Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat
Episode one of this six-part BBC3 series received a lukeawarm reception from the critics, but I stuck with it and I must say it has exceeded all expectations.

Four episodes in and while some people will of course be turned off by the fantasy element of the concept, I think it's quite brilliantly written. At times scary, sometimes genuinely hilarious and always...
Published on 13 Oct. 2011 by Gaffer_75

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best
I bought this series as, having previously watched In the Flesh which I thoroughly enjoyed I thought this would be similar. It's not. I found this series to be more a zombie movie than anything else something similar to the Walking Dead. I didn't even bother watching the whole box set.
Published 11 days ago by Dave Burgess


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat, 13 Oct. 2011
Episode one of this six-part BBC3 series received a lukeawarm reception from the critics, but I stuck with it and I must say it has exceeded all expectations.

Four episodes in and while some people will of course be turned off by the fantasy element of the concept, I think it's quite brilliantly written. At times scary, sometimes genuinely hilarious and always intriguing with plenty of surprises and stand-out moments along the way, this has been a triumph for BBC3 and certainly the only series on that channel that has had me coming back for more.

There's some decent support from Tom Ellis and Daniela Nardini, and the lead in the role of Paul does a great job. But the star of the whole show is his wonderfully geeky friend Mac. The dialogue between the two friends is priceless and delivered superbly.

In terms of the plot, well as with all these things the less you know before viewing the better. So essentially, teenager Paul is having vivid apocalyptic nightmares. He is also seeing creepy beings out and about that no one else seems to be aware of. He discovers that these shadowy figures are in fact "Fades" or dead people that haven't ascended and are trapped on earth, unable to communicate with anyone, touch anything etc. Except certain particularly bitter and malevolent Fades have discovered a way to change this, which threatens the whole of mankind!!

Yes, it sounds totally barking and completely off-putting. I'm not into this kind of fantasy/good v evil stuff at all. But trust me it's done in a way that makes it seem scarily believable and once you buy into the concept you'll be hooked. I have to say I was expecting a show aimed solely at teens but I'm in my 30s and absolutely love it.

I'm quite hard to please with TV dramas and as a horror fan I certainly don't appreciate horror-lite - this however deserves a much wider audience. 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece..., 13 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This Mini-Series is actually a "horror" jewel. I'm really hoping for a second season.

I've bought the Blu-Ray edition and while it doesn't feature many extras (just a look behinde the scenes, deleted scenes), picture & sound is top-notch.

This series is not a cheap rip-off as some claim. Especially it's no buffy clone. I wonder if these people even watched the series.

It tells a dark story and it features some nasty story twists. SFX, especially gore effects, are brilliant, others (e.g. Paul's angelic wings) are far off from being perfect. However it's always fun to watch and episodes 1-5 are a thrill-ride heading towards a drastic climax. IMHO episode 6 is the weakest. It's kinda open ended, even tho it features an end that's satisfying.

If you have a weak stomach... there's a lot of gore and some scenes are pretty drastic, however throughout the whole series there's some dark and twisted humor that keeps the series above the average.

I really loved the "story so far.." episode reviews by Paul's best friend. Anyway, give it a try if you are in for a good story, great actors and some drastic sfx ;-).. Looking forward for series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope this gets a second series!, 29 Oct. 2011
By 
Chantal Lyons "C.S. Lyons" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm always a fan of the horror/fantasy genre, and The Fades has been a real treat to keep me going while Being Human Series 4 is in production. I enjoyed it from Episode 1, despite the fact that some people seemed to think the start was bad and only got better later. If you're among the latter, stick at it! It really builds momentum.

The Fades is visceral, blunt and compelling. Its comedy sits more comfortably alongside its horror elements than you might expect, and the characters are easy to get attached to (warning: this series comes with a high body count). There is little fixation with SFX (when it's used, it's sometimes a bit ropey, but you can't have everything), and a lot more gore. The whole thing is a really tight production: the right pacing; a great script; tense, climatic scenes. Let's hope the BBC decides to commission a second series and, if they do, to put it on BBC 1 or 2. This kind of thing could garner a huge fan following.

One thing though: are the BBC joking when they say the release date for this DVD is December 26th? The day after Christmas? After everyone's had their presents? Do they WANT to make money?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's what the BBC do best., 30 Oct. 2011
By 
planetgaffnet "PG" (Crowthorne, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Due to band commitments all my episodes of The Fades sat in the Sky planner until today. Clocks back, wife in bed, extra hour to play with. I sat through all six episodes back to back and it was a treat. Great writing, well acted, dark, humorous, nice little nods to classic sci-fi and Mork and Mindy. Enjoyed this immensely. The BBC do this kind of thing so well. Quality. The Blu-Ray has to come out sooner than December 26th doesn't it?
P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buffy for a new generation?, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Hoysted (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is currently showing on BBC3 and is the weekly TV treat. At time of writing this we are four weeks in but it is certainly one for pre-ordering. It's a mixture of genres - part fantasy horror, part Skins blending a good mix of drama and laugh out loud comedy relief. A number of the ideas are clearly borrowed from other recognisable films, or series (Green Mile, Being Human, even a nod to Ghost) but this adds to the familiarity and ease of getting into it. This is probably the first really compelling must watch series on BBC3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 15 April 2012
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having just finished watching the last episode I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this series from start to finish. It draws you in from the beginning showing one side of Paul's life as a somewhat awkward but adorable 17 year old boy, and the darker side of life that he quickly becomes embroiled in as he discovers who he really is. The evolution of Paul's character is unexpected but a refreshing change from the norm and the series constantly surprised me right up to the end. As a British show I think this gives some of the other biggies like The Walking Dead and Supernatural a run for their money, and yet is in a niche all of its own. This is definitely one for the collection to watch and enjoy time and again.

It seems absolutely criminal that there will not be a second series of this wonderfully british supernatural show!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SERIES, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I watched the first episode I thought"what is this rubbish"thankfully I gave it a second chance because if I hadn't done so I would have missed an EXCELLENT SERIES a cast with no big names deliver a multitude of fantastic performances 10 out of 10, 5 stars. Worth both buying and watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHILLINGLY OUT OF THE ORDINARY, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A glitch in the system, many dead denied access to what lies beyond. Instead they roam, an increasing threat to humans. These are the Fades. Angelics (who recognize a dead when they see one) strive to combat a growing problem - aware the world is rapidly heading for an "Us or Them" scenario.

Unexpectedly thrust into the midst of it all is seventeen year old Paul, hailed at school (and by his twin sister) as a freak and totally lacking self-confidence. Perplexed, he now learns he has extraordinary powers, and is sought by both Fades and Angelics to further their cause.

A low budget venture with much to praise, humour and horror skilfully intertwined. Iain De Gaestecker appeals as the harassed teen, never smiling (except in outtakes). Here is no male Buffy, fearlessly annihilating all enemies. He is scared, haunted by nightmares and daytime visions. So much is so weird. At one point he even sprouts wings! This loner has only one friend -film fanatic Mac. (Some may find the latter's almost non-stop flippancy somewhat wearisome - until realizing it his way of dealing with problems at home.)

Making particular impact is Joe Dempsie as a Fade reborn, he recognizing Paul as THE enemy who must be destroyed.

All is not what one might anticipate, this not simply Good versus Evil. Both sides represent a range of attitudes. Leading Angelic Neil would seem a hero, until a shocking act that totally alienates. Leading Fade would seem an out-and-out villain, until revelations about his past create sympathy.

No wonder Paul is so confused. Movingly he tries to rise to face challenges that threaten to overwhelm.

Cascading ash, plummeting birds, much gory feasting as Fades tear into flesh, many shocks - including a real startler out of the blue. All the way through, there is much to disturb - those of nervous disposition advised to stay well away.

Six hour long episodes. Bonuses include extra scenes (some between Paul and Mac very funny), deleted scenes (creators explaining why, most reluctantly, they had to go), explanations of key story strands.

No second season, despite acclaim. "The Fades" is one of those prematurely curtailed series, leaving viewers frustrated and craving more.

A modest cult classic that many fans of the genre will be happy to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fades - BAFTA Best series 2012, 28 May 2012
By 
N. Headland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really innovative engaging dark-fantasy series with great characters, effects and a bonkers storyline. It doesn't shy away from some really nasty ideas, and keeps a large scope for such an epic apocalyptic story. Don't worry about the BBC's daft decision not to recommission it, the story completes a full arc without leaving any cliffhanging.
Daniel Kaluuya, Joe Dempsie and Johnny Harris' performances particularly stand out.
BAFTA Winner of best drama and cancelled by the BBC. Daft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fades Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For those who have not heard about it The Fades is an amazing british series !!
Impossible to stop before the end ... gripping ... I'm waiting impatiently for the second series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fades Series 1 [DVD]
The Fades Series 1 [DVD] by Daniel Kaluuya (DVD - 2011)
£7.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews