Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality Jack yet!
The re-mastering looks great in high-def and the sound is great too, with depth and detail to the music, singing and voices. There are also plenty of extras for the film buffs & Burton fans.

What a coincidence that it's been released just before Halloween! Having said that it works as a Christmas movie too as the people of Christmas Town are also involved,...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by Cheatin' Jockey

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film.... Product not as shown in picture
I ordered this expecting special edition with two disks as in the picture but received a flimsy case with just one disk!
Great film but if you are buying it and expect what is in the picture think again!
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film of all time!, 27 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I first saw the Nightmare Before Christmas at the cinema when I was 14, and I have been captivated ever since. The beauty of the animation and the feeling behind the characters moves me time and time again. If you've ever fought to find yourself another life, or loved someone from a distance, or if you just love the bizzare wit of Tim Burton, then I highly reccommend this film. Cartoons are never just for children1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's children throwing snowballs, instead of throwing heads...", 14 July 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The gothic style of this excellent film has that trademark Tim Burton feel to it, his story is brought to life by animation fan Henry Selick who directs this gloriously dark tale of the pumpkin king who becomes disillusioned by the yearly monotony of Halloween and decides to have a go at running Christmas instead.

I'm a massive fan of stop-motion and this is a beautifully crafted film rich in talent and textures. The movements are fluid but with that staggered quality which gives stop-motion that otherworldly feel. A dark colour palette and a common aesthetic theme throughout ensure a visual quality which resembles a dark fairytale. There's plenty of bleak imagery here and it's gloriously gruesome at times, for example; a child unwrapping a dismembered head on Christmas morning. The film is steeped in comedy too, not slapstick or obvious one-liners, instead we get subtle visual gags (a two-faced mayor, an enthusiastically decorated yet clearly dead Christmas tree) - little things which don't always register the first time but pay off during repeat viewings.

The models, particularly Jack, are very expressive. Facial expressions and body language are utilised to make the characters feel real, with Danny Elfman's excellent score and songs injecting even more personality. Elfman himself provides the singing voice of Jack and his vocal abilities are genuinely impressive, I never fail to share Jack's childlike wonder when he sings the films most rousing number "What's this?". The songs are incredibly catchy and after watching the film it's pretty much impossible to stop humming them, there's a great range of styles too ranging from melancholy musings on the banality of life, upbeat numbers designed to inspire the folk of Halloween town, and also a great bit of Oogie Boogie!

The overall story is heart-warming without being schmaltzy, there's a blossoming romance here too and again, it's handled well and never feels cheesy. I know some consider this to be too scary a film for young children, my own children were introduced to it at a young age and they were scared but captivated at the same time. Personally I think it's healthy for children to watch something which takes them outside their comfort zone (Doctor Who for example) rather than watching the usual saccharine Disney fare - and this Disney musical contains infinitely more talent and sheer creative energy than their more modern sing-song High School Musical titles. I know which I'd prefer to watch along with my children, and this magical film has become staple family viewing on rainy days over the last few years.

This Blu-Ray transfer is a noticeable improvement over the DVD. If this had been a CGI effort then high-def would simply have highlighted the lack of small detail (for an early nineties lowish-budget film ), but as the film is produced using hand manipulated models, the landscapes and props enjoy much deeper textures. Sometimes the handmade aspect of the film is clear to see and that is not a bad thing, the whole feature looks and feels like a labour of love rather than a formulaic sing-a-long flick. Jack's head reflects the light and is usually a bit hazy, that's nothing to do with the high-def transfer however, it's simply a result of photographing a well-lit, bright white object in the middle of an otherwise muted set. On Blu-Ray the darker scenes show much more detail than on the previously released DVDs, and the Christmas Town "What's This?" routine looks absolutely superb with lights and bright colours seemingly even more vivid in comparison to the greys and browns of Halloween Town. There are plenty of great bonus features here too - the original Tim Burton poem which was the inspiration for the film is read by Christopher Lee and accompanied by visuals which show how dark the initial vision was. It's a great 'origins' piece and it's great to watch it before the 'making of' features which show the ideas behind the film sets used. My personal favourites of the goodies available are 'Vincent' and 'Frankenweenie' two Tim Burton short films which are definitely worth watching and show how Burton's trademark style was very much in force before he broke through. The optional brief 'introduction to the film by Tim Burton' seems a bit unnecessary though and simply adds another level of menu before you get to play the film!

In a nutshell: I was thirteen when I first saw this and I absolutely loved it, I'm in my thirties now and still adore The Nightmare Before Christmas. It's charm has also won over my kids and I'm sure it will become a firm favourite for their children too. A magical animated tale which has become a modern cult classic, don't wait until Halloween or Christmas, treat yourself to this whimsical fantasy any time of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film but misleading packaging, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film so I wanted it on DVD. Unforunately it wasn't a "special edition" and the packaging was a simple box and not the flashy one shown on this listing. However, I wasn't too devestated as I wanted to own the film and the price came out as the cheapest option at the time. It would be nice for this listing to be a bit less misleading for those looking for a nice gift etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Animation, Poor Story, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sad to say this did not meet the very high expectations I had of it. The plot was thin, characters undeveloped and most of the music unmemorable. I think the big problem was that we never got below the character' skin in order to understand where people in it were coming from. I didn't feel any particular affinity with any of them.

This may seem an odd failing for a cartoon but anyone who is used to Japanese animation would know what I am talking about. An animation can have developed characters as well being (as this is) visually stunning. There was nothing wrong with the characters - I just wished we knew more about them.

The one moment when it did lift itself into something very good was when Lock, Shock and Barrel (Oogie Boogie's henchmen) returned to their tree house and sang about what they were going to do with "Sandy Claws". For once the music and the story matched the high quality of the stop motion animation.

If the story had used - I am avoiding a spoiler here - a storyline discussed as an unused potential sub-plot in the extras this, rather than just the story line actually used, would have fleshed it out a bit and much improved the bland ending.

This cartoon probably demonstrates that you can have a good basic idea for a cartoon, and fantastic animation, and yet produce something mediocre if the story isn't properly developed through the cartoon.

Like a lot of western film-length cartoons its suffers because it is primarily a vehicle to display stunning animation rather than a vehicle to tell a story in a stunningly good way. You never forget you are being presented with animation rather than being told a story that happens to be animated.

At £3 this has to be a good buy just for the stop motion, but watch it for the good bits and be prepared to fast forward when it gets boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars charming animation with catchy songs, 12 Nov 2008
By 
Tired with Halloween Pumpkin King Jack Skellington finds a land called Christmas Town and plans to make the festivities very frightening.

Tim Burton's vivid imagination has made him a modern day great and this is a sparkling gem with an acute perception of the holidays.

Opening with a catchy song "This is Halloween", Henry Selick's picture sets the tone for an entertaining and interesting adventure starring a spiderlike central character

Jack Skellington is a wonderful creation, filled with many human emotions including hope and challenge and is easy to watch. Danny Elfman has pitched the songs to match Skellington perfectly, especially when he first sees Christmas Town "What's this?"

The animation may feel slightly dated with CGI taking over the genre but the features on the DVD including the making of will leave you feeling heart warmed and inspired by the work and effort the team went to in order to achieve the visually stunning Oscar nominated effects.

The plot is very enjoyable. However there are slight shortcomings when an important decision becomes an instant realisation. For example the `what to do about Christmas' dilemma. Nevertheless the dialogue is likeable and is told with that charm of fantasy verses reality that Burton does exceptionally well.

The songs are always upbeat and all the characters get a chance to sing and shine, giving the picture a creative diversity. Jack's explanation of Christmas to the town of Halloween is a particularly annoying part with other characters disrupting the flow of the song.

But this is a minor flaw when you have the classic well recognized "What's this" discovery song, not to mention a wonderfully colourful moment from Oogie Boogie. These two songs bring the light out of the darkness and are the finest moments of the film.

The humour doesn't live up to recent Burton animation The Corpse Bride but the characters in this animation are far better. The imagination and darkness of the picture should not be discouraged and should be applied to more animations.

The direction gives a charm that isn't horrific but pleasantly spooky and is therefore suitable for the whole family. The likeability and humanity of the characters also help give this picture a relaxing and enjoyable realisation that isn't to be missed.

The Nightmare before Christmas has been recognized as a 90's classic with its catchy songs and a good plot that is memorable if not the sharpest and funniest you will ever see.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a film, The Nightmare before Christmas is a fantastic piece of entertainment. The DVD came out every Halloween and while it's on offer I decided to go for the Blu-ray edition.

Just in case you haven't watched the film or seen the other descriptions of it here, the basic story is that Jack Skellington, the head of Halloween, is getting bored with the same routine and stumbles across a door to Christmas. His plan to take over Christmas and replace Santa has some interesting and entertaining results.

There are several reasons for upgrading to a Blu-ray version of this film. Firstly, the picture quality in this remastered version is amazing. Putting the DVD side by side with the Blu-ray you can certainly tell the difference, even if the DVD is upscaled. The sound, too, has been given a remaster so Danny Elfman's score is now beautifully captured in 7.1 Surround and even lower end sound sources will sound better.

If that wasn't enough, the disc has all of the extras from the collectors DVD and a new Blu-ray exclusive introduction to both the main film and the short Frankenweenie too. The 2 shorts, Frankenweenie and Vincent are well worth watching, especially Vincent which has a narration by Vincent Price.

If you fancy something different for your Halloween or even Christmas viewing, I can recommend picking up The Nightmare Before Christmas Blu-ray, the picture and sound quality and wealth of extras make this an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special Film, Great Blu-ray, good value combo pack, 19 Mar 2010
By 
jcmacc (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's probably little need to review the film, it's a modern stop-motion classic lovingly made by Henry Selick (Coraline, Corpse Bride) based around Tim Burton's designs for his own poem about the King of Halloween, Jack Skellington, trying to take over Christmas. The visuals are fantastic as is the music written (and sung) by Burton's longtime collaborator Danny Elfman.

The Blu-ray transfer is stunning and is one of the discs you could use to show why Blu-ray is worth the investment above normal DVD. The Blu-ray shows fine details on the figures that DVD just can't pull out and the clarity of the images reveals background depth in the film that are simply missed on the lower resolution formats. The additional detail and depth of view create a 3-D effect all through the film which makes watching it feel like a completely diffrent experience than the DVD, almost like a bigger budget remake.

Bundling a Blu-ray with a DVD version of the same film rarely makes sense, if you've got the high definition version why bother a poorer quality one, but for a "kid's film" having a portable version is actually useful. There's also the nice touch that the DVD is the old special edition so the new commentaries on the Blu-ray aren't repeated and the DVD has unique special features, not reduced versions of the content from the larger capacity disc.

Highly recommended for both content and Blu-ray quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Weird and original it gets 5 stars., 2 Oct 2007
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic animation, typical of Burton's whacky humor and works like a dream. The characters are brilliant especially Jack Skellington and Sally the love interest and the fantastic scenes where the toys are delivered and start attacking the children is just beyond words.

The story involves Jack Skellington trying to make a name for himself in Halloween Town and decides to kidnap Santa Claws the red lobster man so he can deliver his own merry time before seeing the error of his ways.

This is a true classic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas films don't come any better than this., 14 Nov 2003
By 
Mrs J Simcox (Tipton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The Nightmare Before Christmas is a beautiful film for all year round. Jack Skellington, the main character is adorable. Getting sick of his "Pumpkin King" crown, he one day stumbles upon Christmastown, from which he later decides to kidnap Santa, whilst taking over his job to give presents (and scares) to children all over the world.
With Burton's own unique twist, and Elfman's musical stylings, it's fresh (even though the film is 10 years old), completely original, and unlike any other christmas film you are ever likely to see.
Plus, you get Vincent, a short, 5 minute homage to Burton's childhood hero, Vincent Price (gorgeous in everyway and truely does deserve a disk of it's own) and Frankenweenie (another of Burton's early films).
If you're an avid Tim Burton fan, like myself.. you'll love it, and even if you're not.. you'll love it still.
Definately worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic surrealism and Musical genius at its very best, 18 Aug 2003
I first saw this film when I was 8 and this is still one of the best films I have ever seen, however I must say for differant reasons since then.
On first viewing of the film it was not only the way each character on screen was superbly brought to life with wonderful voice acting but also the claymation used for the film which gives it such a wonderfully unique and twisted looking setting for such a story to be told.
All of the main characters within the film are superb during not only dialogue but also while singing the songs that they have throughout. Danny Elfman and Tim Burton have once again put together a remarkable film with the superb directoral view of the dark and romantic gothic look that Tim Burton gives to his films but also to the way the score, wonderful in its own rite, only enhances every scene in the film.
Danny Elfman as Jack is sublime and this is surely one of his better compositions for a film managing to make some of the songs happy and cheerful while singing of severed heads, boiling Santa Clause in a pot and having someone steal christmas so that a new one can be made in the thief's own image..... Truly miraculous film-making and a must have video or dvd for young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightmare Before Christmas (3D) (Blu-Ray+Blu-Ray 3D+E-Copy)
£16.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews