Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice collection of beautiful choral music
Music snobs will probably throw their hands up in horror at this - it is a compilation CD, for goodness sake. Populism is taking over the world of classical music, and all anyone ever listens to is the extracts that appear in adverts - edited highlights. Music snobs can, suffice to say, be ignored. The CD does have a populist feel to it - Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus,...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by Paul Donovan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars not great
Chose it for Lippi cover! assumed very spiritual ,sadly it is so often repeated music on Classic FM , therefore disappointed .
Published 4 months ago by patroushka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice collection of beautiful choral music, 1 Mar 2004
By 
Paul Donovan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Music snobs will probably throw their hands up in horror at this - it is a compilation CD, for goodness sake. Populism is taking over the world of classical music, and all anyone ever listens to is the extracts that appear in adverts - edited highlights. Music snobs can, suffice to say, be ignored. The CD does have a populist feel to it - Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus, Ave Maria from Schubert, but the CD also covers some less well known pieces. Moreover it gives more than the edited highlights. The performances are consistently good though not especially well known performers. To cavil a little - I thought the Ave Maria a little more rushed than normal, and the “belting it out” version of the Hallelujah Chorus seemed to be preferred. These are minor criticisms however - it is a nice collection of some beautiful choral music. Snobs can chose to wade through the entire canon, but from time to time it is very pleasant to have the best bits served up on a single CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great selection, 11 Mar 2002
This CD features samples from some of the best classical music ever wriitten. If you are thinking of delving into classical music or want something with a little more religous flavour to it you cannot go far wrong. The quality of the recording is surprisingly high. A bargin at twice the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will take you higher, 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely compilation of some of the most beautiful works of vocal praise you will ever hear. Absolute certainty to raise your spirits and lower your heart rate.
When the great composers take it into their heads to write in the praise of God, they won't stop a merely 'excellent' - it's the best they are capable of and we can only listen in awe at what they have created. Makes you proud to be human that anyone can create such works as these
An absolute steal of an album for the money - the CD may never make its way back into its case, I'm playing it so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ave Maria - Sacred Arias and Choruses, 20 Sep 2008
I have really enjoyed listening to this for the first time and I know that I will be listening to it many more times. It is a very relaxing CD to listen to. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys listening to classical music and opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not great, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chose it for Lippi cover! assumed very spiritual ,sadly it is so often repeated music on Classic FM , therefore disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL., 14 Feb 2014
By 
B. R. Smith "BRENT" (WEST YORKSHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Truth be told, I bought this CD for something conducive to creating a calming experience when writing. I am an author and it simply is not possible to work against a background of Mahler, Stavinsky, Wagner etc. However, I made a mistake --- this is just so beautiful and expertly played that I find myself stopping work to listen to it properly!

A super recording technically, a worthwhile addition to anyone's collection, and the price speaks for itself. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arias and Choruses, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst building a collection of music I chose this album without having heard most of the tracks on the strength of liking much of Bachs
music. It wasn't quite what I expected but I've got to like many of the tracks. It arrived promptly in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ave Maria = Sacred Arias and Choruses, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this cd. Beautiful music to lose yourself in. Much better than I had expected or hoped for. would definitely recommend. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUR WEDDING MUSIC BEAUTIFULL, 30 July 2001
THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PEICE OF MUSIC, WELL WORTH THE MONEY, YOU WILL LISTEN TO THIS TIME AND TIME AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 14 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This album is amazing, I bought it on the spur of the moment and am now glad I did. The music fills you with joy, listening to it you can apreciate the great works and the singers who performe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews