Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent conclusion to the alternate history epic...
This is the third book in the `Mongoliad' sequence. The series was initially written collaboratively between the various authors, with each chapter being published individually on the internet, a sort of cross between The Lord of the Rings and Wikipedia. The text in the print editions is a slightly revised, "author's preferred" version of that originally published online...
Published 23 months ago by Christopher Meadows

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many cultures/authors spoilt the broth!
Don't believe the 5 star reviews! Don't assume that Neal Stephenson or Greg Bear actually wrote a single word of this fan boy failure of a committee trilogy. Pity me - It's Book 3 I'm railing against! What a slog. Here are my issues:

- Writing in committee will never catch on, because it doesn't work
- A bunch of re-enactors and martial artists have been...
Published 20 months ago by Enquirer


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ongoing Saga, 3 April 2013
By 
J. Farnhill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I wondered when I started this whether I'd be able to get back into the characters and plot again after the last one, and it did prove difficult at first but once it all started to flow I got the familiar feeling of satisfaction of reading one of Neal Stephenson's longer novels. Without giving too much away, this continues the story from book two and I found both the character and plot development really satisfying. It's a long book, though, so I'd recommend a Kindle purchase to avoid having to heft around the no doubt weighty physical volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collaboration, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Deserves 5 stars for the best value series of novels I've read in a long time. Well edited and seamlessly consistent in tone, rarely betraying the fact that several minds are directing the plot, this book is the best of the three and kept me enthralled to the end. Almost tempted to read the overpriced short stories that they produce about their characters and their world, but only if the price drops! Will definitely read the next full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Totally in to this. I can't wait for Book Four. There is a large cast of characters but once you get your head round them, it is fairly straightforward. Not sure about the Emperor Frederick though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MobileFones reviewed this book, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent storylines kept me going from start to finish, all three books so far have been very entertaining, bring on book four
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read, 19 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Sweeping tale with many characters to follow. The twists and intrigue surrounding the characters in Rome, Hunern and Khagan's court keeping springing surprises and leave you with questions. Excellent read looking forward to the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 800 pages of plotless meandering, 1 April 2013
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone interested in the historical Mongolian empire should avoid this bilge. Anyone interested in good writing should also beat a hasty retreat. The Mongoliad is as true to the era of Ogodei Khan as Conan the Barbarian is to the age of Attila The Hun.

It's hideously bloated and poorly written, like a parody that someone forgot to make funny. The first two sentences give a taste of the laughable dialogue - "The Shield-Brethren buried Finn on the hill where they had set up camp. 'It is not as grand as one of those burial mounds--the kurgans--we have seen,' Raphael pointed out to Feronantus, 'but it has a view of where we came from, and the sun will always warm the ground.'" - and the thought of wading through another 800 pages of this nonsense made me want to give up there and then. Everyone talks in this mock-heroic, pompous patois except Frederick Hohenstaufen, who throws "goddamn" into every sentence. This is meant to make him sound down-to-earth but just makes him sound American, which is ridiculous for a 13th Century German emperor.

Reading the dialogue is like listening in on a teenage game of dungeons and dragons, and very long game at that. This is the third book in the series, which might explain why the characters spend so much time going over events of the previous books. The non-dialogue writing is better, but there doesn't seem to be any plot; just a parade of groups of characters who spend all their time thinking and talking and doing nothing.

And boy, does it go on. There are seven authors here, all writing with the same breathless adolescent portentousness. The urge to introduce unfamiliar words is never resisted, even when there is no need. For instance, we're told that Haakon has only just learned how to pronounce the Mongol capital Karakorum, though I'm stumped at how else it could be pronounced. Meanwhile, groups of characters wander around and chatter to each other or themselves, but however great the distances not one of them ever seems to stumble on a plot.

I'm sure the writers enjoyed themselves, but it's all very self-indulgent, like fan fiction for a book that nobody has bothered to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just FYI that this book includes 'Seer' so you don't need to buy it seperately, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Silly me, I should've bought this first and checked, but no, I was just following my impulse and bought this and Seer *sigh*.
So don't make the same mistake as me.

Apart from that ... well .. I haven't actually finished reading it yet :) I'll let you know :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The next in line .., 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As mentioned in rating for the second book this is obviously a follow on from that. The characters are still developing and the story line continues to grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mongoliad (The Mongoliad Cycle Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping storyline with characters that are believable and really carry you on their journey with them. I was sorry when I reached the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews