Customer Reviews


21 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book from a wonderful lady, 22 Oct. 2010
By 
Dr. E. Gaudion (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joni's writings have inspired and encouraged many who battle with disabilities and pain, as well as those who don't but who care about those who do. In this book she sets out an answer to the question of whether God wills to heal all who come to Him with faith. This is a thorny issue, but it is a delight to see it so clearly and thoughtfully handled by one so qualified to speak. The subtitle: wrestling with the mysteries of suffering, pain and God's sovereignty might put some off, but it shouldn't. Here is clear teaching, great testimony, heartfelt honesty and remarkable faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and brave, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
Addictive, despite not being an easy read, this book tackles the tough questions, and does not skirt around them. Why does God not always answer our prayers for healing? Is it a lack of faith? What use is our suffering? Wouldn't we be more use to God if we were healthy and able-bodied? What will heaven be like for us? In other words - the questions we all ponder if we believe in God and also have health problems.
Joni's condition is heartbreaking,and could make for a depressing book, if it weren't also for her eloquent expression of her faith. Her strength, resolve and positivity is astounding.
If you are disabled or experiencing chronic pain, i would recommend this book, even if you don't believe in God. It may water a seed of faith you never knew was there, but even if it doesn't, you may maybe strengthened just by reading about Joni's example.
After reading this book I can see my physical struggles, painful though they are, in a new light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Helpful, 24 July 2012
By 
Ann Marie (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
For all of us who are Christians, not just those who suffer, a wonderful discussion on suffering and how to understand it. Especially tackles the question of if we believe God CAN heal and DOES heal, how do we cope when he doesn't heal in our particular case?

Another very readable and inspirational book by Joni, and heartbreaking as she talks of the unremitting pain that she is now suffering. So this is no idle theory, but born out of her own struggle with new suffering on top of her 40 years as a quadriplegic. Recommended for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special words from a special lady, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Bailie "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Place of Healing (Paperback)
I have just begun to read this book but already am so touched by her honesty and down to earth comments. There is no sign of a 'holier than thou' attitude and I'm looking forward to continuing the read when I am on holiday next week. Joni is an amazing woman, totally dedicated to bringing glory to God through her writings and I thank God for her testimony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to read in time of need!, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Place of Healing (Paperback)
A great book!

Easy to read. Joni is straightforward and honest in speaking of her own response to pain,and yet has found immeasurable comfort and help in God, through the Bible.

I would recommend all to read it but especially those going through crisis times, and who are open to considering God's work in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, well researched and thought through, very moving in places - great book, thoroughly recommend, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Place of Healing (Paperback)
This book seems to me to have been very well researched and the difficult issues deeply thought through by someone who is well placed to speak on the subject of healing, pain, and faith. You may not agree with everything Joni says, but her views and thoughts are strongly backed up by scripture and she draws on other writers as well. She deals with the tough questions of why some are healed and some not, the sovereign will and plans of God that we don't perhaps always understand and keeping the faith. You'll cry in parts and rejoice in others.
If you have questions, or know others who have, about healing and faith - read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You need to read this book; if not today, you will certainly need it in one of your tomorrows., 22 Aug. 2013
By 
R. Bailey "www.biblebase.com" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
In many ways Joni Eareckson's book serves as an extended illustration to the theology of Henry Frost whose book, "Miraculous Healing", she constantly recommends. Frost was a friend and contemporary of Hudson Taylor and his book comes highly recommended by a broad spectrum of evangelical response to the mystery of healing and the gospel. (M Lloyd Jones being one of that number). "Miraculous Healing", by Henry W Frost, provides the patient theology of issues of healing and Joni's "A Place of Healing" works out the hypothesis, but thrillingly. Joni Eareckson is not "under siege" in her testimony but boldly embraces the current will of God as she perceives it.

The perspective of each of these books comes from writers who believe that "God still heals today" and so avoids the extreme position of the cessationists. But at the same time both books avoid the dogmatic theology of the "God's will is that you be healed now" theology.

There is a beautiful and sane balance in this testimony, and 'testimony' is what we encounter in Joni's book. This testimony does not come from the ivory tower of a study but from the fog of war experienced in the midst of the battle. You need to read this book; if not today, you will certainly need it in one of your tomorrows. Buy it and share it and enjoy the thrilling testimony of a woman who has found the grace to say "though he slay me, yet will I trust him."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly inspiring, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
Thank you Joni for writing this book and sharing so much of yourself, you are one of the unwritten heroes of faith in Hebrews 11.

If you're wrestling with suffering, or know someone who is, read this book or give it as a gift. This is a bible based, no nonsense, real, earthy, beautiful book that will challenge and inspire you; it will make you smile and make you cry. You might even find healing in its pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, must read., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
What an amazing testimony to the reality if Gods love, grace and compassion in the midst of suffering and pain. Joni has a beautiful writing style which invites you into her life and makes you feel like you know her as a friend. I have highlighted so many pages and although I finished the book a few days ago, I keep reflecting on the many truths. The book challenged my ideas of the purpose of suffering, helped me understand the bible perspective on difficulties in life and reinforced that true happiness does not come from material security or physical health but only from Jesus. I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone, whatever your circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and profound, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place of Healing: Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty (Kindle Edition)
There are some pieces of writing that come from a lifetime of facing agonising circumstances with transparent honesty and determined faith in Christ, and this is one of them. Full of practical wisdom and a theology which never runs away from the hard questions, Joni lets the reader into the heart of her own experience, never hiding her own struggles, but charting a way of triumphant hope in the darkest days. This is immensely readable, and a book that is hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews