Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THAT OLD NASHVILLE SOUND!
APTLY TITLED WHEN ORIGINALLY RELEASED IN 1961, THIS WAS A BIG SELLER FOR ELVIS, WHICH CONTAINED A BIT OF EVERYTHING THAT INFLUENCED : COUNTRY (IT'S S SIN) BLUES (GIVE ME THE RIGHT) AND POP (I'M COMING HOME) AND ROCK (I WANT YOU WITH ME).
WITH THE RELEASE OF HIS FIRST POST ARMY ALBUM "ELVIS IS BACK!", ALL OF HIS NON-MOVIE RECORDINGS WERE DONE IN NASHVILLE...
Published on 10 Aug 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Mono Edition
Beware that this CD is mono only why I don't know because I have the original LP & cassette both in stereo.
Published on 15 May 2012 by Mike Masterton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THAT OLD NASHVILLE SOUND!, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
APTLY TITLED WHEN ORIGINALLY RELEASED IN 1961, THIS WAS A BIG SELLER FOR ELVIS, WHICH CONTAINED A BIT OF EVERYTHING THAT INFLUENCED : COUNTRY (IT'S S SIN) BLUES (GIVE ME THE RIGHT) AND POP (I'M COMING HOME) AND ROCK (I WANT YOU WITH ME).
WITH THE RELEASE OF HIS FIRST POST ARMY ALBUM "ELVIS IS BACK!", ALL OF HIS NON-MOVIE RECORDINGS WERE DONE IN NASHVILLE USING THE SAME GROUP OF MUSICIANS. WE CAN HEAR THE DISTINTIVE NASHVILLE ATMOSPHERE AND SOUND ON BOTH ALBUMS, AND THEY MAKE INTERESTING COMPANION PIECES. THE SOUND QUALITY IS ENHANCED BY DIGITAL REMASTERING.
LIKE MANY OF HIS EARLY HIT ALBUMS, IT HAS BE RE-RELEASED MANY TIMES OVER THE PAST 40 YEARS! THIS TIME BMG HAVE ISSUED EXTRA TRACKS AND HIT SINGLES THAT WERE RECORDED DURING THE SAME SESSIONS IN 1961: "SURRENDER" (A CASH IN ON THE SUCCESS OF THE ITALIAN OPERATIC "ITS NOW OR NEVER") "LITTLE SISTER"/"HIS LATEST FLAME! AND THE R&B "I FEEL SO BAD"
BY NOW ELVIS HAD MASTERED CONTROL ON HIS DELIVERY OF BALLADS, AND EASILY CONVEYS A KEEN SENSE OF DRAMA AND SUPERB TIMING ON "THERE'S ALWAYS ME", THE SWEET MELLOWNESS OF "GENTLY" AND THE MOODY "SENTIMENTAL ME". NO-ONE CAN SING QUITE LIKE THE KING! THE ORIGINAL ALBUM ART HAS BEEN LEFT INTACT (VERY NOSTALGIC OF BMG!) AND CONTAINS INTERESTING LINER NOTES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for fans, 21 April 2006
This review is from: Something for Everybody (Audio CD)
Of all the albums released during Elvis' lifetime, Something for Everybody was perhaps the most perfect (though not the most influential). Played at reasonable volume, it still has the power to impress with the adeptship of the vocal and backing performances. Listening on CD (rather than on vinyl) also helps bring out those subtle nuances that have always contributed to the overall effect but which are so much easier to tie down with the clarity of digital sound.

The Follow That Dream label has long met fans' desire for yet more Elvis. Here, though, it finally reaches the zenith of that dream, with out-takes and alternate takes that make a real contribution to our understanding of Elvis' ouvre.

Audio perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC ALBUM FOR EVERYBODY, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What A Fantastic Gem Of An Album Such As This , Most Of Us Elvis Fans Will Know All About This Great Album And Remembered Fondly But Also Often Overlooked By Some Newer Fans , Possibly Because There Are No Singles Released From The L.P.
Which Is A Pity Because As The Title Of The Album States It Is SOMETHING FOR EVERYBODY , Great Ballads And Brilliant Rockers ( just listen to " I WANT YOU WITH ME " and you"ll Know What I am Talking About )
I want you with me is my personal Favorite Track Along With THERE"S ALWAYS ME, JUDY, GIVE ME THE RIGHT, I"M COMIN" HOME....aww heck i just love the whole album , also with this new vinyl release we even get two excellent bonus tracks that is correctly been included as they were from the same studio sessions in 1961.
This Is A Very Much Welcome New Release From WAX TIME Records (well done guys) And With A Brilliant Sound That Pushes Elvis Voice From Gentle Warm Soothing Ballads To The Crazy And Wild Rockin" Lyrics That Gave Us Fans Of The Great Man Something To Cherish And Treasure For Another 50 Or More Years To Come , erm well I Won"t Be Around Then But Maybe Just Maybe This Great Album Will Be, ....So Go On Treat Yourself To Something Special And Buy This Fantastic Album On Vinyl You"ll Be Really Glad You Did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everybody - Elvis Presley, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. H. M. Marshall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a birthday present for a friend of mine and she was delighted with it. The title is apt as Elvis does sing in a variety of styles on this album. The music was recorded in the early sixties at a time when, I feel, that Elvis did some of his best work. This Cd contains the tracks from the original LP with other songs that were recorded at the same time which makes the album excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everybody, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
This cd is truly title correctly it has Something for Everybody i thoroughly enjoyed this one especially the song Judy which you didn't hear much of or at all this is a great song because i think this song stands out from all the rest. I would highly recommend this one.

Anne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for Everybody, 2 Feb 2009
By 
N. C. Hill "ace" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
Great CD as the title suggests it has something for everybody really is early Elvis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suoperb!!!, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
Wow!!! The King's last great studio album before the movie soundtracks started to take away from his legacy,possible exception "Blue Hawaii."And in dynamic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King at his best, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
This is one his lesser known albums, released at the time his movie albums were dominating. For that reason, it's not too well known. But it IS terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars aah THE voice. Great., 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
anything thats part of you ........ aaaaah THE voice. Great to hear that fab voice in some not so well known gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something For Everybody (Audio CD)
This is a really good album of Elvis I have always been a fan and have alot of his CD's another great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something For Everybody
Something For Everybody by Elvis Presley
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews