Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2011
This box set, it rules. The only gripes I really have are that of a few missing things, or things that should have been included. The Hammersmith 81 show is missing Don't Believe A Word. I have a great radio recording of this show and it was a fine performance. Shame it's not included. The Regal 83 gig, which is a bonus show on the Live And Dangerous DVD is featured here along with the audio with extra tracks from the show, as well as the Rainbow 78 gig which is in fact the Live And Dangerous DVD. The only gripe is Cowboy Song? It's out there, I've seen it. Why not include it in here? Many of the recordings have already been previously released in some form or fashion or have been floating around as bootlegs, but there are a multitude of rarities contained in this set that only the hardest of hardcore Lizzy fans may have seen or heard of, or even known of their existence. And just to point this out, this set is not a victim to the loudness war. Yipee! They could have thrown some more television appearances on the DVD but eh. I can't complain. Tracklist of all the discs below.

Disc 1: Sessions 1971-1973

Look What The Wind Just Blew In (Sounds of The Seventies - 7/7/1971)
Return of the Farmer's Son (Sounds of The Seventies - 7/7/1971)
Whiskey in the Jar (John Peel Session - 11/14/1972)
Suicide (John Peel Session - 11/14/1972)
Black Boys on the Corner (John Peel Session - 11/14/1972)
Saga of the Ageing Orphan (John Peel Session - 11/14/1972)
Vagabond of the Western World (John Peel Session - 7/31/1973)
Gonna Creep Up on You (John Peel Session - 7/31/1973)
Little Girl in Bloom (John Peel Session - 7/31/1973)
Randolph's Tango (John Peel Session - 8/6/1973)
The Rocker (John Peel Session - 8/6/1973)
Slow Blues (John Peel Session - 8/6/1973)
Randolph's Tango (Bob Harris Session - 8/29/1973)
Little Girl In Bloom (Bob Harris Session - 8/29/1973)
The Rocker (Bob Harris Session - 8/29/1973)

Disc 2: Sessions 1974

Little Girl in Bloom (Rock On Session - 2/25/1974)
Little Darling (Rock On Session - 2/25/1974)
Showdown (Rock On Session - 2/25/1974)
Sitamoia (Bob Harris Session - 3/6/1974)
Little Darling (Bob Harris Session - 3/6/1974)
Slow Blues (Bob Harris Session - 3/6/1974)
Showdown (Bob Harris Session - 3/6/1974)
It's Only Money (John Peel Session - 4/4/1974)
Little Darling (John Peel Session - 4/4/1974)
Still in Love with You (John Peel Session - 4/4/1974)
Black Boys on the Corner (John Peel Session - 4/4/1974)
Sitamoia (John Peel Session - 4/4/1974)
She Knows (John Peel Session - 10/4/1974)
It's Only Money (John Peel Session - 10/4/1974)
Sha La La (John Peel Session - 10/4/1974)
Philomena (John Peel Session - 10/4/1974)

Disc 3: Sessions 1974-1977

Dear Heart (Bob Harris Session - 10/23/1974)
Banshee (Bob Harris Session - 10/23/1974)
Half Caste (John Peel Session - 5/29/1975)
Rosalie (John Peel Session - 5/29/1975)
Suicide (John Peel Session - 5/29/1975)
Emerald (John Peel Session - 2/12/1976)
Warriors (John Peel Session - 2/12/1976)
Cowboy Song (John Peel Session - 2/12/1976)
Jailbreak (John Peel Session - 2/12/1976)
Don't Believe a Word (John Peel Session - 9/23/1976)
Johnny (John Peel Session - 9/23/1976)
Fools Gold (John Peel Session - 9/23/1976)
Johnny the Fox Meets Jimmy the Weed (John Peel Session - 9/23/1976)
Killer Without a Cause (John Peel Session - 8/1/1977)
Bad Reputation (John Peel Session - 8/1/1977)
That Woman's Gonna Break Your Heart (John Peel Session - 8/1/1977)
Dancing in the Moonlight (It's Caught Me in Its Spotlight) (John Peel Session - 8/1/1977)
Downtown Sundown (John Peel Session - 8/1/1977)

Disc 4: In Concert 1973-1974

The Rocker (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 7/26/1973)
Things Ain't Working Out Down At the Farm (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 7/26/1973)
Slow Blues (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 7/26/1973)
Gonna Creep Up On You (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 7/26/1973)
Suicide (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 7/26/1973)
She Knows (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)
It's Only Money (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)
Still in Love with You (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)
Showdown (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)
Rock `N' Roll with You (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)
Baby Drives Me Crazy (Live @ Golders Green Hippodrome, London - 11/27/1974)

Disc 5: Live at the Hammersmith Odeon, London - 11/27/1981

Angel of Death
Renegade
Hollywood (Down on Your Luck)
The Pressure Will Blow
Killer on the Loose
The Boys Are Back in Town
Are You Ready
Baby Drives Me Crazy
Emerald

Disc 6: Live at the Regal Theatre, Hitchin, U.K. - 1/26/1983

Introduction
Jailbreak
This is the One
Cold Sweat
The Sun Goes Down
The Holy War
The Boys Are Back in Town
Rosalie
Baby Please Don't Go
Still in Love with You
Dancing in the Moonlight (It's Caught Me in Its Spotlight)
Baby Drives Me Crazy

Disc 7: DVD

Live at The Rainbow Theatre, London - 3/29/1978
The Boys Are Back in Town
Emerald
Dancing in the Moonlight (It's Caught Me in Its Spotlight)
Massacre
Still in Love With You
Don't Believe a Word
Are You Ready
Sha La La
Baby Drives Me Crazy
Me and the Boys

Live at the Regal Theatre, Hitchin, U.K. - 1/26/1983
Jailbreak
This Is The One
Cold Sweat
The Sun Goes Down
The Holy War
The Boys Are Back in Town
Rosalie
Baby Please Don't Go

Top Of The Pops

Whiskey in the Jar (Live on Top of the Pops - 2/1/1973)
Jailbreak (Live on Top of the Pops - 7/29/1976)
Don't Believe a Word (Live on Top of the Pops - 7/29/1976)
Dancing in the Moonlight (Live on Top of the Pops - 8/11/1977)
Dancing in the Moonlight (Live on Top of the Pops - 8/25/1977)
Rosalie/Cowgirl's Song (Live on Top of the Pops - 5/11/1978)
Rosalie/Cowgirl's Song (Live on Top of the Pops - 6/22/1978)
Waiting for an Alibi (Live on Top of the Pops - 3/1/1979)
Sarah (Live on Top of the Pops - 11/1/1979)
Chinatown (Live on Top of the Pops - 5/29/1980)
Are You Ready (Live on Top of the Pops, 4/30/1981)
Are You Ready (Live on Top of the Pops - 5/14/1981)

The Old Grey Whistle Test

Back on the Streets (Live on The Old Grey Whistle Test, 1/9/1979)
Don't Believe a Word (Live on The Old Grey Whistle Test, 1/9/1979)
Ode to a Black Man (Live on The Old Grey Whistle Test - 4/11/1981)
Somebody Else's Dream (Live on The Old Grey Whistle Test - 4/11/1981)

Bonus

Renegade (Live on Three of a Kind - 1/1/1982) [DVD lists it as 1983, and is not possible as Snowy was no longer in the band]
66 comments|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
Having shelled out silly money on the rare Peel Sessions a few years ago, I must admit I felt slightly ill when I saw this twin cd version. Having said that, I'm absolutely delighted with the quality on offer here for a criminal £6.99.
There are too many highlights here to go through, but including the oft overlooked Eric Bell's work on most of the first disc is reason enough to buy it.
Get this until the price of the 6 cd and dvd box set drops, then get that like I intent to.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
Just to clarify, my review is for the standard CD release, not for the boxset.

I purchased this CD a little while ago and, may I say, it is flawless!!!!

Personally, I was not a fan of Lizzy's output at all, really, before making the purchase. By all accounts, I was only familiar with their staple songs which everybody knows.

Having listened to this two CD set, I must admit that I was blown away by the content. It is excellent and the sound quality is second-to-none. I will not bore you and tell you which songs I admire best and least. What I will say is buy this and have a listen and decide for yourself; some songs work on this and some of them don't. However, this CD is still flawless and any rock lover should add this to their collection.

I also love how this album has really given my taste for Lizzy a second thought; I listened to the songs featured on here and then went and hunted down their studio counterparts, and beyond... so go and do the same!

As an Irishman, I can say that Thin Lizzy were the band that defined everything for the Irish scene. I mean, forget U2, a band that self-admittedly I am a huge fan of, but Thin Lizzy were there before them and, moreover, did it all before them for the Irish scene... this album dictates why, so please buy it!

PS: I haven't had a chance to hear the Boxset version of this release, but I am strongly considering buying it, too. Anybody who has it, please do not hesitate to contact me and let me know your views on it. I would love to hear them. Thanks.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Please note this review is of the 2cd version NOT THE BOXSET!The very best thing to say about this is that pretty much all eras/LIZZY guitarists feature on this compilation (yes,I know there is nothing off Black Rose,however I think Gary is on Little Darling,as it was recorded at the same session as the Moore led version of 'Still in love with you',off the Peel Sessions album,which bewilderingly ISNT here,but it is in the boxset!The Eric Bell/3 piece era Lizzy dominates disc 1 & also some less well known stuff,e.g Slow Blues,Gonna Creep up on you' & Downeys drums & Bell's hugely under-rated guitar playing are well in the mix.Disc 2 begins with a personal favourite of mine 'She Know's' ,Sha,la,la,la,then 2 live in concert highlights from 1974 ;an embryonic sounding 'Still in Love' & 'Baby drives me crazy',hopefully more of this gig will be released in a stand alone disc maybe,or will the rest of it just stay in the boxset version??The rest of the album is more of the most well known Lizzy numbers in either session or live version mode.The reason why I havent given 5 stars is because 10 of these tracks can be found on 'The Peel sessions' album, & 1 or 2 of these BBC versions are also on the re-masters albums from 2011 & the live versions of Renegade,& Killer on the Loose are from 'Life'.All that said,Amazon are selling the 2 disc version for £5.99,which for 30plus tracks of this brilliant band,is tremendous value for money!(Price quoted is at original release!)
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
I was not a fully fledged fan of Thin Lizzy. I knew the singles and had "Live and Dangerous". In recent years I've picked up copies of some of their albums and listened to them a bit but felt them a little sanitised, possibly over-produced. "Thin Lizzy at the BBC" delivers because it showcases the band enjoying playing their music. The tracks are more "relaxed" than the studio albums and for most of the time, they are not trying too hard to please a live audience. As a result, I have really enjoyed disc 1 which is essentially their early work. It shows where "whiskey" came from and presents Lizzy as a rock band comfortable with their music. Disc 2 is more your greatest hits but still well played and with the under-rated "half-caste" for me, a favourite albeit poignant track. Yes, there are some weak tracks, but no band is perfect. Not all bands performed well at the BBC but from the sound of this album, it was a second home to Lizzy. If you are new to the band, buy this. If you are a fan, you don't need advice! But if you are a browser, it's worth the money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I usually steer clear of these type of releases but happily received this as a present. I went straight to disc 2 as my era of Lizzy was the 70's (Live & Dangerous was one of my first LP's) and immersed myself in it via headphones. I was simply staggered. These are quality 'album type' recordings. It captures the live feel perfectly. Whilst I am a Lynott/Gorham/Robertson/Downey fan I have also gained a new appreciation of Eric Bell. The original 3 piece line up is staggering;Eric Bell widdling away showing some fantastic guitar work all covered perfectly with Phil Lynott's unbeatable story telling & imagery. The sleeve notes indicates input from former members so don't worry about it's worthiness - just buy it! (Now I want the box set,damn!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. This release avoids the shortcomings of many box sets released towards the end of 2011 for other artists (incomplete content, no video, insufficient liner notes etc) and really provides a comprehensive record of the band's development from the very early days until the end. As you would expect from the Beeb the sound is fantastic and in some cases the BBC sessions capture the essence of the band better than the original records (notably on disc 3 which covers the key "Fighting" - "Bad Reputation" period), one earlier highlight being an exceptional version of "Still in Love with You" on CD2.

The in-concert recordings are excellent and clearly demonstrate why the band were one of the all-time great live acts and didn't need the Visconti overdubbing on "Live & Dangerous". In fact, the four live shows here cover most line-ups (the Midge Ure iteration being the fortunate exception!) and are uniformly excellent.

The DVD is really worthwhile: the '78 Live at the Rainbow is basically the previously-released "Live and Dangerous" show, however benefitting from a much-improved sound & vision makeover (although we're stuck with the lousy '70s video effects!). The '83 Hitchin Regal show (strange choice of venue) is surprisingly strong given that the band were on their last legs and this was the first night of the tour. It's the same show as appears on CD 7, but frustratingly with three songs missing. The DVD is then completed by TOTP/OGWT performances which whilst not essential viewing are interesting nonetheless.

In short, great music, great sound, and great packaging. The only question is what's left, if anything, that remains unreleased following the completion of the current reissue programme? Is the cupboard now bare?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Nice to see these recordings finally given a reissue, the initial single cd on the strange fruit label having been unavailable for a long long time, but although doubling the amount of material on offer, there are some glaring omissions in the selection... Having said that, the Live at the BBC boxset is very comprehensive if also very expensive. for a fan there are many essential and definitive recordings among these sessions which cover a good portion of the bands career and represent well the varying line up of Thin Lizzy throughout the 70's. My advice would be to purchase the 2cd version and then download any of the individual studio tracks from a reputable retailer :)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
Thin Lizzy must have enjoyed playing at the BBC very much. As there are a lot of recordings throughout the years that constitute this box set. Ranging from all over these years, this box, due to its various performances, is a must have for the Lizzy lovers amongst us, of which there still are many. Yes, it may feature a number of versions of the same songs, but the way Lizzy performed them through the years show a band still growing. This is one great manifesto to the great Thin Lizzy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 November 2011
Wow, what a collection. Many of the tracks have appeared on various bootlegs etc I believe but this set has put them all together nicely for us. One thing that is soon clear is that the BBC used to have loads of different outlets for bands to do a live set, a thing of the past I'm afraid. Sounds of the seventies, with some "poptastic mate" links and introductions, Bob Harris, John Peel (of course), Rock On, various In Concerts etc, etc. There is a load of stuff in here.

Of course in common with previous similar collections there is some duplication and many of the earlier songs, where set lists are by necessity somewhat more limited, have three versions - The rocker being the most prominent - but don't let that detract from some great performances. It may be a bit pricy but any self respecting fan of the band and anyone else who just wants some good old rock and roll should get this.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.68
£219.11

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)