Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection of Dusty magic indeed - many exclusive tracks and live gems
This 92 track compilation has many stellar moments. Not only do you get all the essential Dusty hits, but also key tracks from her days with The Springfields, plus a number of alternate take vocals and stripped down mixes that showcase Dusty's mesmerizing voice. However, the real cream of this Dusty crop is CD3 which contains live performances from Dusty's three BBC...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Kyles Beguiles

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Sringfield
I misread the sales pitch I was hoping for better recordings, especially those recorded in America, I wasn't interested in the Springfields Group or having the DVD, I only like 1 CD and thought it wasn't value for money
Published 11 months ago by Gwyneth Hawkes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection of Dusty magic indeed - many exclusive tracks and live gems, 1 Dec 2011
This 92 track compilation has many stellar moments. Not only do you get all the essential Dusty hits, but also key tracks from her days with The Springfields, plus a number of alternate take vocals and stripped down mixes that showcase Dusty's mesmerizing voice. However, the real cream of this Dusty crop is CD3 which contains live performances from Dusty's three BBC television series and a promotional performance from TOTP in 1979.

It is widely known that the BBC wiped a great deal of their television archives prior to the dawn of home video in the 1970s. Sadly, many of their magnificent musical variety shows are indefinitely missing as a result. They have managed to locate select programs that were transmitted abroad (including half of Dusty's first series and the entirety of her second series) but the eight episodes of Decidedly Dusty have yet to be recovered. Therefore, it is nothing short of amazing that this collection features six performances from this series, with sound quality that is impressively clear and vibrant for what may in fact be "bootleg" sourced recordings from 1969. It is difficult to put into words the joy of hearing what were thought to be "lost" moments in an illustrious career like Dusty's. Her "Soul Medley" is over eight minutes of bliss. Had she made a studio recording for "Angel Of The Morning" it surely would have been one of her greatest hits. Her falsetto is wonderfully flaunted on "(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher And Higher" and "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" - and her "Dustyisms" are in full effect on "I Say A Little Prayer" (both Aretha Franklin and Dionne Warwick would likely applaud her rendition).

The Magic Of Dusty Springfield is not to be missed. Here's to hoping that we get to uncover more Dusty gems from the official vaults with future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty diamond collection, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dusty the woman was often lonely and insecure; we'd hear it sometimes in her voice. Life for Dusty Springfield the singer was filled with adventure, variety and the fight to make music on her own terms. Session-men disliked the fact that, on stepping into the studio, Dusty had a clear vision of what her music should sound like. We should be gratefull for her persistance. This glorious collection illustrates - even more than the brilliant 'Something Special' compilation (another great download by the way) - why she's still our greatest female Popular music singer. Dusty's passion, sometimes even rage to create so much more that just 'tracks' makes this studio/performance history fascinating and revealing.

Dusty fearlessly promoted black music - particularly Motown - on Ready Steady Go and on her own TV series. Her soul medleys are terrific, full of passion and brio. We know already that Dusty was always a supreme balladeer - and the listener is in for even more surprises!

This really is a fabulous collection, worth every penny as a download. Along with 'Something Special', we learn so much more about our wonderfull Dusty. While missing her, we should still explore and celebrate her multi-faceted brilliance. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great hits and live performance compilation, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only "discovered" Dusty recently and have enjoyed watching her BBC performances, so I was delighted to find a selection of them on this set. The audio quality is pretty good on the live performances, although obviously not studio standard. I like the hits but Dusty's Motown covers were also excellent. It's a pity she didn't record more of them. She really was a fabulous and versatile singer, able to sing many different styles. Would have liked 'Island of Dreams' and 'Love Power' but you can't have them all! Can't comment on the packaging, as I bought the MP3 album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Me, 23 April 2013
By 
Rita Reid (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Dusty Springfield (Audio CD)
I Have always been a fan of Dusty
My records were lost in transit,so bought these as a replacement
I am very happy with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Dusty Springfield (Audio CD)
Britain's ''Lady Soul'' can do no wrong on this--Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield collection, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Magic of Dusty Springfield (Audio CD)
The Magic of Dusty Springfield is a must-have for any fan. The packing alone is worth it. This collection is thorough and includes hard-to-find singles as well as her most popular hits. The collection arrived well packed and in perfect condition. I'm very pleased with the purchase - from ordering to delivery it was professional and without difficulty or problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Sringfield, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Dusty Springfield (Audio CD)
I misread the sales pitch I was hoping for better recordings, especially those recorded in America, I wasn't interested in the Springfields Group or having the DVD, I only like 1 CD and thought it wasn't value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magic of Dusty Springfield
The Magic of Dusty Springfield by Dusty Springfield (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews