Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy The Vampire Slayer. Season 5, Stars 5
Well , I must say I enjoy Buffy greatly, so excuse this ever so slightly biased review.

Where to begin? I have watched Buffy from the start, and this season is probably my favourite. Better episodes, better effects, although still some dodgy moments where you can easily see that it is not Sarah Michelle Gellar doing the stunts, and better storylines. This...
Published on 29 April 2006 by Luke M. Shelton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Buffy but not this
I really loved the first four seasons of Buffy, but this series just doesn't have enough 'fun' for me. The introduction of the annoying Dawn is infuriating - I could tell right from the end of the first episode when she and Buffy both yelled 'Moooom!' that she was going to get on my nerves and she really does. There are some very good episodes here, and I love the...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by Domino


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buffy season that even the Gods would be proud of..., 1 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 5 really turns the Buffy universe around. Expect major changes, big revelations and phenomenal storylines. As usual, this season comes with about 24 episodes, however this season is far from episodic. Apart from a few episodes which are self contained, season 5 is mainly just one big long storyline continued throughout.
And what a storyline - Glory, a god in human form, is threatening to spill all realities onto earth, effectively destroying it. Of course, it's up to Buffy to stop the most dangerous enemy she's ever gone up against - can she truly be mightier than a god?
This season is virtually faultless - a wacky blend of humour, horror and action. It is well paced throughout.
The best thing about this season, once again, is Spike, and his constant pining after Buffy. Yes, the series uber-villain has the hots for the Buffster, and its hilarious to see that play out. Spike still gets to have huge fight scenes along the way, but being the coolest and funniest character out of them all he steals every scene.
And good riddance to Riley! While he was perfect for series 4, he really didn't have much to do here, and it was only a matter of time before he left - although the circumstances upon which he leaves are shocking and surprising.
But the biggest new entry to the series is Dawn, Buffy's sister. Sister? Yes, exactly, a complete turn around for the show, and a fantastic development. At first I thought it could be annoying, having a yuonger sprog get in the way, but Michelle Trachtenberg plays Dawn very well, and is never once annoying or unrealistic. The character is extremely important to the series, and her storyline takes a while to play out and make sense, but it really provides the emotional connection to this series, which is no better realised than by the series finale...
All the gang are back too. Xander is better in this series, more funny and less annoying. Anya is also becoming a well fleshed out character too, and one of the highlights of the episodes. Giles, now brought back to full watcher status, even sets up his own shop, which gives his character more of a purpose after he just mulled around in series 4 after the loss of his library.
There are very few clunker episodes, with most of the boring episodes being the self contained, baddie on the loose, buffy kills it storyline. The best episodes are the ones which have Glory in them, developing her plot to kill Buffy and Dawn. The best storyline though is one set in the past, and details the history of Spike - superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Buffy series to be made....., 9 May 2005
Out of the seven series that Joss Whedon made of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, this would have to be my favourite.
Series five has an excellent mix of magic, loss, laughter and quirkieness that makes Buffy the Vampire Slayer the classic show that it will always will be.
This series sees Buffy come up against a goddess, banished to earth for her evil deeds. Searching for a magical key that will return her to her dimension, she eventually finds out that the key is being guarded by the slayer.... our own Buffy.
In this series we get to meet the wonderful Dawn a character that becomes lovable in the remainder of the series, of course there is a tragic loss but I won't ruin anything with the detail. Xander and Willow also get a great buildup in this series as we get to see their strengths and their weaknesses.
Our main star Buffy, grows up in this series but still retains a great mix of girlie innocence and "weight of the world" responsibility.
And of course, if there is just one reason to watch this show it is always the funny puns and one-liners that make it what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Buffy Season, 19 Dec 2003
When beginning season five, one is likely to believe that they are going to be disapointed. After sitting through the first two episodes however, viewers are in for a suprise. The acting gets deeper and better in this season, and the plot becomes thicker and more complex. Relationships are redefined and new ones are made. Most importantly, the season's overall nemesis, the hellgod Glory, is quite possibly one of the best villains, as she forces Buffy to fight with her brains and courage, and not simply her fists. The character of Spike is wonderfully deepened and made into a more likeable and sympathetic person, and the episode "The Body" has one of the best and most moving storylines of any episode in Buffy history. Overall, in my humble opinion, the best season ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A season with VERY strong episodes..., 8 July 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me this season was extremely strong, for character development and the range of storylines that are happening at any given time.

The way the storyline of Buffy's mother's illness is portrayed was excellent. In turn that produced probably the best and most poignant episode with "The Body", as Buffy finds her mother dead. It's such a huge surprise for a TV show in this genre, to tackle this subject so well. It was just spot on for how a person feels in that situation. Even the inclusion of a vampire in the morgue didn't affect the tone of the episode.

The whole Dawn storyline is a fascinating twist through the season even if Glory is a bit tedious, but there's always something for everyone with Buffy and this season has a spectacular cliffhanger finale episode.

Again these season sets are superb value for money, with commentaries on various episodes...and with the ability to read a text version of the commentary on screen instead of just a voice over, it's an excellent addition for people who rely on subtitles. The extra featurettes with views from the cast and crew are always welcome too. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars favourite season ever, 20 July 2006
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After the science centred plotline in season 4, season 5 returns to the supernatural side of things. The Dawn/Key storyline is utterly intriguing; Big Bad Glory is the Best Ever and episodes 16 to 22 are the most powerful episodes ever. Tons of hilarious lines (especially with anya) and the season finale just happens to be the best ever finale. If the show had really ended here, it wouldn't have been a bad thing at all. This season just makes me proud as a papa to be a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depressing season, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (New Packaging) [DVD] (DVD)
And so the light begins to fade and all that is left is darkness.

Bye bye Joyce who dies which peed me off greatly because it left Buffy with nobody, just cruel.

Then Giles leaves to go back to England leaving the scoobies all alone and Buffy dies to save her fake sister, because you just would right - errr no.

Glory and Ben were good though and there were some good episodes, save for the knights on horses in the desert episode because just snore.

Faith is back for a few episodes and i loved Faith as a character, she was so bad as, exactly as a slayer should be, very under utilised in my opinion altho i still can not figure out this whole 5 by 5 thing lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Buffy but not this, 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved the first four seasons of Buffy, but this series just doesn't have enough 'fun' for me. The introduction of the annoying Dawn is infuriating - I could tell right from the end of the first episode when she and Buffy both yelled 'Moooom!' that she was going to get on my nerves and she really does. There are some very good episodes here, and I love the character of Riley and his dilemmas, but too many of the episodes are unenjoyable. Glory is quite fun too, but the overall feel of this season is a bit depressing. That said, it is an essential for any Buffy fan to watch them all, and i particularly loved Willow and Tara's blossoming romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection, 23 Nov 2002
By 
Season Five was when Buffy finally grew up for real. The whole Buffy saga has been a growing exercise for everyone involved with the show... what started off as just a clever, funny show in which the poor blonde gets a chance to fight back has grown into a complex and thought-provoking series that genuinely pushes the envelope of popular TV.
No stranger to innovation (check out Season Four's The Hush), season five took some seriously challenging storylines and pulled them off with remarkable aplomb. There are laughs a plenty, there are tears... there are moments in the show that are genuinely heartbreaking, in which the writers combine brief flashes of hope with soul-crushing disappointment... and never once lose the plot of the storyline.
The whole season arc is consistently enjoyable, and while the Big Bad of the season isn't particularly interesting (but then, so few Big Bads have... the Master and Spike/Dru/Angel are the only ones who really cut it), the progression of the story towards its ultimate conclusion is a thoroughly satisfying narrative that adds to the richness and quality of the whole Season.
Highly recommended... Buffy at its absolute peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Excellent in Places!, 1 Nov 2002
It's quite ironic when you think about it ... season four is always blighted by fans as the worst year in "Buffy's" seven year run so far, and despite this, it is also the only season to score some significant Emmy nominations (writing and directing for "Hush"). And so it was incredibly disappointing that this season, easily the best one besides season three, lost out, seeing as there was some incredibly good stuff from near enough everyone involved.
Best of the rest: "The Body". Joss Whedon goes all Oliver Stone on us, using editing tricks, steadicam shots, no score whatsoever and some truly amazing performances to convey the confusion and trauma that the loss of a loved one would bring. Sarah Michelle Gellar, Michelle Trachtenberg, Alyson Hannigan and Emma Caulfield all shine in particular. Other good episodes include "I Was Made To Love You" (the robot girl breaks my heart!) and the blubb-fest of all blubb-fests, "The Gift".
Moot points? Well, Glory is nowhere near as poor as Adam from season four (and some of her freakout bits were quite frightening), but the whole onslaught of knights and demons needed a lot more than the last six episodes to spread itself around nicely. Amber Benson's Tara, despite getting her own episode, doesn't develop further than season four would let her (she's much better in season six) and, for all of her acting smarts, Trachtenberg confirms her Scrappy Doo status amongst the Scoobies far too often.
Otherwise ... pretty damn fine TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This season of Buffy is renound as the best season in comparison to season 2. This season deals with a lot. Friendships falling and drifting apart, emotion, and strength. Season 5 also deals with something the Scoobies cant fight. Death.
Buffy Vs Dracula: A good episode, though i feel a lot more could be done. A good attempt. 6/10
Real Me: Mysterious Dawn is introduced. Good acting, good story. 6/10
The Replacement: A Xander episode. Good acting from Nicholas Brendon, but not needed and a bit dull. 4/10
Out of my Mind: Rileys labrat treating takes a bashing on his body. Good acting by SMG once again. Harmony is v.funny. 7/10
No Place Like Home: A good episode that really explains Dawns sudden existance. Very good acting by SMG. 7/10
Family: Tara episode, a wiked, beautiful, naughty funny episode with everything you love from Buffy. Outstanding scripts, kick ass acting and my faveourite line 'Fine Mr Mclay, you can go ahead and take her... but you have to get through ME'!!!! WIKED. one of my faveourite ever! 10/10
Fool For Love: Spike Episode, we find out more about where Spike comes from and why. Also more info bout the two slayers he killed, which plays a part in season 7. Very good, interesting, great acting, directing, and for once James Marsters prooves he can act. 9/10
Shadow: Glory episode, big snake, big fight. Been done before. Next! 2/10
Listening To Fear: Joyce episode. Superb Kristine Sutherland, and Sarah Michelle Gellar. Sad episode. Dealt with well. UFO story sucks. 8/10
Into the Woods: Riley episode. The initiave want him back. Can buffy make him stay? 7/10
Triangle: Anya/ Willow episode. For comedy value, very funny. Very good acting from Alyson Hannigan and Emma Caulfield. 9/10
Checkpoint: Kick ass episode, great lines, great story! MORE MORE MORE!!!! 10/10
Blood Ties: Dawn and Buffys relationship building. Glory funny, Michelle Trachtenberg very good, but SMG steals the show again. Bravo. 8/10
Crush: Spike episode, funny, is he in love with the slayer? 7/10
I Was Made To Love You: Buffy can smile? Well its great to see it happen. A little sadder than expected, again SMG is outstanding. 7/10
THE BODY: THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING EPISODE EVER. THE ACTING FROM SARAH MICHELLE GELLAR IS ABSOLUTLY BEYOND OSCAR, AND FROM THE CAST, THIS EPISODE MAKES THE SEASON. ABSOLUTLY AMAZING. 20/10.
Forever: Part 2 of the Body. A bit boring. Can buffy cope alone? David Boreanaz stars in. Good acting AGAIN. 7/10
Intervention: Spikes sex bot. Need i say more? Funny. 9/10
Tough Love: Tara Episode. Very dramatic, Amber Benson and Aly Hannigan shine. Very good, Taras second good episode! You rock! 8/10
Spiral: Glory needs Dawn, buffys not smiling RUNAWAY. Giles - STAB, call Ben, oh wait THATS GLORY. O dear, shes got dawn.
Weight of The World: A little weird. I dont like it, too abstract, and repetitive but needed. 4/10
THE GIFT: THE SHOWS AMAZING CLIMAX TO SEASON 5. GLORY HAS DAWN, AND IF SHE CUTS DAWN OVER HER TOWER, A PORTAL WILL OPEN AND ALL DEMON WORLDS WILL COLIDE. BUFFY DOESNT WANT TO LET THIS HAPPEN, BUT CAN SHE STOP IT? Superb everyone. SMG needs an oscar for this. IT IS THAT GOOD. 40/10
Season 5 is stunning, funny, sad, dramatic, and shocking. Everything we all love from Buffy The Vampire Slayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (New Packaging) [DVD]
18.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews