Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It All Began With Great Music Like This....., 26 Oct. 2011
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Seeing The Gents live at Pontefract Labour Club (now sports and social) in 1983 i was still only 15 years old (so do the math now a forty something) and wasnt into mods or their music but this was a real band who could play their own songs, this cd was originally on vinyl from 1985 but sounds as brilliant now as it did then, i was at the relaunch gig in Doncaster on the 14/10/11 and they went down a storm (sadly without keyboard player Steve Kendell) the songs are catchy and easy to sing along to but have great hooks, songs like 'Revenge' and 'Faker' should have been hits and its been long overdue, do yourself a favour have some fun and buy this cd..... even my 11 year old son who is hip n trendy keeps borrowing it to play!
Great songs, great times, begin your experience with The Gents - Doncaster's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mid 80's revival at its best, 4 Dec. 2011
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
I've had this on vinyl for years and occasionally dust off the record player to give it a whirl. Now available on CD - brilliant.
If you liked the '60's' pop/soul sound of revival mod you will LOVE this album. Easily on a par with Makin Time and The Times, The Gents probably had one of the more authentic sounds of the mid 80's revival bands, even if a little commercial.
Definatley my favourite album of the 80's revival set - alongside the Makin Time album they defined the mod sound of the mid 80's. It's such a shame that the mainstream mod revival was pretty much over by '82. Had The Gents released this album in '79 everyone would have heard of them.
Absolutley brilliant album and one to be listened to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well done detour records, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
D. Norcup "nog" (hemsworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
great cd from a great band takes me back to the days when the gents where on in clubs round yorkshire every week only fault with the cd for me is i would have loved the b side to the gent single over me on the bonus tracks but well done detour records for bringing this album out on cd sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well spotted and great sounds, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
I searched mod bands and I was hoping to find a compilation cd of revival mods such as jam chords secret affair graduate merton parkas squire purple hearts etc and I came across this little gem ..never heard of them so I played some on u tube and liked revenge and faker was even better ....
Anyway I looked them up 9 singles and 3 albums hmmm I get this one from 1885 as it featured revenge and faker and the first 4 tracks on cd are blinding
If these boys were said to be just a great cabaret act and nothing else then I'm gonna have to start going to cabarets
Now I'm pondering over the band small hours as I've heard of them but never heard their music
I'm glad I got this cd and i may consider their other two albums .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gents sent by a Gent!, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Great album first time round on vinyl, even better with the added tracks. Good to see that the art work was keptfull size and not reduced like some re-issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to the 80s :), 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Saw this band so many times in the mid 80s around the clubs in Huddersfield, they were fantastic then & they still sound fantastic..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
waited a long time for this album to be released its been in the making for a few years and was well worth the wait..great album from a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Brill great this as come out on cd, you forget how good The Gents were at the time. Mods Rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had this in the 80s on vinyl - love it!, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Had this in the 80s on vinyl - love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How It All Began (Audio CD)
Very happy alround
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How It All Began
How It All Began by The Gents
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews