Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Every nerd's fantasy!"
I absolutely love Futurama no doubt about it! I quote it often on a daily basis!
So after the success of the 4 movies and continuous pressure from fans to bring it back Futurama has returned with great gusto!

What I love about the new Futurama is how the writers drop references and characters from earlier episodes back into these new episodes, showing a...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Metal4Nature

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as seasons 1-4
I am a big fan of futurama and absolutely gutted when I heard that the show had been cancelled,( yet simpsons live on??)But I was excited last Oct when I heard of the return on dvd, what a shame. The show has definatley got saucy - more so. The jokes aren't quite as good. Maybe once cancelled remain cancelled because it is never the same after a hiatus. Heroes was proof...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Adele


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to this amazing series!, 29 May 2011
Before I begin, I must advise that you have at least a multi-region DVD player or a player that can read the region 1 code or else this box set won't work! It will not work on a european Xbox 360 or Playstation 3!

Having said that, I got this to work by changing the region code of my computer's DVD drive to region 1 with help from PowerDVD. After this, I couldn't stop laughing!

All 13 episodes of this brand new season are guaranteed to make anyone laugh out loud. Particularly the Annie nominated 'Proposition Inifinity', the award winning 'The prisoner of Benda', and the 100th episode, 'The Mutants are revolting'.

This box set is crammed with extras on both discs, including deleted scenes, audio commentaries and some bizarre surprises.

It's a shame that these episodes have not aired in Europe yet, but this box set will more than suffice.

I look forward to the next box set of Futurama next year and I hope the Matt Groening and co. are allowed to continue producing this show in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jumping The Shark - In a Spaceship, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
There have been quite a few instances over the last couple of years whereby fan power (or, more correctly, fan DVD buying power) has got a previously axed TV show recommissioned. In some cases this has allowed the show in question to continue with the same level of quality as before (Family Guy) and in others been so dreadful it has only gone to remind you why they cancelled it in the first place (Red Dwarf).

I had expected Futurama to fall into the former category seeing as it is also a US cartoon with a team of top writers, money behind it and with none of the pre-cancellation series ever containing a duff episode. Unfortunately (and surprisingly) I was wrong.

Many of the previous, non-flattering reviews of Season 5 seem to focus on the fact you only get half a season when you buy this product, others complain that the region formatting is wrong. None of them, however, seem to touch on the fact that the writing on display absolutely stinks.

The characters have become stock caricatures of themselves - Fry, for example, used to be an idiotic delivery boy bumming around in the future and the show's lead. In Season 5 he spends the entire time stuck on a repetitive, tedious mantra of glumly bleating on and on about how much he "Loves Leela" but how she won't go out with him. Seriously - The entire series could have adequately been named 'Whining Bitch - In Space'. Leela, on the other hand, spends some episodes reciprocating these feelings, and others seemingly oblivious. I think the writers were trying to build up the whole 'Will they/Won't they?' thing but, after a dozen episodes of this crap, my answer was a resounding 'I don't care'.

The episodes themselves seem to lack direction. They largely bumble along without the strong plotlines of old, some ending abruptly without an adequate conclusion (one of the shows ended so suddenly I genuinely thought it must have been a two-parter. It wasn't - It was merely badly written)

Some of the story lines were cringe-worthily terrible. In one, Leela gets a boil on her buttock. But this is no ordinary boil. It has a face. And talks in a Scottish accent. And sings 'I Dreamed a Dream'. Leela has named the boil 'Susan'. Susan the boil? Susan Boyle? Get it?! Yeah?! YEAH?!! (I can only assume that this episode was conceived at 4:30 on a Friday afternoon, and was finished by 5pm. It had the overall feeling of the show 'Jumping the shark'. In a spaceship)

Season 5 shows occasional glimmers of it's proud past, but not enough to warrant more than 2 stars in my opinion.

If you are a typical Fanboy (or girl) who just wants to watch their favourite characters walking around and doing stuff, then buy it. Otherwise - avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Funny as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
the dvd was scratched only one of the episodes ran smoothly,returned the product and will get another and hope it works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
just what it say on the tin. quick postage and all that. in good condition as described . same with al the others i ordered from the same place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars XD, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good packaging, arrived early, works, and the only disappointment was the menu music on the DVD, (it should be the theme, but it isn't).

Futurama forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
My favourite animation after The Simpsons. And thanks to the other shoppers for clarifying what was what with Series 6 and Series 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Got this for my Grandson for Christmas. He just loves it. He watches it over and over again.
He's very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
You can always rely on Futurama to come up with something completely new. This was a cristmas present and t was well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Season 5 [DVD]
Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] by Billy West (DVD - 2011)
£13.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews