Customer Reviews


434 Reviews
5 star:
 (250)
4 star:
 (114)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MacBook Air External Drive
I bought this drive so that on my travels I could watch DVDs and access discs without having to use the drive share from another PC. The drive connects to the MacBook Air without any problem. Although it has a USB cable with a splitter to draw extra power from a second USB port it was not needed (good job as the Air does not have side by side ports and the second cable is...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by I. Bryer

versus
59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works with Macbook Air but very poor plastic build
Ordered to use with my macbook air and it works fine off one USB connector despite another reviewing stating it doesn't. They obviously didn't test it. Despite this, it is made of very flimsy plastic. So if the unit is placed on a flat surface and you attempt to press the open tray button with your fingers placed even lightly on top of the unit to stop it slipping, you...
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by rayer


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MacBook Air External Drive, 3 Mar 2012
By 
I. Bryer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
I bought this drive so that on my travels I could watch DVDs and access discs without having to use the drive share from another PC. The drive connects to the MacBook Air without any problem. Although it has a USB cable with a splitter to draw extra power from a second USB port it was not needed (good job as the Air does not have side by side ports and the second cable is not very long). The drive even runs when the Air is only on battery power, i.e. you don't need the laptop plugged into the mains.

Yes the device is plastic and can feel a little flimsy but for less than 25 I wasn't expecting it to be bullet proof.

The drive can be a little noisy, especially when importing CDs - but it is running at 15x so you would expect to hear the disc spinning. During DVD playback there were a few extra clicks and whirs but it didn't detract too much from watching the film.

Overall - a good bit of kit for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best money i have spent, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
i have just purchased this little peice of kit for my netbook so i can burn my dvd and cds. this is so easy to install the software and burning is not a problem. i have to admit for 20 odd quid this is fantastic value and you will be pushed to get any better. i am delighted with this and would highly recommend it to anyone. i just have window 7 starter on my netbook and it runs perfectly. well this is the best buy i have done in a long long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real money saver!, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
I bought this USB DVD writer for just over 20 from Amazon because the internal drive in my laptop has failed. To replace the internal one would cost at least double and would mean taking the laptop apart - something I am not confident to do. Although the laptop is nearly five years old it is still not due for complete replacement, so the external USB DVD drive is an ideal solution.

It comes with Nero software (on a CD which might have been difficult to access if the new drive did not work automatically ...).

I plugged in the drive and it was identified immediately and works immediately! No instructions are needed. I installed the Nero software but it works seamlessly with the normal Windows, Roxio and similar programs.

Within minutes of it arriving I had burnt a couple of photo DVDs, and have already burnt several data DVDs. It seems to be working perfectly.

Very pleased with the product, Amazon price, and delivery - I received it within 36 hours, it may have been even quicker but I did not get home until tea time and it was already there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only need one usb to work, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
This player only needs one usb to work despite what i read in other reviews. It's a great plpayer and a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says!, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
Replaced a broken drive on my Vista desktop and acts as a portable drive for a W7 netbook. Works fine, plays DVDs, writes DVDs....
(The previous 8 CD drive I had went wrong after 8 months ....so this 25 drive seems marvellous in comparison.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat and petite, 19 July 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
I bought this USB powered external DVD writer to use with both my desktop and netbook. It is very slim, lightweight and easily portable but also seems durable. One thing you should be aware of, nearly all of these portable USB drives require two USB sockets to ensure efficient operation - this drive comes with a "double plugged" USB cable. This is because the USB is used not only for data transfer but power as well. My experience is that these USB ports will, in many cases, need to be USB ports on the host computer itself - sometimes a drive like this won't work properly via a USB hub.

This drive has a positive draw action and an LED confirms operation. The SE-208AB is capable of playing back video DVDs (assuming you have player software - most machines will have this) and does a good job of writing to both DVD and CD - I've tried TDK, Imation, Sony, Tesco & Verbatim media and all work well. Bundled with the drive is a copy of Nero Essentials which is good piece of burning software and worth a fair sum on its own.

This is a good value, high performing CD/DVD writer from Samsung (who collaborate with Toshiba in the case of these drives) with a useful piece of software thrown in. Clearly, this is already a "value" product leaving no margin for a case to be included, but, my "Blue Peter" tip is that you can easily make a case. I suggest you buy one of those cheap DVD cases that hold around 12 discs which you can get from most supermarkets, cut the DVD holders out and you'll have a durable case for this drive which should be the right size - hope this helps.

Overall, an excellent portable DVD drive at a good price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works with Macbook Air but very poor plastic build, 22 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
Ordered to use with my macbook air and it works fine off one USB connector despite another reviewing stating it doesn't. They obviously didn't test it. Despite this, it is made of very flimsy plastic. So if the unit is placed on a flat surface and you attempt to press the open tray button with your fingers placed even lightly on top of the unit to stop it slipping, you will find the thin plastic top flexes and interferes with opening as well as closing. The CD/DVD tray itself is very poor quality and moves considerably to the left and right, not to mention not sliding in and out very well. Don't even consider picking the unit up if you have a disc in it as it will sound like it is shredding the disc.

I had previously purchased the Samsung SE-S084F External USB 2.0 Slimline 8X DVD Writer and it is well made, solid and certainly worth the extra money. Personally, I would stay away from this Samsung SE-208AB unit and spend the extra money. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for and this unit is poorly made. Your main question should be how often you intend to use it, because once in a while may be fine, but if you rely on it regularly, think twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, as you would expect from Samsung, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
Just bought this DVD writer, and I'm pleased! It has a 'marbled' finish, so no problem with fingerprints. It came with a CD - but Windows 7 Starter on my netbook downloaded the drivers automatically. The CD components are for 'Nero' and I've downloaded these and used them - no problem.
However, if you want to 'play' a commercial DVD then you need extra software. I took the easy way out, and anytime upgraded to 'Home Premium' which allows you to play the DVD from Windows Media Player (with all the encoding dealt with). This is a rather expensive solution at around 50, but other alternatives are available - just messy to sort out, and a test of your patience!
The unit operates on my HP Mini 210-3003sa with just one USB connection.
So, yes, I would recommend this unit but with some reservations about assuming that it is going to play commercial DVDs without additional expenditure or geeky downloads of extra software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - portable, slim profile, fast, 22 Aug 2012
By 
AM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
Great little product. Most of us don't have super-fast broadband to download new software and even then most manufacturers provide it on a DVD. With ultrabooks and netbooks among the fastest selling types of computer, this really is an oversight when they are sold without DVD drives.

This little device is almost essential if you have any software on CD/DVD and/or want to backup data or media from your portable device. It runs straight off of the USB socket so no external power supply needed. It's fast and quiet. Shame you have to buy these but for the price, I don't think you can go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works on Macs!, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SE-208AB/TSBS 8 x DVD+/-RW Slim Portable External DVD Writer - Black (Accessory)
I was really upset when my disk drive on my Macbook gave up on me, but I can confirm this is mac compatible, and so far so good! in case you are an idiot like me... it also plays CD's and burns/ reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews