Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am very pleased with this camera
I am very pleased with this camera
I have a Canon 600D SLR with several lens up to 250mm I bought a Tokina 400mm without IS it was so heavy and I could not get on with it. So I sold it and bought the SX40 HS mainly for the 35x 840 mm Telephoto zoom.
I've had Canon bridge cameras before so I know what their like. I've had good results and looking at the...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Anton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good camera lousy instruction book
Excellent camera, abysmal instruction book. On line insruction books are a pain,they are never available when you really need them ie when you are out and about. You can't a PC about with you & printing yourself costs a fortune & you end up with a massive. The least the manufacturer could do would be to offer a printed book at extra cost!
Published 14 months ago by H.P


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice, 25 April 2012
By 
Alan Newble (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this for the long zoom, actually, since it starts at 28mm wide angle is not as long as it looks. It works out at about 20X your standard view (about 50mm in film camera terms). Still very good and stabilisation is nearly as good as Panasonic's. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars didn't want something to complicated and this camera ticked all the boxes at a good, 18 Aug 2014
By 
P. J. Rhodes "Phil Rhodes" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
just what I wanted a camera to take wildlife and also use for family snaps. didn't want something to complicated and this camera ticked all the boxes at a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridge Camera., 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Because I wanted a longer focal length for my canon SLR and considering the cost, weight and the number of times I woud use a long focus lens I opted for a megazoom camera.
I am glad I opted for this as the quality of the results from it are really outstanding and more than exceded my requirements. I chose the SX40 over the SX50 because of the wider angle of view that was available.
I now have a camera that is considerably lighter than my EOS SLR and can carry about when I do not want to be burdened with, or it is not suitable to carry a larger and heavier camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powershot SX40 HS, 6 May 2012
By 
Mr. Lewis J. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Have had the whole range of SX models ~ this 40 is much better than the 30 clearer more stable with the canon software very easy to use excellent all round camera would certainly advise buyers to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent camera, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. Hilda Beard "Hilda B" (Glenrothes, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have never used this type of camera before and have been pleasantly surprised how easy it is to use for a novice, and am finding my way round it slowly. The close ups are great and I have had fun using it around the grandchildren. I still have a lot to learn about it but there's no rush and its fun finding all the new bits and pieces it does. I like the fact that on auto it does all the work for you and you get great pictures.
I don't have a lot of experience with cameras but this feels solid and a good piece of equipment.
My only negative would be that the strap is not very comfy round my neck for the weight of the camera but I intend getting another one when I find something I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top slot for PowerShot, 29 Sep 2012
By 
N. Warnham (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
We decided to purchase this camera primarily because of the viewfinder. Have other digital cameras and became frustrated with the viewfinder on them as when the sun was out you had great difficulty in viewing the subject of your picture. Now with the Canon PowerShot it is easy peasy. Optical zoom. wide angle and the rest of the facilities are great and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
love it for beginner like me perfect to learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon powershot sx40hs, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I purchased this camera thinking that it could replace my much loved fuji hs10 bridge camera - it didn't quite do that. It's a very high tech camera with advanced automation - even taking shots of my granddaughter when the shutter wasn't pressed!!

It has a pretty huge zoom range, 24 to 840mm eqiv, and you can also install a whole separate control program called CHDK, which enables you to do all sorts of things such as saving RAW files and having shutter wide open for huge periods of time.

But I have to say that the picture quality of the fuji was a bit sharper and more colorful. Having said that it's a fine camera and I'm sure I could have lived with it it if I'd had to.

It's only really outranked by the Nikon coolpix p510 with its huge 24 to 1000mm equivalent lens.

I have now resold this camera.pe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun camera, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. T. Barton "T Barton" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
this is a fully featured camera but will never replace my dslr for serious work. Image quality is quite good for a bridge camera and should print nicely up to 10x8. Compared to a dslr there is distinct loss of detail (smearing) when shooting for example woodland at longer distances and viewing large size. The manual focus is a nightmare, the new Fuji has a manual focus ring which must be a lot better. No RAW shooting option is bad as it is easier to save photos in that format if white balance etc is off. Hopefully a firmware update will add this (I believe it can be hacked if you know what you are doing. That said its a fun and capable camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon quality, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX40 HS Digital Camera - Black (12.1MP, Super Wide Angle, 35x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch Vari-Angle LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Wanted a new slr because the picture quality is that much better than camera phone or a compact. It has been very satisfactory in all conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews