Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TRIBUTE TO HOLLYWOOD'S GOLDEN ERA
I have all the albums by this amazing group and I absolutely love their modern burlesque-ish jazz approach on classic songs and their imaginative arrangements and creative performances. I was really excited when they released this album, inspired by the Golden Era of Hollywood, but I was just a little disappointed, as it seems that this time the Puppini Sisters played it...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by Eleni

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They play it pretty straight...
The 21st-century Andrews Sisters make their fourth outing into swing, big band and boogie-woogie, this time with a silver-screen theme and added grooming from the Mad Men styling team.
With the exception of a bluegrass take on "Get Happy", the Sisters play it pretty straight with their spot-on swooning harmonic arrangements, lashings of brassy sass and Gene...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by sunder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They play it pretty straight..., 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
The 21st-century Andrews Sisters make their fourth outing into swing, big band and boogie-woogie, this time with a silver-screen theme and added grooming from the Mad Men styling team.
With the exception of a bluegrass take on "Get Happy", the Sisters play it pretty straight with their spot-on swooning harmonic arrangements, lashings of brassy sass and Gene Krupa-style drumming, though there is mischief in their voices during "I Feel Pretty" and a playful musical saw solo in an otherwise faithful "Moon River".
It's a thin line between tribute and pastiche and The Puppini Sisters walk it in their kitten heels. F. Shepherd.

Mad Men - Complete Season 1 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TRIBUTE TO HOLLYWOOD'S GOLDEN ERA, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
I have all the albums by this amazing group and I absolutely love their modern burlesque-ish jazz approach on classic songs and their imaginative arrangements and creative performances. I was really excited when they released this album, inspired by the Golden Era of Hollywood, but I was just a little disappointed, as it seems that this time the Puppini Sisters played it rather safe and their usually edgy style was a little polished.

Of course the songs are beautiful and well performed, but it is more a brilliantly executed tribute to great classic songs and performers, rather than a new daring version. The Puppini Sisters always have an amazing energy and a unique theatricality, and although this album is no exception, their performances cannot compete with the unforgettable originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puppini sisters Hollywood, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
This album was slightly disappointing after Betcha Bottom Dollar, which was so good. However still an exceptional close harmony group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tribute to Hollywood musicals, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
This album opens with the only original song to be found here, which sets the theme and the mood for the rest of the album. There is a nice mix of tempos here, with classic ballads True love. Moon river and September song as well as the upbeat numbers that suit the Puppini sisters particularly well. Some songs have arrangements not that different to the originals, while others are more noticeably different.

Diamonds are a girl's best friend and I got rhythm are noticeably different from other versions of these songs, but the most striking track here is Get happy. The instrumental credits for this track include a guitanjo, a tambourine and even a Coke bottle, although I haven't figured out where the bottle fits in.

Two songs in French are featured, these being Moi Je Joue (a song originally recorded by Brigitte Bardot, and Parle plus bas, which is actually a French version of Speak softly love.

This was their four albums, and I also have their three previous albums. If forced to choose, their debut Betcha' Bottom Dollar is probably the best, but all four are brilliant. I look forward to further releases from this trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles of smiles on my drive to work, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Unca Wee (The Kingdom of Northumbria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Nothing very original here, but there wouldn't be, given the album' premiss, but the harmonies are as tight as ever and the whole production is as crisp as a new cotton sheet. Their take on "I feel pretty" shocks at first and then inspires a grin. I look forward to some original material next time, but, in the interim, I'l be playing this cd regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Back, 10 Jan 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
The Puppini Sisters are back again with an album of eleven tracks from some of Hollywood's classics. With their tight harmonies these three girls get it right on the ball as they give their own renditions of songs that we all know, with the exception of the first track, which they penned themselves.

If you have never heard of The Puppini Sisters, where have you been? Always worth listening to, I must admit that this isn't the best album they have produced so far, but still it is brilliant to listen to. Relax and get your toes tapping to this as you unwind after a hard day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
So far so good! Indications seem to suggest that this was an excellent choice as a gift. Providing much enjoyment. Nostalgia with a modern twist!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thirties style, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Great music great harmonies easy to listen to and it is music from the thirties brought up to date. fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. W. And Mrs Lawson "W and T Lawson" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift as our sister had heard it and really loved the songs. Good mix of bug band, swing and boogie -woogie. A great tribute to classic performers. Would certainly recommend this CD. Our Sister lived it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These girls are great!, 27 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood (Audio CD)
This is, and they are, singers having fun and showing they have good judgement in choosing what they record...I've not seen their act live, but their harmony, the recollection of Andrews Sisters sound, make me want to! This is a very good album and great background for a getting a party started...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood
Hollywood by The Puppini Sisters (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews