Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macbeth Oxford School Shakespeare
Excellent edition, larger than the others with annotations adjacent to the text on the same page which is excellent. As the previous reviewer says, as the book is larger than your usual sized book this helps fit all that useful information in and also allows plently of room to add your own notes in comparison to other editions. Overall, excellent edition, especially...
Published on 29 Mar. 2011 by Damian

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version a nightmare
Bought the Kindle version. The text is littered with numbers that link to the annotations, which are listed after each scene. Clicking on these numbers does not take you to the corresponding annotation, but just moves the line with the number to the top of the screen. As a result, you constantly have to move manually between the text and the annotations. In addition, the...
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by goodbooksilike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous text, simple and easy to read with great explanation. This is helping make Shakespeare accessible to my daughter., 18 Dec. 2014
By 
Kitty (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous text, simple and easy to read with great explanation. This is helping make Shakespeare accessible to my daughter who was previously completely uninterested in the topic. I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so simple, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chose this because I thought it would make the play easier to understand, but not as good as other similar publications I have purchased. Probably wouldn't buy any more of these particular translations in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Macbeth, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Irene M. Lewis "shape& light" (Barry, South wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Kindle Edition)
An excellent version with helpful notes, good quality paper and clear print.

It was enjoyable to read this magnificent text again after so many years.

Sent promptly in immaculate state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Publiscation, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter is studying this play and found the Shakespeare language difficult to understand but this book gives the original play and a modern translation. Excellent and would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare's shortest and "sweetest" (purest) tragedy., 8 April 1999
By A Customer
Historical inaccuracies aside (Macbeth was one of Scotland's great kings), this stands as one of Shakespeare's most brilliant plays. It's his shortest tragedy, and has been declared (as the Folger edition quotes) "wholly tragic." Plenty of ambiguities to sort through as well as a wealth of famous lines ('out, out, brief candle!', 'the be all and the end all', 'I begin to grow weary of the sun', etc etc).
I always recommend the Folger editions over others. They have the footnotes on the facing pages (so they aren't disruptive but are at the same time accessible), illustrative images from Shakespeare's time, and a scholarly essay at the end. They are also very clear (without being pedantic) about the uncertainties in editing the work (between folios and quartos, although no quarto editions of MacBeth were published in his time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macbeth (Kindle Edition)
Classic Shakespeare with true drama and memorable characters. I particularly like the role of knowing the future in this play. It adds very nicely to the story and drives the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No fear Macbeth, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic find. Shakespeare's words on one page opposite modern version. Very good for my EAL pupils. Grat service very prompt delivery as always.Highly recommended. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful CD for GCSEs, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD really helped my son to understand Macbeth better for his GCSEs. Sound quality not always the best, but great acting from Ken Stott created the atmosphere well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised there aren't any reviews, 1 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Macbeth (Kindle Edition)
Extremely surprised there arent any reviews for this amazing play. A classic, definitely worth any amount of money. Especially the bargain price shown here. Great addition to my Kindle library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent translation, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter found it easy to understand the "translation" into plain English. Hopefully it will help her enjoy the play better & result in a better grade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macbeth
Macbeth by William Shakespeare
Only search this product's reviews