Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars1,939
4.4 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: Green / Grey|Size: 1 TB|Change
Price:£48.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2015
This is AMAZING. The blue colour is stunning. This was a birthday present for my husband, a solider who is flying to Afghanistan over Christmas this year. We are filling it up with his favourite TV shows so that he and his friends have something to pass the time during deployment. The fact that this has been tested to military standards is what sold it to me, it will be safe while he transports it from one country to another. The memory size is large and we have another the same size with DAYS worth of TV shows and movies on it. The comparison with this to our other box is the size, this box could easily fit in the pockets of his combats, whereas our other one could not. This one is small and portable. It also does not require its own plug to the mains supply making it a far better choice for travel. It works with a laptop and a TV too meaning he can use it with so many devices out there. And WOW do the files transfer quickly onto this! Took half the time that our other box does! The only thing is the USB cable is quite short (see pic) so it has to sit close to the device its connected to.
review image review image
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Bought as an additional backup for my extremly valuable photo images. Current thinking in many photography circles is to backup to at least 2 or 3 seperate external drives of different manufacture and to store them in different locations. Paranoid? It may appear so until the worst happens and years of irreplaceable images are lost when a hard drive fails or is stolen, or as happened to me recently, a laptop returned to the manufacturer for a warranty repair was returned with the hard drive wiped! Thank goodness I backup my data.

This drive was delivered next day by Amazon and put immediately into use. Fast operation using USB3 quickly copying over 200gb of photo images from my computer. I bought the 1Tb version and so have plenty of space for future use.

Seems to be of good construction with rubberised outer shell. Ive not tested its drop resistance and hopefully never will, but, it is reassuring to know it is tested to US military standards when my valuable images are stored on it.
22 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
great hard drive, shock resistant. another reviewer posted negative reviews as he had broke the hard drive when he left the cable in the HD when travelling and he snapped the USB port. ANYONE with basic HD knowledge KNOWS NEVER to leave cables in during transit!!! the HD is strong and durable but small ports are always more fragile and can break - this HD if you drop it on the floor it's not going to stop working, which is what you really want. JUST DON'T LEAVE THE CABLE IN DURING TRANSIT AND YOU WILL LOVE THIS.

I had a 3TB HD full of TV shows, it fell off my dresser and now doesn't work, all that data lost - invest in this instead
99 comments|107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 26 November 2015
Firstly a quick note regarding my CrystalMark screen caps. Some of the drives are empty and some are not, this may affect the results. The various tests were run at various points over the last 12 months, as such, they are not run in a controlled environment. In other words, the tests were not run on factory fresh machines, one after the other and all things may not be equal.

In short, they are a guide only.

So the Transcend 25M3 vs Samsung M3 or more specifically is the Transcend worth the premium?

The short answer is yes, but it does depend on your needs.

Both drives come with a 3 year warranty and that is about where the similarities end. Amusingly the Samsung M3 comes with a Seagate drive and also a Seagate warranty a company who’s drives took a bit of a beating in reliability reports from BackBlaze earlier this year. (2015)

The Transcend on the other hand comes with a Samsung drive… oh my the irony.

So off the bat the Transcend comes with what should prove to be a more reliable drive inside. Regardless of this there are reasons to consider both drives, the key question is what you want the drive for.

The Samsung M3 is the faster drive, but far from the extent that it is noticeable in real world application such as movie and music playback. The difference between the 1TB M3 and 1TB 25M3 is far more notable than that of the 2TB drives.

The Sammy also noticeably runs cooler, with prolonged constant use the Transcend 25M3 can run up to 15% hotter than the M3 after streaming a movie.

The Transcend 25M3 however, has far superior bundled software, an excellent one touch backup feature and is also immeasurably more rugged and durable than an M3.

Both are capable of streaming movies to USB equipped TV’s and Blue ray players. (Both M3 and 25M3 Tested and confirmed working with Samsung UE32F5000 & UE42F5000 playing MKV's and Sony BDV-L600 playing MP4’s)

So which drive is for you?

Well, neither can match the performance of a powered 3.5” external drive such as WD Mybook, there simply isn’t any competition. These types of drives, however are not portable drives, something I found to my chagrin after dropping a 3TB Mybook once too often and destroying it within 3 months of ownership.

If you want to expand the storage capacity of a desktop machine and never plan to move it, then a powered 3.5” external drive is the way to go for optimum performance. If you want a drive to use with multiple PCs or that is going to be moved around even if it is only infrequently just don’t use one of these types of drives it just isn’t worth the risk no matter how careful you are.

If you want a cheap drive for media streaming be it MP3’s with a USB equipped HiFi or MP4’s/MKV’s with a TV or Blue ray player that looks smart in a media centre then the Samsung M3 is the drive for you. A perfect drive for constant use with non critical data that is backed up on another drive for use around the house but preferably usually hooked up to one device.

The Transcend 25M3 on the other hand is a drive for storing backups of non replaceable data or for those requiring a go anywhere large capacity storage medium. The drive inside the Transcend is undeniably more reliable than that of the M3 and the crack in one of my 1TB M3s will attest to the superior durability of the 25M3.

Both the M3 and 25M3 are capable of running a full install of Ubuntu, but again due to the slightly higher heat levels of the 25M3 the M3 is perhaps better suited to such a task.

In short, if you want a drive for around the house buy an M3. If you want a drive that is going to be used as a backup medium or outside the house buy an 25M3. If you want a drive to expand your desktop PC storage that isn’t going to ever be moved by a WD Mybook. If you can afford it by far the best solution for most bases would be a Synology NAS, but it will cost you.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 March 2016
I have had this for just over two years now and I love it as much as the day it arrived.
I already had a WD one for backing up all my files on my windows PC and when I bought an iMac I purchased this one to use in conjunction with time machine after reading loads of reviews.
I am so glad I did especially as it is so sturdy and won't fall part if dropped like my first external hard drive. It was a long time ago and I cannot recall the name of it but everything was lost when it just literally fell apart. I was devastated to find nothing could be recovered. As I was working between different offices at the time it really was a massive loss and thats before I even think about the irreplaceable photos that I had on it.
The Transcend is an external hard drive to be reckoned with and it is really fast and simple to use,
It has served me well and repaid its cost (which incidentally was more than the Amazon sell it for now) many times over
It looks as like new still despite constant use and I wouldn't be without it.
I couldn't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
These are solid and easy to use as a back up. This is the second one I have bought and you can't beat the solid build quality.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Had this for ~9 months until it was dropped about 18" (450mm) from the top of a coffee table onto a carpeted floor -- at which point it just died irrecoverably. If this is military grade then God help the Army.

Also, occasionally refused to pick up that it was connected to a USB 3 port with Win 7 flagging up a "this device can perform faster if connected to a USB 3 port".

When it works can sustain 10MB /s transfer rate.

Until it breaks
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 December 2015
Firstly a quick note regarding my CrystalMark screen caps. Some of the drives are empty and some are not, this may affect the results. The various tests were run at various points over the last 12 months, as such, they are not run in a controlled environment. In other words, the tests were not run on factory fresh machines, one after the other and all things may not be equal.

In short, they are a guide only.

So the Transcend 25M3 vs Samsung M3 or more specifically is the Transcend worth the premium?

The short answer is yes, but it does depend on your needs.

Both drives come with a 3 year warranty and that is about where the similarities end. Amusingly the Samsung M3 comes with a Seagate drive and also a Seagate warranty a company who’s drives took a bit of a beating in reliability reports from BackBlaze earlier this year. (2015)

The Transcend on the other hand comes with a Samsung drive… oh my the irony.

So off the bat the Transcend comes with what should prove to be a more reliable drive inside. Regardless of this there are reasons to consider both drives, the key question is what you want the drive for.

The Samsung M3 is the faster drive, but far from the extent that it is noticeable in real world application such as movie and music playback. The difference between the 1TB M3 and 1TB 25M3 is far more notable than that of the 2TB drives.

The Sammy also noticeably runs cooler, with prolonged constant use the Transcend 25M3 can run up to 15% hotter than the M3 after streaming a movie.

The Transcend 25M3 however, has far superior bundled software, an excellent one touch backup feature and is also immeasurably more rugged and durable than an M3.

Both are capable of streaming to USB equipped TV’s and Blue ray players. (Both M3 and 25M3 Tested and confirmed working with Samsung UE32F5000 & UE42F5000 a Sony BDV-L600 playing)

So which drive is for you?

Well, neither can match the performance of a powered 3.5” external drive such as WD Mybook, there simply isn’t any competition. These types of drives, however are not portable drives, something I found to my chagrin after dropping a 3TB Mybook once too often and destroying it within 3 months of ownership.

If you want to expand the storage capacity of a desktop machine and never plan to move it, then a powered 3.5” external drive is the way to go for optimum performance. If you want a drive to use with multiple PCs or that is going to be moved around even if it is only infrequently just don’t use one of these types of drives it just isn’t worth the risk no matter how careful you are.

If you want a cheap drive for media streaming be it with as USB equipped HiFi or with a TV or Blue ray player that looks smart in a media centre then the Samsung M3 is the drive for you. A perfect drive for constant use with non critical data that is backed up on another drive for use around the house but preferably usually hooked up to one device.

The Transcend 25M3 on the other hand is a drive for storing backups of non replaceable data or for those requiring a go anywhere large capacity storage medium. The drive inside the Transcend is undeniably more reliable than that of the M3 and the crack in one of my 1TB M3s will attest to the superior durability of the 25M3.

Both the M3 and 25M3 are capable of running a full install of Ubuntu, but again due to the slightly higher heat levels of the 25M3 the M3 is perhaps better suited to such a task.

In short, if you want a drive for around the house buy an M3. If you want a drive that is going to be used as a backup medium or outside the house buy an 25M3. If you want a drive to expand your desktop PC storage that isn’t going to ever be moved by a WD Mybook. If you can afford it by far the best solution for most bases would be a Synology NAS, but it will cost you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Works perfectly, despite having been dropped several times since purchase.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Excellent rugged hard drive. Worth noting that if to be used with a Mac, this hard drive needs to be formatted, which causes you to loose the built in applications, such as the backup option, however from previous use of these I found that this was no great loss.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 291 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)