do they WANT to make money?
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
Due to band commitments all my episodes of The Fades sat in the Sky planner until today. Clocks back, wife in bed, extra hour to play with. I sat through all six episodes back to back and it was a treat. Great writing, well acted, dark, humorous, nice little nods to classic sci-fi and Mork and Mindy. Enjoyed this immensely. The BBC do this kind of thing so well. Quality. The Blu-Ray has to come out sooner than December 26th doesn't it?
P
0Comment28 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
Having just finished watching the last episode I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this series from start to finish. It draws you in from the beginning showing one side of Paul's life as a somewhat awkward but adorable 17 year old boy, and the darker side of life that he quickly becomes embroiled in as he discovers who he really is. The evolution of Paul's character is unexpected but a refreshing change from the norm and the series constantly surprised me right up to the end. As a British show I think this gives some of the other biggies like The Walking Dead and Supernatural a run for their money, and yet is in a niche all of its own. This is definitely one for the collection to watch and enjoy time and again.

It seems absolutely criminal that there will not be a second series of this wonderfully british supernatural show!!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
This series is currently showing on BBC3 and is the weekly TV treat. At time of writing this we are four weeks in but it is certainly one for pre-ordering. It's a mixture of genres - part fantasy horror, part Skins blending a good mix of drama and laugh out loud comedy relief. A number of the ideas are clearly borrowed from other recognisable films, or series (Green Mile, Being Human, even a nod to Ghost) but this adds to the familiarity and ease of getting into it. This is probably the first really compelling must watch series on BBC3.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
When I watched the first episode I thought"what is this rubbish"thankfully I gave it a second chance because if I hadn't done so I would have missed an EXCELLENT SERIES a cast with no big names deliver a multitude of fantastic performances 10 out of 10, 5 stars. Worth both buying and watching
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
This is a really innovative engaging dark-fantasy series with great characters, effects and a bonkers storyline. It doesn't shy away from some really nasty ideas, and keeps a large scope for such an epic apocalyptic story. Don't worry about the BBC's daft decision not to recommission it, the story completes a full arc without leaving any cliffhanging.
Daniel Kaluuya, Joe Dempsie and Johnny Harris' performances particularly stand out.
BAFTA Winner of best drama and cancelled by the BBC. Daft.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A glitch in the system, many dead denied access to what lies beyond. Instead they roam, an increasing threat to humans. These are the Fades. Angelics (who recognize a dead when they see one) strive to combat a growing problem - aware the world is rapidly heading for an "Us or Them" scenario.

Unexpectedly thrust into the midst of it all is seventeen year old Paul, hailed at school (and by his twin sister) as a freak and totally lacking self-confidence. Perplexed, he now learns he has extraordinary powers, and is sought by both Fades and Angelics to further their cause.

A low budget venture with much to praise, humour and horror skilfully intertwined. Iain De Gaestecker appeals as the harassed teen, never smiling (except in outtakes). Here is no male Buffy, fearlessly annihilating all enemies. He is scared, haunted by nightmares and daytime visions. So much is so weird. At one point he even sprouts wings! This loner has only one friend -film fanatic Mac. (Some may find the latter's almost non-stop flippancy somewhat wearisome - until realizing it his way of dealing with problems at home.)

Making particular impact is Joe Dempsie as a Fade reborn, he recognizing Paul as THE enemy who must be destroyed.

All is not what one might anticipate, this not simply Good versus Evil. Both sides represent a range of attitudes. Leading Angelic Neil would seem a hero, until a shocking act that totally alienates. Leading Fade would seem an out-and-out villain, until revelations about his past create sympathy.

No wonder Paul is so confused. Movingly he tries to rise to face challenges that threaten to overwhelm.

Cascading ash, plummeting birds, much gory feasting as Fades tear into flesh, many shocks - including a real startler out of the blue. All the way through, there is much to disturb - those of nervous disposition advised to stay well away.

Six hour long episodes. Bonuses include extra scenes (some between Paul and Mac very funny), deleted scenes (creators explaining why, most reluctantly, they had to go), explanations of key story strands.

No second season, despite acclaim. "The Fades" is one of those prematurely curtailed series, leaving viewers frustrated and craving more.

A modest cult classic that many fans of the genre will be happy to own.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
It's astonishing to think this intelligent witty teen horror series from BBC3 was cancelled in favour of long-past-its-sell-by-date Being Human. This blu-ray release goes some way to making up for that. The picture quality is fantastic and there are sufficient extras to make it worth purchasing. Positives include superb casting (with one glaring exception) - Iain de Caestecker and Daniel Kaluuya are both fantastic with help from a luxury supporting cast - any one of Claire Rushbrook, Tom Ellis, Johnny Harris, Joe Dempsie and Natalie Dormer would give any show class. Unfortunately Sophie Wu as The Girlfriend is not in the same league as everyone else and does drag down every scene she is in, but only marginally. The script is intricate, possibly too much so and the serial is a bit too long but the direction doesn't skimp on the horror and the sense of eerie dread is impressively maintained. The visuals are extremely well-executed for a low-budget show and any youth-market horror series that can reference both Romeo and Juliet AND Cyrano de Bergerac in the same scene gets my vote. There are far far worse shows out there that get renewed year after year so spend your money on this blu-ray and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.