Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Searing beauty
This is an astounding album. It sounds very different from anything else in the Santana canon, largely because it was very much a transitional work, retaining a sense of the psychedelic Latin rock of the first three albums whilst pointing to the fusion direction of later albums like Welcome and Borboletta but not entirely crossing over into jazz. Despite the success of...
Published on 18 May 2005 by christianh18

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not actually re-mastered.
The CD I received was not actually re-mastered. It was the same edition as the indifferent cd pressing I bought 4 years ago. If ever there was an album deserving a good re-master, this is it. It's going back. I believe it is mis-advertised.
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by J. M. Pickthall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santanas Best Album, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
The other reviews say it very well. However, I bought this album when it first came out in 1964. Expecting much the same as the first 3 albums. I was taken back by the sax intro at first. It soon became my favourite Santana album. Listen on high quality headphones for the full experience. (some would say he sold out).It is not the latinpop of Supernatural etc but nearer to jazz fusion. I have rebought it on CD nad am now considering the remastered version. Song of the Wind is almost spiritual. This album is in my top 3 albums of all time, along with Larry CArlton "On SOlid Ground" (guitar players pay attention) and the brilliant "Pet Sounds" bt the Beach Boys (well Brian Wilson anyway).
In short , it is exceptional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is nearly the one, 30 Sep 2003
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
I first saw Santana in the 70's on the "Lotus" tour and I thought
at the time that the music played was like a huge snake twisting and turning, awesome stuff. This album is like the concert I saw and has always been the "one". The remastering on this edition is excellent and I've got various editions on special cut vinyl from Sony Japan and various cds. However having waited for the past couple of years since the first 3 remastered albums I'm a bit disappointed that there are no bonus tracks it would've been great
to hear alternative takes, the label also mentions historic photo's
not on my copy there ain't. The 5 stars are for the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A continual musical caravan..............., 29 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
Pure music,pure genius.
complete brilliance
complete mastery.
you may never hear to guitar played again like it is hear
and you may never hear such fantastic percussion works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nearly the one, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
I first saw Santana in the 70's on the 'Lotus Tour' and I thought that the music at the time was like a huge snake, twisting and turning it was incredible.
Caravanserai has always reminded me of that concert and it still holds up today I've always thought it the 'one' This remastered edition is splendid, all the detail is there particularly on La Fuente Del Ritmo
The first side (old money) track 1 to track 6 really flows and no more so than on the opening Eternal Caravan of Reincarnation, the bass lines on this remastered cd are astounding .
One gripe after waiting this long there are no bonus tracks it would've been great to hear alt versions or better yet a special edition.
The 5 stars are for the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not actually re-mastered., 17 Jan 2008
By 
J. M. Pickthall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
The CD I received was not actually re-mastered. It was the same edition as the indifferent cd pressing I bought 4 years ago. If ever there was an album deserving a good re-master, this is it. It's going back. I believe it is mis-advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Anthony R. Dixon (Malvern, Worcs Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
I've loved this album dearly, ever since I first bought it nearly 40 years ago. Caravanserai marked a departure for Santana from the hot Salsa-Latin-Rock rhythms which typified their earlier work to something more laid-back, sensual and jazzy cool. Despite not reaching the commercial success of Abraxas, this album is nevertheless a pure diamond, with neither a poor nor mediocre track on it. In short, a far more accomplished and progressive work. As a work of art, Caravanserai is up there with the best.

The last Santana album to feature the talents of guitarist Neal Schon and keyboardist Greg Rolie, who both left to form Journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SANTANA'S FINEST !!!!, 27 Jan 2011
By 
T. G. F. Garrett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
I saw Santana in 1970 at the Bath Festival of Blues and Progressive Music. The power coming from them was enormous. I consequently bought their first album. After a couple of years my taste got more jazz inclined (but yet to savour the forthcoming delights of Mahavishnu, Return To Forever, Weather Report etc)although I was and still am a dedicated Progger. This album was just what I was waiting for - a (very) little of their past rhythms but now with an amazing variety of style.
This album is ideal for listening to on a hot sunny day perhaps in the car to soothe you on the journey. The first part really relaxes you and must be heard as one peice until those spine tingling organ notes before Song of the Wind. The quality drops a tad with All the Love of the Universe and then the haunting Future Primitive leads you into Stone Flower then the exciting Fuente del Ritmo - just beautiful, in preparation for the breathtaking Every Step of the Way.
An utter brilliant album that's at the top my tree along with just 20 or 30 others to score 10 out of 10, never mind 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sanatana's jazz fusion album, 5 Aug 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
Harmonically complex, dark and full of instrumental jamming, informed by BITCHES BREW & Return to Forever, this is Sanatana's jazz fusion album. Eternal Caravan Of Reincarnation is at first just a load of chirping crickets but gradually it shimmers into life and one can imagine the caravan trail moving into view like the appearance of Omar Shariff in Lawrence of Arabia. Look Up (To See What's Coming Down) is a funky jam. Just In Time To See The Sun is the closest you might get to a trad Santana song on this album. La Fuente Del Ritmo is another proggy jam propelled by trademark afro rhythms. 2 stand out tracks: Waves Within and Song Of The Wind. Here Carlos gets to dig deep into his soul and fly to the moon and back like a white dove on mescalin. Inspired genius. New band members include organist Gregg Rolie and guitarist Neal Schon who went on to form Journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunnin, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
i had never given Santana much of a listen til recently. i found his recent collaboarative works such as those found on 'Supernatural' to be quite uninspired, cheesey and mediocre. I was recommended this album on Amazon Listmania because i have been listenin to a lot of Jazz Fusion from the likes of Zappa, Hendrix among others.

This hAS To be the most soulful, most jaw dropping hour i have sat down to in a while. I really can't say anythin about this album other than it was probably really deposited on the planet by aliens, and that 'wow' seem to suffice as a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why havent i heard this before!?!?, 22 Nov 2008
By 
M. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caravanserai (Audio CD)
I think this is the best santana album (at least studio album because then theres Lotus live in Japan) and serves as a masterclass in the fusion of so many musics yet it sounds so pure and it still amazes how all the influences can be heard so clearly but at the same time everything about this album is so unique...Everytime i hear it it impresses me even more how the songs transition into one another so seamlessly and it is almost over as soon as it had began.

Anyways, highly recommended album for guitar fans, jazz fans, early santana stuff, woodstock fans...you see where im going here, worth buying by just having "all the love in the universe"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caravanserai
Caravanserai by Santana (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews