Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide to the biological lay person
This book was a life saver. Having been completely discouraged by more technical books on biology for my degree in psychology, this book explained clearly and concisely what the different parts of the body do and how they do it.
This book seems to keep biology very simple, and almost every page assumes no prior knowledge. However, if you wish to look at it more...
Published on 4 Feb 2003

versus
39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and easy to understand lots of diagrams but too small.
I am currently studying ITEC Anatomy, Physiology & Massage and prior to starting the course was looking for a very basic and easy to understand book, with lots of colour diagrams, to get me started. This book is basic but quite comprehensive and written in an easily understood style. There are lots of good diagrams but unfortunately some of them appear over two pages...
Published on 14 Oct 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide to the biological lay person, 4 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This book was a life saver. Having been completely discouraged by more technical books on biology for my degree in psychology, this book explained clearly and concisely what the different parts of the body do and how they do it.
This book seems to keep biology very simple, and almost every page assumes no prior knowledge. However, if you wish to look at it more closely, it does go into depth on such subjects such as the nervous system without overloading information.
At each stage of the book it limits the information to step by step guides of the human body's processes and labelling of the different part of the body from brain parts through to parts of a neuron.
For anyone studying a subject that is related to biology but not indepth on biology this would be a good book. Likewise it might also prove useful for GCSE students. Its size is also fantastic because it easily fits in a small bag for revision on the bus etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most used book in my surgery!, 28 July 2007
By 
I love this book! I bought it when I was still training as a GP, and despite now being a bit thumbed and well used it remains my favourite way of explaining things to patients.
It has two separate sections - the first part is all about anatomy and physiology in normality, and a smaller section at the back gives basic explanations for a number of disease states.
If you are looking to use this as an only textbook for a degree course in anatomy or physiology you will be disappointed - it does not go into sufficient detail for that. BUT if you want a decent and correct introduction to the overall scope you'll find it a delightful book. The diagrams are absolutely correct, and without fail I can always find a drawing to explain whatever I am trying to explain to a patient.
I can absolutely guarantee that when my current copy finally bites the dust I'll be buying another copy straight away!! Best fiver I've ever spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be renamed the Human Body Bible, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
After starting an HND inlcuding Anatomy & Physiology with a lot of brainy 18 yr olds (I'm a mature student at 32 yrs) I felt totally out of my depth. Renamed in my A&P lectures as my bible, this book has been a life saver allowing me to understand the basic function of a particular part of the body before my lecturer continued with the more advanced stuff.
A must for anyone needing to understand how the body works but in a simplified form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent little reference book, 18 Mar 2002
By 
F. Passaro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever been interested in just how things look in the human body? - Want to understand how things work - why they work? What do the nerves look like? What does the lymphatic system look like? Where are the small veins and arteries in your leg?
Then get this book - I would say it's a valuable learning and reference guide from someone who's just eager to understand more about their bodies right upto medical professionals who need a good little book to keep on hand.
I would particularly recommend this book to practitioners of reflexology and massage and as a study aid for anyone taking beginning to intermediate associated exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good anatomy book, 28 Feb 2005
This book provides a great foundation in Anatomy. Probably aimed around GCSC level, but also useful for adults with a interest in how the body works, but without wanting to go too deep. For most people this is probably what you want.
The diagrams are very clear, although they are all diagrams, no actual photos of real people (depends what you like to see).
If you are going to own one book on Anatomy then this is a good one to get.
The book is quite small in height (approx pocket size), but is very thick and so feels a bit awkward to use. There is a very similar book that whilst organised differently appears to be the same contents (The Human Body, another Dorling Kindersley book). I prefer the hardback book which is taller and so easier to see the pictures clearly. The hardback book is over twice the price, but I prefer the hardback book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you Need Pocket Size, 27 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has everything you need for an A&p student or someone looking into message therapy.

It has everything you need with the entire body laid out in simple terms.

Usualy these books are like carying an 80's music system under your arm but this one is small and easy to carry.

A must have if A&P is to your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 9 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i really have trouble understanding anatomy and physiology but this book helped me so much. It also kept me awake during my dull A&P lectures with the fantastic pictures and descriptions.
Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simplified illustrated book for the lay-person., 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
As a reflexology student, the functions of the human body seemed so complex. This book breaks the whole learning process down into 'bite-size' pieces that are easily digestible for the lay-person. Each part of every process is dealt with so simply that even I got my head round it! The illustrations are bright and colourful - it makes learning fun again! Its also small enough to carry around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab book, 6 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This is an absolutely fab book for a&p students, i use it combined with other books and it provides a real insight to the human body. Great for holistic students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and easy to understand lots of diagrams but too small., 14 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I am currently studying ITEC Anatomy, Physiology & Massage and prior to starting the course was looking for a very basic and easy to understand book, with lots of colour diagrams, to get me started. This book is basic but quite comprehensive and written in an easily understood style. There are lots of good diagrams but unfortunately some of them appear over two pages and the centre of these diagrams are not easily decipherable. The book is small and fat - hence the publishers description "dumpy edition" - and does not lie flat, I found this quite annoying. I do not know why this book was published in this format as what it lacks in size it makes up for in thickness making it too large for most pockets and too small to be handled and read with ease. In summary The Body is a good, very basic, book but I feel that its format prevents it from being an easy to use learning tool and it should be published in A4 size-if it is not already. It would probably be good as an on-the-move revision aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(The Human Body) By Baggaley, Ann (Author) Paperback on 13-Jun-2001
Used & New from: 17.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews