Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is actually more to this film that the ultra-cool car
"Starsky & Hutch" exceeds expectations, which you have to admit have been lowered considerably when it comes to all of the movies that have been made recycling old television shows. This is perhaps to be expected when you understand that the target audience for these films consists of people who have probably never seen an episode of "I Spy" or "The Mod Squad," and who...
Published on 10 Jan 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but...
You remember Starsky and Hutch the series? Two tough, unconventional cops riding around in a red Torino with a white stripe that gave us decent (and sometimes gritty) stories laced with humour on a Saturday night? Well forget that, because this film is nothing like it.
The characters of Starsky and Hutch have been changed so much they are unrecognisable - even...
Published on 8 Aug 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 12 Feb 2005
Not quite how I rememder it back in the 70's, but, the makers of the film have done very well in capturing the feel of the time. My wife gave this a 3 and I gave it a 5, so we compromised and went for 4, I think anyone who was a fan back in the days of David Soul & Paul Michael Glazier, will enjoy this movie. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a beer & doritos movie!!!, 24 Jan 2005
...and there's nothing wrong with that! It knows what it is. There some laugh-out-loud scenes, but mostly you'll chuckle your way through it.
Good for saturday night if you'd rather watch something other than Bruce Forsythe creaking his way through a joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars do it. DO IT, 21 May 2005
By 
Starring one of comedys best pairings, Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, Starsky and Hutch is an enjoyable and funny film. Although it is a bit short, the story is good and it contains lots of comedy moments that will have you in stitches. It also stars Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear, and features the old red Ford Mustang from the original series. It is about two cops David Starsky(Stiller) and Ken Hutchinson(Wilson) forced to be partners, trying to catch a major drug dealer, assisted by their informant Huggy Bear(Snoop Dogg). It features a wicked car chase and hilarious scenes such as the mimes, and the horse. I'll let you watch it to see what it is all about. If you liked the original series then you should enjoy this.
Overall, a good film, could be longer, but very funny. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starsky And Hutch - The Movie, 11 Jun 2004
This was a trully great film. it had just the right balance between action and comedy.
there was never a boring part of this film it kept you entertained throughout.i was a bit unsure of snoop dogg playin a part in this movie, i thought he could ruin it. but he played his part superbly and comically.
i went to watch this movie with a group of friends and not one of us thought it was bad in any way.
owen and ben play great parts in this film, i had expected a good partnership after the success of zoolander.i cant wait to get this film in july, it rocks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious parody, 29 Jun 2004
By 
Oh Nuts! I shouldn't have put 'parody' because now all of the so-called die-hard 'fans' of the original series will be preparing to look elsewhere. If you're still with me though then please hear me out. S&H is not as such a parody of the series, but becomes one through its loving parody of the 1970s. The principle joke here is that the 70s were actually, in hindsight, hilariously awful with such style nadirs as disco, knitwear and more bad hairstyles than you can shake a stick at. All of these and more are interwoven into the most standard possible buddy comedy structure on the market (meet-start to become friends-fall out-happy ending) and injected with the superb pairing of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson.
Obviously with the label of 'Starsky and Hutch' attached to this movie we have to have all of the associations otherwise it would have been totally crucified and as such we find all of our key elements in place, Starsky is the same old cop who loves the system, Hutch is the same old cop who loves just about any woman who comes his way (and both Stiller and Wilson manage to invest great charm in these beloved characters), and also present are the two most famous stars of the series, the jive-talking Huggy Bear (given a modern overhaul by rapper Snoop Dogg in an inspired piece of casting), and of course, the coolest car on the road - the Gran Torino!(still managing to prove a great threat to cardboard boxes everywhere!). Yes, it seems that all is well and good, but the question remains - is it funny?
The problem here is whether you're willing to let go of any memories of the original and just get caught up in this loving parody. This truly is a film that was done by fans of the series and Stiller and Wilson make the parts cool again and its been a long while since there has been such an effective on-screen comedy duo as these two (despite being in many films together including Meet the Parents and the royal tenenbaums this is their first true pairing). The fact that these two guys clearly had great fun making this film shines on screen as they hurtle through several hilarious set-pieces (the final undercover infiltration is particularly joyous as is the hilarious encounter with Will Ferrel's dragon obsessed prisoner), and with the constant lampooning of 70s style along the way to keep the laugh count up either because you can't imagine how these styles or tchnologies were ever popular or because you remember them yourself and have lived through much better times!
This film is by no means perfect and seems to have offended the purists but god only knows why. What we have here is a brilliant mickey take of the era and all of the best bits of the original are still there. At the end we are even treated to a symbolic passing of the torch from one generation of Starsky and Hutch to the next with cameos from David Soul and Paul Michael Glaser. If they can laugh at themselves then surely we all can. To the cynics, stop whinging and appreciate the series for what it is - a timeless classic, and this film for what it is - a cracking buddy comedy made all the better by a brilliant comic partnership and a lampoon of a timeless classic! 4 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Theres no shame in loving this film!!, 20 May 2004
By A Customer
Not all films have to break new ground and raise key philosophical questions. There is every bit as much value to films like this that just make you giggle and have fun. This film is great, the actors are having a fantastic time and the atmosphere is really infectious. This film wont offend anyone and its guaranteed to bring a smile to your face.
Everyone needs a quality family comedy in their collection - this film is class and really delivers those 70's feelgood vibes. Sit back and let the good times roll......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad and The Groovy, 30 July 2004
By 
The latterday Ackroyd & Belushi return again.
This is a non-stop gag-fest which doesn't fall flat until, like a lot of comedies, the final act. A great homage to the TV series and the times.
The DVD features a rather disappointing which amounts to a few outtakes and on-set soundbytes. The commentary by Phillips is engaging but I was disappointed by the exclusion of a Wilson/Stiller commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars watch this film, do it, 31 Jan 2005
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Stiller (David Starsky) and Owen Wilson (Ken Hutchinson) combine for this comedy version of the popular TV show. Starsky being the more serious of the two who does everything by the book where as Hutch is the laidback maverick who takes a more unconventional approach to crime fighting.
The two are unwillingly brought together in order to stop a huge drug operation with Vince Vaughn as the drug lord. Helped by Huggy Bear (Snoop Dog) will the boys catch the bad guys?
I've heard mixed reviews for this one, to be honest i thought it was pretty funny, there's some original moments and quite a few good scenes, i think its definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars starsky & hutch movie review, 5 May 2004
By 
suzanne nee (norwich, norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Any one that says this film is not worth watching needs a personallity transplant!! Ben & Owen make a great double act, and even the "starsky strut" returned to the screen!! It was funny with a story line and huggy bear is way too cool!! Nobody touches the bear!! I was really un sure about the film thinking it would be too much a boys film!! Ive seen it twice with my hubby and cant wait to but it on dvd in July!! Its different to the original tv series as the characters seem to have swapped personalities with Starsky being the serious one and Hutch being the rogue type. If you havent seen it, WHY NOT!!! "JUST DO IT"!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 3 May 2004
By 
Amused (Den Haag Netherlands) - See all my reviews
If you're looking for a sensible remake of the seventies' series you'll be disappointed. But hey, we all know that when Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson get together sensible is pretty much out of the question. It's silly, really silly and very funny because of that. Lots of laughs especially whenever Will Ferrell is on screen. Stop thinking so much, just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starsky and Hutch [Blu-ray]
Starsky and Hutch [Blu-ray] by Ben Stiller (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews