Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a disc to live with
Andreas Scholl is a remarkable singer, not just for his beauty of tone but for the seriousness he brings to the repertoire - the two combined make him an exemplary figure. In the interview printed here he speaks of how he thought about this music and the question of Bach interpretation; bringing his universal spirit to a modern audience where devoutness is no longer a...
Published 19 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gift
Cant comment on this CD but I am sure it is excellent as all his CD's are with that amazing voice of his
Published 5 months ago by madcow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a disc to live with, 22 Dec 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Andreas Scholl is a remarkable singer, not just for his beauty of tone but for the seriousness he brings to the repertoire - the two combined make him an exemplary figure. In the interview printed here he speaks of how he thought about this music and the question of Bach interpretation; bringing his universal spirit to a modern audience where devoutness is no longer a general trait, and is unlikely to be as strong in the interpreter as the composer. What we need is someone who can let Bach's radiance shine through unimpeded, and this is what Scholl gives us. His reading of Ich habe genug is quite gentle in comparison with other versions, particularly in the last number, Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod, which comes across as relatively muted. It always strikes me as quite an extraordinary aria, and very balanced from the Christian point of view, taking consolation a stage further, yet somehow remaining grounded in its unshakeable faith, without any shrillness. It is certainly refreshing in comparison with the morbidity or blanking out we expect around the subject as filtered through the media - or the emotionalism. Coming after the gentleness of Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen, which lasts a glorious ten minutes, the cantata achieves a moving and life-enhancing transformation of resignation. This leads into the Cantata BWV 169 which starts with a most buoyant Sinfonia, more or less like an organ concerto movement, and the third aria features an obbligato in which the organ dovetails most exquisitely with Scholl, using shorter, more birdlike note-values. A further high point of the disc, one of so many, is no. 5, a most plangent, startling aria with a chordal progression of the utmost pathos. And another surprise - because Bach always surprises - comes with the use of a bell-sound in the last aria to suggest the passing of the soul into heaven, one of four excerpts he finishes with. It's almost like gold leaf painted on angels' wings in an early Renaissance painting - and adds a ping to music of great tranquillity. Altogether it is a CD to revive the spirit and send you back into the world with renewed strength, and Scholl's voice proves ideal for realising Bach's timeless affirmations of faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking beauty..., 14 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a comment on a disc but, as it is a long time since I've heard a recording so incredible, I just had to. I've been a fan of Scholl for years but he seems to just get better and better. He stands head and shoulders even above the wonderful number of excellent countertenors around today. The sheer artistry he displays in these Cantatas is quite breathtaking. I'm not easily reduced to tears but his performance of "Schlummert ein" from Cantata 82 (Track 3) did just that - and how! The recording quality is superb and the Kammerorchester Basel are slick, stylish and provide sensitive accompaniment to Scholl's artistry. I really cannot praise this disc highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous disc, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The use of a counter-tenor for alto parts is as close to original Bach as we can get nowadays. Bach would have used male voices in his choirs, but these would have been adolescents, whose voices broke much later in those days, not men singing in a trained falsetto. We are therefore seeking to reproduce a sound that can no longer be reproduced. I personally have nothing against female soloists in Bach; indeed, I have a very nice recording of Dame Janet Baker singing Bach, including BWV82. However, a good counter-tenor is also worth a listen.

Andreas Scholl is such a counter-tenor. Not only does he sing beautifully, but he also has a clear grasp of what he is trying to achieve, and of the profundity of Bach's music. The highlight here is the wonderful BWV82 "Ich habe genug", with the meltingly beautiful and moving aria "Schlummert ein". I'm not sure what it is about the story of Simeon and the child Jesus that brings out the best in composers, but it is also the highlight of Rachmaninov's Vespers. There is also BWV169, with its famous sinfonia, plus other arias from various Bach cantatas, plus BWV53, which was once attributed to Bach, but which is now known to be by Georg Melchior Hoffmann.

I have three full cantata sets, but this is a worthy addition to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An intellectual Bach, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Mordrain (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As far as I know, Bach's cantatas are not so often sung by countretenors. There may be lots of philological reasons, but, anyway: the common listener is more accostumed to male and female voices than to falsetto.
Thus, for example, I can easily recall great recordings by Susan Baker, Norman Prey or Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau of BMW82, and their rendition is so moving that tears easily fall down.
Scholl's cantatas do not follow this line, they are never "moving" in an easy going way. His measure and composure are extreme, his singing always precise and chiselled, so that this can sometimes appear a little "cold", but his maitrise is so high that sentiments are none theless conveyed, if the listener "listens": that is, IMHO, that these cantatas are not for casual listeners, cannot be appreciated at their full extent as background music.
The choice also of this disc's cantatas is in this direction, as they are all "intimate": here we find no highly rejoicing sounds, like for exemple in Richter's BWV51 (even the lightness of BWV53 is here full of countenance), but we have plenty of intimacy and meditation.
An additional note about Scholl voice. The more I listen to him, the more I find his texture similar to Emma Kirkby's one. Both voices are extremely pure, the purest in their register, and the best-fitting to Bach. OK Handel, Mozart comme-ci comme-ça, but Bach: ideal!
Bach's music is so supernatural and "mathematic" that their voices give us the most "authentic" Bach, putting apart philology. By converse, the sheeer beauty of these pure voices is also exaltated by Bach's music.
So, even though I personally prefer a more visceral approach to several cantatas, I think that the match Scholl-Bach is wonderful and I highly recommend this disc: my 4-star evaluation is connected more to my specific taste than to the objective value of this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Music Composed by a Genius, 9 Mar 2012
Sublime music by the German genius JS Bach beautifully sung by his fellow countryman, the man with the Voice of An Angel. The choise of cantatas is perfect and the instrumentals absolutely gorgeous. I could listen to this all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, beautiful and special, 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scholl has once again delivered with this outstanding set of recordings. A difficult songbook at best, Bach Cantatas requires a soloist to work with the music and follow the contours of the music. Notoriously difficult in the case of Bach.

Track 10, part of the Cantata BWV 169, is a little distorted when played on a standard CD player but this is a minor smudge on what is a wonderful rendition that for me, Tracks 11 and 12 are the very best (part of the same Cantata) truly outstanding.

One wonders what Scholl will attempt next and get ready for a January 2013 release? What is clear, is that he is certainly enjoying his stroll in the sacred and timeless early solitudes that started out with his Andreas Scholl - Robert Dowland's "A Musicall Banquet" and Arcadia, got a little lost until Crystal Tears - John Dowland and his contemporaries (Andreas Scholl/Concerto di Viole), and has returned with total gusto.

This disc, along with O Solitude from 2011, is really nice for evenings of conversation, dinner parties, or pure candlelit indulgence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars qch Cantatas by Scholl perfect for relaxation, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wonderful . I play it every morning , he is so clear and the emphasis of the words clear and true. excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant comment on this CD but I am sure it is excellent as all his CD's are with that amazing voice of his
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andreas Scholl - Bach Cantatas
Andreas Scholl - Bach Cantatas by Andreas Scholl and Julia Schröder and Kammerorchester Basel
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews