Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Every nerd's fantasy!"
I absolutely love Futurama no doubt about it! I quote it often on a daily basis!
So after the success of the 4 movies and continuous pressure from fans to bring it back Futurama has returned with great gusto!

What I love about the new Futurama is how the writers drop references and characters from earlier episodes back into these new episodes, showing a...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Metal4Nature

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as seasons 1-4
I am a big fan of futurama and absolutely gutted when I heard that the show had been cancelled,( yet simpsons live on??)But I was excited last Oct when I heard of the return on dvd, what a shame. The show has definatley got saucy - more so. The jokes aren't quite as good. Maybe once cancelled remain cancelled because it is never the same after a hiatus. Heroes was proof...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Adele


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back!, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Futurama's cancellation was a downer, but now that it's back, it's on top form. The vast majority of the episodes in this season are overwhelmingly better than ever. There are a couple of duds, but they are still fun episodes to watch, and don't ruin the rest of the series at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the people complaining, 16 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read comment saying oh it only has 13 episodes and it's not really season 5, it's just half of season 6. Well first of all they're idiots because it shows on the picture of the cover that there are 13 new episodes and season 5 was really all the movies but Comedy Central decided to split season 6 in half and call the first half Season 5 and the second half will be released as season 6 (hope I'm making sense). Anyway, all that out of the way just want to say that this Blu-ray is amazing, the picture and sound is great. The episodes are just as good as the others. Overall a great set for any Futurama fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Future comes to Blu Ray, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First, I need to say that this doesn't seem to be Season 5. It appears that Futurama (like Family Guy) is not released on DVD or Blu Ray in broadcast order. There are 13 episodes in this set, but it's not strictly "Season 5".

I hated Futurama when it first started. I was so excited for the first few episodes but it got boring after that, trying to coast by mainly on its irreverence while almost never expanding the range of characters. By Season 5, The Simpsons had a huge range of supporting characters, but Futurama rarely introduces new people. After a 5-year hiatus the show returned with 4 feature-length adventures before Comedy Central relaunched the show, this time not pandering to a young Simpsons audience, and it's much, much better.

With a few small hitches (mainly scenes involving Mr. Burns clone 'Mom') Season 5 (or what passes for it) features highly intelligent, sharp writing, loads of snappy dialogue, and some heartwarming moments. Even Hermes Conrad, a character I previously disliked, has improved. I just love his ludicrous catchphrases ('Sweet Kangaroo of Katmandu', 'Sweet Orca of Majorca').

Futurama has gotten better, a lot better. It's not a rival to The Simpsons yet, but the show can only get better and better if they keep this up.

Now animated in HD, the show is presented in 1.78:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound and loads of great extras. You absolutely must buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine in the UK, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I was worried this wouldn't work on my UK (region 2 DVD player) setup since it's NTSC and not PAL, but it plays absolutely fine, the only difference being that the screen size/resolution is smaller than we're used to in the UK - so basically you get a black border around the screen while you're watching it.

This was fixed for me by adjusting my TV setting to the '16:9 zoom' setting that it has, where it basically just zooms the picture in a bit so the border is hidden. I guess that makes the resolution a bit more blurry but it looked fine to me.

So basically - if you're worried it won't work on your normal UK setup, don't worry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, this is NOT the complete 5th season, 26 Jan 2012
It's great that Futurama finally made it back to TV where it belongs. It's been a long wait, and with four feature length movies to hold us going, the series was due for a proper TV show again. This doesn't dissapoint, and if you've seen any of the movies, you already know what to expect. The series is as over the top and crazy as ever, with each episode stepping into new boundaries. This release on the other hand, is only the first part of the 5th season, which can be a little confusing, but I'll try to explain it.

In the USA, season 4 was split into two parts. The first part was called season 4, and the second part was called season 5. Here in Europe, it was simply released as season 4, the way it should be... However, they are about to make a similair mistake with the release of this new season. Instead of including ALL episodes from season 5, they've only included half of them. The second half is due for release somewhere around February 2012. It's not uncommon for TV shows to split up seasons when releasing them on DVD and Blu-ray, but that's not the case here. The cover clearly states that this is the COMPLETE 5th season (which is not correct, as there was 26 episodes in the 5th season). To further create more confusion, the second half of season 5, is soon to be released with the remaining 13 episodes, but they are calling it season 6... I wouldn't have a problem with this, if they had simply called them Season 5 part 1 and season 5 part 2. But why would they name it season 6, when it's a part of season 5?

It's really hard to wrap your head around, and confusion is bound to become an issue for future generations who want to check out the series. I mean, they never did this with The Simpsons. Imagine if they were to split every single season of The Simpsons into two parts, and number them by different seasons, rather than parts of a season. Right now, The Simpsons is in it's 23rd season. That would make 46 seasons in total if they were to follow this release order. Obviously, The Simpsons have nailed the DVD/Blu-ray release with it's perfectly numbered seasons, and with minimal confusion. I already own Futurama season 1-4 on DVD, and it's flawless. Why they would start numbering the seasons in a new order is beyond me. I don't like it, and I would much rather prefer to wait until February for a full release of the season, including ALL the episodes.

This season is great, make no mistake about it. It's just the order they have decided to release it in that bothers me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 15 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the wait. The second generation in our household have always preferred Futurama to The Simpsons and could never understand why Futurama was given the boot. Thank goodness someone had sense and here we have Season 5. Both my Husband and I are in our late 50's and love Futurama. Roll on Season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant show, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought futurama6 through to futurama8. Futurama5 was fairly packaged but the DVD menu was very basic and of no entertainment value. The shows are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it !, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
BUY IT! Every one needs a little bender in their live so but this and get you fix buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's back, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
And it's still very funny, if perhaps not quite as good as the first four seasons. As with all these ongoing comedy series, it has lost a little of the original impact. I still enjoy it enormously, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
good product with fast delivery. Everything you could expect from classic futurama, i got exactly what i ordered and what i expected. Any fans of these kind of shows, this is good for you.
won't make a long winded, pointless review over nothing.. all in all...... Futurama S5 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Season 5 [DVD]
Futurama: Season 5 [DVD] by Billy West (DVD - 2011)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews