Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tribute to Hollywood musicals
This album opens with the only original song to be found here, which sets the theme and the mood for the rest of the album. There is a nice mix of tempos here, with classic ballads True love. Moon river and September song as well as the upbeat numbers that suit the Puppini sisters particularly well. Some songs have arrangements not that different to the originals, while...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They play it pretty straight...
The 21st-century Andrews Sisters make their fourth outing into swing, big band and boogie-woogie, this time with a silver-screen theme and added grooming from the Mad Men styling team.
With the exception of a bluegrass take on "Get Happy", the Sisters play it pretty straight with their spot-on swooning harmonic arrangements, lashings of brassy sass and Gene...
Published on 27 Dec. 2011 by sunder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
It may be my age because they remind me of the Glen Miller era, which,, although i wasnt around i enjoy that
type of music. Haven t stopped playing it.
Service second to none always recommend Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like..., 18 Jan. 2013
By 
A. Flinders (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
As a very young child I enjoyed listerning to elderly relatves playing 78 records of the Andrew's Sisters. That distinctive style of music fasinated me then and every since. Relly enjoyed this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sheer delight!, 25 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Hollywood
Once again The Puppini Sisters have pulled it off. Superb harmonies and interpretations. I just wish they'd bring out a CD more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
A. Cotton "AJR" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Big thumbs up. Big band sound done for a modern audience. Another great album from the Sisters. Get's your feet tapping and before you know it you're humming away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
So far so good! Indications seem to suggest that this was an excellent choice as a gift. Providing much enjoyment. Nostalgia with a modern twist!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Hilary Gee (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Lively happy music, some tracks are great for dancing; excellent singing and reminds me a little of my mother singing to me in my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Excellent take on songs from Hollywood, very inventive and if you like modern swing then look no further!!!!!!!! Gorgeous Girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CATCHY SWING, 22 July 2013
By 
Dag Guthe Johnsen "biba" (norway heggedal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
CATCHY SWING BUT IT COULD BE A LITTLE TAME. IT SHOULD HAD A LITTLE MORE EDGE TO IT BUT ENOUGH SAID I LIKE IT.

DAG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great as always, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Lots of fun, great to sing along too! A great selection of classic songs all done in the Puppini Sisters harmony style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
A great price for good disc. The pupping sisters are a great easy listening group. Great on a long journey in the car
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood
Hollywood by The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews