Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco - Cover all bases
There is a danger when you try to satisfy everyone that you satisfy no one. Jeff Tweedy is keenly aware of this since in recent years Wilco has tended to polarize music fans who love their experimental side as evidenced on their masterpiece "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" but are not overly keen on their gentle country rock side as evidenced by albums like "Sky blue sky". But in...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars almost not quite
Not as good as YHF or Summerteeth but still some finely crafted songs from one of the best live bands I've ever seen
Published 15 months ago by Richard Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco - Cover all bases, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
There is a danger when you try to satisfy everyone that you satisfy no one. Jeff Tweedy is keenly aware of this since in recent years Wilco has tended to polarize music fans who love their experimental side as evidenced on their masterpiece "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" but are not overly keen on their gentle country rock side as evidenced by albums like "Sky blue sky". But in the world of Wilco the whole is the sum of the parts and in a remarkable career they have become the premier American band by refusing to be pigeonholed and being driven by a sense of sonic adventure. "The Whole Love" is their eighth full album and comes as a single album or a slightly longer special edition with 4 additional tracks. It essentially covers all Wilco bases with a mix of the experimental and traditional. This is most in evidence on the two best tracks which bookend the main album. First up is the powerful 7 minute plus opener "Art of the almost" made up of a wonderful cacophony of pulsing synths, propulsive beats and Nels Cline doing a great impression of Richie Blackmore. As a polar opposite the album concludes with the gorgeous twelve minute plus alt country acoustic epic "One Sunday Morning (Song For Jane Smiley's Boyfriend)" where not one second is wasted and which may be one of Tweedy's finest compositions ever. In between you get some of the best pop songs since Summerteeth and a fine balance between artsy, melodic and country. The single "I might" for example has a throbbing bass, a sub Doors style keyboard line and enough hooks to catch mackerel. Cline's injects the song with ragged guitar lines as Tweedy who is clearly enjoying himself intones that "It's all right/You won't set the kids on fire/But I might". Following songs like "Sunloathe" the truly lovely "Black moon" and the thing of beauty that is "Open mind" are a trilogy of mellow Tweedy ballads which anchor the album, although it is the later "Rising Red Lung" which impresses most with its haunting ghostly guitar lines in the background.

Along the way the sub Velvet Underground sound of the excellent "Dawned on me" starting with a classic Lou Reed riff and ending with some Nels Cline led feedback. One slip does come in the form of "Capitol city" where Tweedy revisits his Lennon and McCartney enthusiasm on a jaunty sub White Album song that is easier to admire than love. The whimsy however is quickly shattered by the preceding "Standing" with its 60s organs and raw guitar rock as the band cut lose and even introduce handclaps. While the penultimate title track is inevitably overshadowed by the brilliance of the concluding "One Sunday Morning" it is a punchy and jaunty song, which could have happily fitted amongst the hazy pop of Summerteeth. The four extra tracks on the special edition include the ironic blues of "I love my label", the slightly Mexican tinged acoustics of the excellent "Message from Mid Bar" and a slightly different version of the scintillating "Black Moon" where on subsequent listens you detect a clear Elliot Smith influence. It is however the six minute plus instrumental "Speak into the rose" that dominates here as it harks back to "A Ghost is Born" and the pulsing electronica "Spiders (Kidsmoke)" and its slowly building simple, driving rhythm and gradual layers of guitars. Five minutes in the band basically have a great wig out but never lose control. It reminds those who ever described Wilco as "Dad rock" to wash their mouths out and offer profound apologies.

Taken as a total package "The Whole Love" is one of the most enjoyable Wilco albums the band have constructed. Creative freedom might be a factor as its their first album on their own label dBpm Records and yet again recorded in inspired comforts of home at the Chicago loft studio which featured on the Sky Blue Sky videos. Ultimately for long term Wilco fans this album proves that the stability of recent line ups has finally paid off with a set of musicians who could play the spoons for 12 songs and make them sound great. Alternatively were "The Whole Love" to be your introduction to this great Chicago band you would discover an album chock full of so much music that recalls their great history that its almost a "Best Of".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco hit the spot...., 6 Oct. 2011
By 
Helen (Newmarket, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Wilco have long been one of my favourite bands, and in my opinion The Whole Love is a seriously great addition to their catalogue. Others have already reviewed The Whole Love far more eloquently than I can, but I wanted to add that Tweedy's vocals really stand out for me on this CD. His voice seems to have more dimensions to it than I've known before, but still on occasions makes my heart ache with its quiet soulfulness. Wilco are the complete package - genius song-writing, all skilled musicians (but sensitive and selfless enough to know when to hold back), and one of the best live bands you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Lotta Love, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Less experiemental than some earlier Wilco records Jeff Tweedy settles down to middle age with another career defining record. Wilco are the top American 'a' band of the last 15 years each record has been bold and different. Perhaps not as challenging as YHF but this will sit comfortably with their other records - Wilco can do no wrong - great band and Jeff Tweedy is amongst the best songwriters of the last 20 years.

Review for 2 cd version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something old, something new, something borrowed, 9 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
A new album from Wilco that more or less does it all. Has enough of the past to know it is still got a great writer in Jeff Tweedy in all these songs, but always willing to take a different route, as heard on the opening track 'Art of Almost'. Third studio album with this line-up, and the rhythm section is now locked in, the lead guitars add shades of sonic textures, and the keyboards support rather than dominate in the pro-tools era of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Notably that more than half of the album is getting played live on their current European tour, mostly the up tempo songs off here, with the epic closing song 'One Sunday Morning' is a 12 minute acoustic number with Jeff's twisted lyrics a standard too.

Only down side - ordered 2 disc version of this from Amazon, and it never arrived and wasnt explained why... oh well I ordered the single disc and its definitely one of Wilco's better albums.

oh and the borrowed bit... I Might samples TV Eye by the Stooges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive songs that flow, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
This is a great CD that grows and grows on me. I knew nothing of Wilco until I was transfixed by a chance hearing of Black Moon and decided to follow up on the premise that anyone who could produce that quality of music would be worth a longer listen. It sure was the right decision as its the whole package of mind grabbing sounds, deep lyrics and a voice to remember. I hear a whisper of John Lennon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars probably the best band on the planet, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (plymouth, devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
thank heavans for wilco.much welcome relief from the career musicians who ply there trade in jaded musical shapes and banal lyrics about breaking up with sweety or suchlike heard a million times cliches.a band i treasure so much i worry about them flying when they tour.amazing to behold live too.this one harks back to more experimental times without the discord and feedback that may have been off putting to the more casual listener.when discord does surface it is sweetened,and kept short.this is a much more pop orientated record which also calls to mind there pop masterclass,summerteeth.the main difference in feel though comes from the more abstract than usual lyrics which like much poetry is aimed at lending a feeling as oppossed to describing anything tangible.love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Love, 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
I was a bit dubious about this record to start with, but it is certainly a grower. After you get past the incongrous electronica of the Art of Almost, you are in the familiar Wilco territory of guitar based pop with an avantgarde, punky edge. Interspersed with beautifully constructed acoustic tunes such as Black Moon and standout track One Sunday Morning. Bonus cd cover I Love My Label and title track Whole Love provide the catchy pop sensibility that is missing elsewhere. After watching them give an oustanding performance at the Manchester Academy recently, I can only recommend this record and Wilco to fellow Amazon customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another year and another great album by Wilco, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
Douglas (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Another year and another great album by Wilco. On first listening I found The Whole Love a little flat and uninteresting, making me think that perhaps Jeff Tweedy was trying too many different styles. However, on repeated listenings the album grew on me and I realised that he had succeeded once again. I doubt if there's a better rock band around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understated quality?, 3 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Since it was published, I have read in several reviews (press, forums, blogs...) that Wilco's new album is another example of the band playing it safe since A Ghost is born was released in 2005, and I feel a sense of disappointment with the "lack of experimentation" YHF for instance had. While not completely disagreeing with that view, I have been listening to the album pretty much every day since I bought it and get to the conclusion that Tweedy and co "playing safe" is still several steps above most of the stuff I see these days in terms of quality. This is another very solid album (more consistent than the previous 2-3), with the bar not going down below acceptable levels at any point in my mind. And there are again 3-4 songs (One Sunday morning, Standing O, Born Alone, even Art of Almost, which sounded a tad annoying in the first couple of listens) that I know will make me come back to them very frequently, the same way I go back to for instance Impossible Germany (Sky Blue Sky), Handshake drugs (A Ghost is Born) or One wing (Wilco (the album)). YHF was published almost 10 years ago, and it sent shockwaves that have not been fully replicated in another album, I agree, but by no means that implies the band has settled down (in a negative way), stopped searching for new things or brought down overall quality standards. I know I am biased cos these guys won me over a long time ago, I just think sometimes expectations are a bit overstated with bands like Wilco, that produce very good (though not as mindblowing as YHF) albums every couple of years maximum and deliver great (and frequent) live performances, two features other bands fail to achieve and suffer a lower degree of "criticism". In a way, I almost prefer they continue to be "boring" than embark in too much (electronic) experimentation, what they have been able to produce lately suits me well enough. One Sunday morning, what a melody....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilco: The Whole Love, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
This is Wilco's eighth studio album and the first on their own label, dBpm (an abbreviation of 'decibels per minute'). Over the course of their career they have evolved from alt-country beginnings to their current position as one of the best and most respected bands on the planet. Wilco have always has been Jeff Tweedy's band - he is their creative and driving force and one of only two remaining founding members. Never afraid to challenge their fan base, this is a welcome return to form after 2009's largely underwhelming 'Wilco (The Band)'.

A mix of acoustic and plugged-in rock, this album encompasses many of the styles found on their previous releases. Opener 'Art of Almost', with its programmed beats and electronic effects, would sit comfortably on either 'Yankee Hotel Foxtrot' or, given Nels Cline's riffing on the extended outro, 'A Ghost Is Born'. The power chords of 'I Might' (which samples The Stooges 'TV Eye') hark back to 'Summerteeth' and the alt-country 'Open Mind' could almost be lifted from 'Sky Blue Sky'. Further highlights include the 12 minute album closer 'One Sunday Morning (Song for Jane Smiley's Boyfriend)', a gorgeous acoustic number with lyrics about a father and son relationship, and the punchy 'Standing O'. 'Dawned On Me' features excellent guitar work and some brief snatches of vocal harmonies. 'Capitol City', although not particularly bad, is the low point - lightweight and whimsical, it sounds like a Beatles tribute. The bonus disc features a tongue-in-cheek cover of Nick Lowe's 'I Love My Label' - the band released it as a single to celebrate the launch of their label. The guitar driven instrumental 'Speak Into the Rose' is the twin of 'Spiders (Kidsmoke)' from 'A Ghost Is Born'. As always, Tweedy's vocals compliment the music perfectly.

This Limited Edition Deluxe 2-CD set is accompanied by 52 page booklet that features the lyrics, band portraits and extensive artwork by the sleeve designer. The CDs are housed in cardboard slipcases and these in turn are housed in a sturdy outer-case alongside the booklet. The combined playing time of both discs is a generous 75 minutes.

With their own label and the current line-up having been in place for five years now, Wilco sound like a band reinvigorated and, paradoxically, a band at ease with themselves. This may not quite be their best album, but it's certainly one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whole Love
Buy MP3 Album£8.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews