Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff
Outside of the absolute classics of 'Psychocandy' and 'Darklands' this is the JAMC's best album, the one final burst of glory before it all went pear-shaped. Its surprisingly melodic and psychedelic, but the love of 'music concrete' is still there-JAMC were one of the few 'pop' acts I know willing to interrupt songs mid-way with noises that sounded like bulldozers...
Published on 31 July 2002 by Alexander G. Marshall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Mary Chain
A better album than the appalling Automatic, but overall, forgettable. They sound a bit like Blur on this album and only a couple of tracks are any good: Almost Gold, Rollercoaster and Sundown.

However, this re-release is a deluxe package and some of the b sides are quite good: Heat, Sometimes, Reverberation. It also includes the decent Rollercoaster EP. There...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Johns


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 31 July 2002
By 
Alexander G. Marshall "alexmarshall3" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Honey's Dead (Audio CD)
Outside of the absolute classics of 'Psychocandy' and 'Darklands' this is the JAMC's best album, the one final burst of glory before it all went pear-shaped. Its surprisingly melodic and psychedelic, but the love of 'music concrete' is still there-JAMC were one of the few 'pop' acts I know willing to interrupt songs mid-way with noises that sounded like bulldozers crashing into each other. Not the best band in the world, but definitely the best to ever come from East Kilbride..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gleaming indie noisepop at its best, 15 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Honey's Dead (Audio CD)
The Reid brothers enjoyed a mini-renaissance with this album in 1991, and their accompanying tour with Dinosaur Jnr, My Bloody Valentine and Blur. It contains two of their best singles in the top ten howl of outrage that was 'Reverence' (banned from Top of the Pops for the line 'I wanna die just like Jesus Christ' and the chorus, simply 'I wanna die'), and the perfect popnoise bomb 'Far Gone and Out' (a particular favourite of my friend Geg). Other highlights are the tender 'Almost Gold', the spiralling 'Rollercoater' and the closing, elegaic 'Sundown'. The production is impressive throughout, adding a slick industial sheen to the group's customary guitar pyrotechnics, and if the album is let down by anything it's the fact that some of the songs are less inspired than others. A great album nonetheless and well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The JAMC firing on all cylinders and taking no prisoners, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Honey's Dead (Audio CD)
The JAMC deliver an album with lashings of flavour, from the sweet lovelorn guitar pop of Almost Gold and Good For My Soul to the salty grime of songs like Catchfire. For me this is the Reid brothers best album. I was lucky enough to see these guys on their now legendry Rollercoaster Tour with Dinosaur Jr and the up-and-coming Blur in the early 90's. Today, I can't help thinking Damon and Graham must have taken notes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost gold, indeed!, 23 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Honey's Dead (Audio CD)
Any album which contains a single that has been banned by Top of the Pops deserves respect. The opening line of 'Reverence' - "I wanna die just like Jesus Christ" - assured the Jesus & Mary Chain would not be performing their top ten hit on the BBC. This record has a couple of low points but it never crashes into the ground, instead the mix of echoey gain-ridden guitar sounds fused with indie drums works superbly well. There are also a few indie-pop tunes here too, notably 'Far Gone and Out' and the excellent 'Almost Gold' - mellow indie never sounded this good. Without this band we wouldn't have Black Rebel Motorcycle Club which is another good point. Thoroughly enjoyable album, not quite perfect, but a very good listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honey hits the money, 11 Jan 2007
By 
Kevin Clarke "kevin17566" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The previous year's 'Rollercoaster' EP had been a letdown. Baggy and grunge had transformed the musical landscape since JAMC's last album, the relatively disappointing 'Automatic.' Could the Mary Chain still cut the musical mustard in 1992? 4 tracks in we had our answer: the Reid brothers were back to their inspired best.

The trick lay in deftly incorporating fashionable innovations like 'shuffling beats' into their music while still maintaining the essence of the Mary Chain sound. That's why 'Honey's Dead' still sounds fresh and exciting whereas an album like, say, 'Spartacus' by The Farm, also from 1992, sounds horribly dated.

The album kicks off with one of their finest singles, 'Reverence.' "I wanna die just like JFK/I wanna die in the USA........" snarls Jim Reid nihilistically. The cover shot of the single featured a photograph of the mourning party, led by Jackie Onassis, at John F. Kennedy's funeral.

Next up is the salacious throb of 'Teenage Lust', one of those sleazy tales that Jim's vocals are so well suited to. By way of contrast, 'Almost Gold' shows an unexpectedly romantic side to the band. Sandwiched in-between these two gems is a sparkling single, 'Far Gone And Out'. Other top tracks include the cacophonous 'Catchfire' and 'Sugar Ray'.

The quality does dip a little towards the end. To my mind, 'Rollercoaster' is the only weak single they ever released, and 'Tumbledown' and 'I Can't Get Enough' are Mary Chain-by-numbers.

However, when listened to as a whole, 'Honey's Dead' was another intelligent step forward for a band who it was feared would always live in the shadow of their seminal debut album, 'Psychocandy.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honeys Dead (Audio CD)
Not every fan's favourite, but it's mine. I wasn't expecting much when I bought it (at Bradleys in Doncaster, fact fans), but it blew me away. Great memories of the Rollercoaster tour at Sheffield, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Mary Chain, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Johns (South-East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Honeys Dead (Audio CD)
A better album than the appalling Automatic, but overall, forgettable. They sound a bit like Blur on this album and only a couple of tracks are any good: Almost Gold, Rollercoaster and Sundown.

However, this re-release is a deluxe package and some of the b sides are quite good: Heat, Sometimes, Reverberation. It also includes the decent Rollercoaster EP. There are also some live tracks from 1992. These are extremely disappointing compared with live footage of the band from early 1985 on the DVD included in the Psychocandy digipack. All the early tension from back then has gone, and they sound like a bit of a flaccid corporate indie-rock band.

The promo videos were boring, in my opinion. Teenage Lust managed to be a bit tasteless in addition to being boring. The live footage of the band appearing on Channel 4's The Word was good though, much better than the album version.

Also included on the second cd are interviews with Radio One's Mark Goodier and one with Tommy Vance on the Lollapalooza tour. These were quite entertaining, with sporadic bursts of awkward laughter from Goodier, who sounded a bit out of his comfort zone. During the Vance interview, the brothers sound downbeat, with W. Reid stating how he hated Cheers and The Golden Girls and missed Coronation Street. "What do you like about Cincinnati?" "I didn't know we were in Cincinnati."

Overall, just about worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Record, 20 Feb 2010
Read the other review. He got it wrong. "Rollercoaster EP" was cracking. I saw them on the Rollercoaster tour with Blur with MBV. It was seminal. The Oldies always pluck for the early stuff, whereas me and my mates always preferred this album and "Automatic".

It is a simple, straightforward stunner of an album. 'I can't get enough' is by the way the best track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good album., 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honey's Dead (Audio CD)
Good album from seminal 80s/early 90s band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Sara Sousa Silva "Sagres Natura Surfcamp Port... (Sagres Algarve Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every single song in Honeys Dead is great, all the songs are melodic and fresh! Its my favourite album from Jesus and Mary Chain and i recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Honey's Dead (Expanded Version)
Honey's Dead (Expanded Version) by Jesus And Mary Chain
Buy MP3 Album£9.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews