Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars will recommend
If you like military history you will like this book,an ant's eye view of the battle of britain and the experience of living through world war 2 on the kent coast through the eyes of col. rodney foster. Lots of interesting information on air raid times,troop movements,public opinion,and such like.most military history books say about the same on the different wars or...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by penfold

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention
This book is based on the Home Guard in Kent, I bought it for my Father who was in the Home Guard at 16yrs old and it jogged his memory of his days in the HG before he was called up to join the Navy. He read it in a day and enjoyed it a lot, although not all the book is dedicated to the HG but featured it's author. I too read and enjoyed it but i would say that it has a...
Published 16 months ago by K C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars will recommend, 12 Dec 2011
If you like military history you will like this book,an ant's eye view of the battle of britain and the experience of living through world war 2 on the kent coast through the eyes of col. rodney foster. Lots of interesting information on air raid times,troop movements,public opinion,and such like.most military history books say about the same on the different wars or theatres,this book isn't written by an author it's written by a diarist writing down the day to day happenings around him, it gives you a very good sense of being there and what life was like for people living under the threat of being bombed or invaded at any moment.amazing to read the thoughts of someone who died fifty years ago on events that happened seventy years ago and who was born a hundred and thirty years ago.a nice old boy with a very british stiff upper lip,recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There but for the grace of God, 24 April 2012
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
One of many remarkable facets of these diaries is how like, and yet how unlike, the television sitcom was to reality. The diarist, a retired Indian army officer living in the heart of Hell Fire Corner throughout the second World War, was an early member of the Home Guard in Kent. He did not suffer fools and encountered a number. Eventually, exasperated, he resigned and became a driver in the Volunteer Car Pool.

Colonel Foster is an exemplary diarist. His entires are brief, lucid and to the point; they have room for the wider view of the war as it unfolded but also for the trivia of everyday life. A picture emerges of daily exposure to danger, the stress of regular air raid warnings, the bombs and explosions, the death of acquaintances; but also of domestic life when the housemaid is suspected of being a spy, when the writer stands next to a rear-admiral in a half-hour queue to buy fish, when a journey can only be completed by borrowing a gallon of petrol, while on another drive to an emergency hospital, "I did the 28 miles in 1 hours."

Unwittingly, perhaps, the Colonel provides a telling self-portrait. Clearly he was a man of principle, devoted to his wife and daughter, a willing helper of deserving causes, a prickly team member, and a prejudiced patriot - among those who come in for recurrent criticism are Winston Churchill and most of his cabinet, Field Marshall Montgomery, General Eisenhower and most Americans. British servicemen who consistently damage his fence are not excused.

We can only be grateful that these diaries, having disappeared after the author's death, resurfaced in a car boot sale. Anyone wishing to understand what life was like for civilians in the front line will find a clear and accurate account. I should add that much of it made difficult reading for one who was born in Folkestone, experienced some of the later months but mostly escaped as an evacuee in Wales. So I was not there when my school premises were damaged. Unfortunately, as a photograph of wrecked houses on page 113 shows, my parents stayed on and paid with their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Dad's Army, 3 Dec 2011
A real insight to the war years in an area of southern england. The diaries, beautifully written, humourous, informative give a real sense of what life was like for the everyday individual getting on with their 'existence' under constant threat as best they could. My family lived on the east coast during the war years and my father injured in a bombing incident at Ashford Railway station so amazing to turn up all these new facts and recollections. A book to be picked up and put down, not a must read from cover to cover in 'one session'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duty and Honour, 17 Jan 2012
This is a splendid read based on a diary that one presumes was never intended for publication. The diaryist, a retired officer from the Indian Army and one of the Old School is a man of honour, decency, integrity, diligence and dedication. Whilst his views of his some superiors might be seen as disaffection, his personal views never adversely influence his patriotism, his sense of duty nor his determination to beat the squalor that is Facism, an idealogy that is the very antithesis of his being.

This is a remarkable record of the Second World War, which melds the routine of daily life with the death and destruction of the war, mostly within viewing distance from his lounge. One aspect that he clearly articulates, is the incredible acoustic background to living on the front line that was Hythe. The noise of exploding bombs, torpedoes and mines, together with the constant crash of gunfire and the whine of piston engines driving planes and vehicles to war (never mind the constant and irritating damage to his garden fence by careless army drivers!) is indelibly printed upon the pages. This is not a cover to cover read but it is certainly a very fine one.

Whilst the title suggests a focus upon the Home Guard the story is much wider than that, encompassing everything from air-raids, vehicle accidents and plane crashes, to the Girl Guides, shopping queues, drunken soldiers and allotments. The passing vignettes on the tragedies of the people he knows hides immense loss for so many.
How sad that Rodney Foster cannot inform and inspire us in person. He has though, left us the next best thing. His perspectives are so practical yet moving; the very routine makes it fascinating. A Lost Generation now rediscovered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did they cope?, 5 Mar 2012
I am still reading this book and the one thing that strikes me is how many times they had to run for cover, or get under the table to avoid a bombing raid, sometimes two or three times a night as well as during the day. The constant threat of being invaded, the sirens, lack of sleep, scarcity of everyday provisions really makes you think how on earth did they cope with it all. The people that fought, and those who just did their bit back home have my utmost admiration. This book is a real eye opener as to what was really happening here in Britain during the 2nd world war. It is not an easy read nor is it a book that you want to read from cover to cover in one sitting, but just catch up now and again to see what's happening to Mr Foster and his family.The thing that I have to keep telling myself is that this was real, not a drama or a film, but how it really was. It's terrifying to read what they all went through. I wonder how we would cope today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History lovers will love this, 30 Dec 2011
Bought this for christmas for my grandad, the man loves history books, told me it was one of the most fasinating book he has read in a very long time. Would definitly reconment it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The real Dads army, 13 Feb 2012
I was a schoolboy during the war and the book had some revelance and I was struck by the fact that the residents still living in the area were in daily bombardment for almost the duration of the war whilst in my hometown Clydebank we suffered two nights of very heavy bombing which destoyed most of the schools and churches and damaged all the factories and houses, there were a few air raid warnings from time to time. The book being just a collection of diary enties does become a bit repetetive but and gives an insight into life and how people just got on with it despite the hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is based on the Home Guard in Kent, I bought it for my Father who was in the Home Guard at 16yrs old and it jogged his memory of his days in the HG before he was called up to join the Navy. He read it in a day and enjoyed it a lot, although not all the book is dedicated to the HG but featured it's author. I too read and enjoyed it but i would say that it has a niche appeal and recommended to those who are into wartime history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read for those interested in world war two history., 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my 93 year old Dad who served in the RAF during the war. He is reading this book and says it is a very good source of information of what went on at the home front. He has learned a lot of things from this book which he didn't get to hear about during the war, some for propaganda reasons and to keep up morale in the fighting forces. The book is in the form of a daily diary and is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Dad's Army, 2 Nov 2011
This book arrived on time, was well packaged.

I picked it up and delved straight into it, a fascinating book.

As lovers of the Dad's Army programme, it is interesting to read about the real thing.

A daily diary of wartime life in the Home Guard and the everyday life in Wartime Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews