Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proves that anyone can do it!
Essential reading for anyone who wants to be an entrepreneur but worries that they haven't got the 'spark' or inspiration to really set the world alight. This book shows how loads of normal people made their dreams come true by finding inspiration from everyday life and had the strength and determination to turn it into reality. The really inspiring message from this book...
Published on 1 Sep 2006 by Jodie

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but lacking in depth and detail
Sure it's inspiring reading, and I found the profiles interesting. However, I also found this book sadly lacking in depth and detail. I wanted to read about how these entrepreneurs faced their challenges after getting their "big idea", but the author seemed to gloss over this aspect. Instead, what we get is an account of how the Big Idea got there, and then suddenly...
Published on 1 Feb 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proves that anyone can do it!, 1 Sep 2006
By 
Essential reading for anyone who wants to be an entrepreneur but worries that they haven't got the 'spark' or inspiration to really set the world alight. This book shows how loads of normal people made their dreams come true by finding inspiration from everyday life and had the strength and determination to turn it into reality. The really inspiring message from this book is that anyone can do it if they really put their mind to it. And reading about what inspired other people will get you thinking it that way too, so you will find yourself bursting with ideas rather than stuck thinking 'I'd love to run my own business but I just don't know what to do.' Buy this for anyone who wants to break out of the rat race!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insights and inspiration for any would be entrepreneur, 13 Feb 2007
I really loved this book and totally disagree with Avid Reader's comments. Was he even reading the same book? He complains that the author Rachel Bridge has glossed over the entrepreneurs challenges and problems but in fact every chapter is full of them. They are what make the stories so real. She tells the entrepreneurs stories in a very balanced way without hype or exageration with all the highs and lows laid bare and I think including any more detail would be tedious to read. Every one of these stories are brilliantly inspiring and I can't recommend it highly enough for any would be entrepreneur
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and inspiring, 14 Feb 2007
By 
I am cynical when it comes to business books, finding them too big and cumbersome but Rachel Bridge has entered the market with something new and refreshing.

I like her writing style and the case studies in both books are easily digestible. This is a "certainly recommend" to anyone who is thinking of starting a business or has ambitions for their own company growth.

Good job, Rachel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 29 Oct 2007
I found this book extremely inspiring. Although it does not go into great depth, the book offers insight into where to search for a new idea by showing many different case studies. The enthusiasm of the entrepreneurs filled me with energy and motivation to take this path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Big Idea, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Ewan A. Menzies (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are thinking about starting a business, if you are a budding entrepreneur or already a successful entrepreneur or business person buy this book. Truly inspirational. Stories of how people have made it and how hard they worked to get there and the negativity of friends that they had to deal with. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic inspiration, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the positive inspiration this book was giving out. Recommend this to any aspiring entrepreneurs out there! Well done to the author for managing to squeeze in all these entrepreneurs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book i have read it many times and never get bored, everybody should read it at least one and also in schools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Ideas, 8 Sep 2009
An interesting and readable book. It's always interesting to see what inspires others and how they make it.

This isn't an in-depth book, but I don't think that it was meant to be. This serves as a starting point and a "broad brush" treatment to entrepreneurship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but lacking in depth and detail, 1 Feb 2007
Sure it's inspiring reading, and I found the profiles interesting. However, I also found this book sadly lacking in depth and detail. I wanted to read about how these entrepreneurs faced their challenges after getting their "big idea", but the author seemed to gloss over this aspect. Instead, what we get is an account of how the Big Idea got there, and then suddenly they were off and running with a successful business. What, no problems? What happened in between the Big Idea and the Success? If you're looking for interesting stories about entrepreneurs, this book is great as a bedside read. If, however, you want an in-depth analysis on what problems you may face if you were just starting out yourself and had a Big Idea, and how these entrepreneurs solved them, then don't bother with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read with diverse business models, 29 Jun 2011
By 
The idea to show how 30 different businesses got off the ground - with most of them being successful - was a sound one. This book makes an interesting read. Fitting so many in what is quite a small book means that there isn't much detail on each one. However, it's an easy read and does trigger some thoughts about how some of the ideas could be applied to other markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews