Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spot on
I bought these binocs without having seen a review on them.I had previously checked reviews for others, but i
settled on the kowas and i certainly have made a very
good purchase. Not only are they strongly made,and
waterproof,they are also very compact.They provide great viewing,either long range,or close up.eg ideal
for bird watching.The price is...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by joe quinn

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lens Caps don't fit
The caps for the objective lenses do not fit. Stupid really - this precision instrument fails simply because a small piece of plastic is the wrong size! Without caps the lenses will get scratched. If you don't mind scratched lenses this may be fine - but I returned them. The other issue that annoyed me was the price. I paid £139 - I later realised the vendor at the top of...
Published 15 months ago by JimS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought these binocs without having seen a review on them.I had previously checked reviews for others, but i
settled on the kowas and i certainly have made a very
good purchase. Not only are they strongly made,and
waterproof,they are also very compact.They provide great viewing,either long range,or close up.eg ideal
for bird watching.The price is reasonable, so if you
are looking for a first class set of binoculars without
spending too much money,you could do worse than invest
in kowo. You won't be dissapointed, ican guarantee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable for adults & children alike, wide field of vision., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 6x30 format was once very popular, even the standard bird-watching tool, but as optical technology improved 8x32 and 8x40 gradually took over. However, this format still has a lot going for it. If you require a binocular for admiring scenery this is the one for you. It is also very useful for birdwatching in woods, where its large field of vision is useful at close quarters. Given the wide field of view, I should imagine they would be very good for sporting events if you don't have a front row seat. An added bonus is that this size is good for children and those who suffer from eyestrain at larger magnifications. This Kowa binocular is just the job if any of the foregoing apply to you. They have screw-up/down eyecups for use with and without spectacles, and come with lens protectors front and back. Optically they give a good, clear view: not up there with Leica & co., but for the money they are perfectly acceptable. The binocular is chunky, but light. Kowa claim they are waterproof, but I have not had cause to test this yet. The dioptre is a bit stiff, but if you are the only person using these, then it shouldn't present a problem. The eyecups are also a bit stiff, but this might be because they are new. The lens covers should theoretically attach to the strap, but given their design I should imagine they'd fall off quickly: best to pocket them before use. I note the price has gone down again; grab a pair at £76 if you can: they are a good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good value, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bright, sharp, lightweight, and very smart. If you think porro-prism designs look old-fashioned you should think again, these look good and show just why a good porro-prism is such better value than roof-prism.

At full price (£129) they would be worth the money, but maight look expensive compared to the Opticron Savanna said to be made in the same factory. Some subtle difference in coating, or just badge engineering? I don't know, Amazon's price was under £100, so the choice was obvious.
I see the price has dropped another £10: I am tempted to buy a spare pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value., 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Bought these based on a review and am glad I did so. High quality lens give crisp clear image. Very sturdy body yet still light to hold and don't feel cumbersome in the hand. Good quality neckstrap too. Only criticism would be the bottom lens covers. They don't fit especially well and don't fasten to the strap with any conviction., I just know in time I will lose one or both. That said, the quality of bino for the cost supercedes that one gripe!
Buy with confidence, you will not be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They're very good. They are well made, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I must say first, I'm no expert on binoculars! I needed a pair primarily for bird watching while out walking. I thought about getting compacts but decided this size might be easier to use while still being lightweight. They're very good. They are well made, the rubber coating is very tactile and they fit well in the hand. Very easy to focus they provide a clear, bright image while still giving a good field of view. Like other users I can imagine losing a lens cap though they do seem to fit O.K. Though they are lightweight, I would say they are a little large to wear on a belt, I would probable keep them in a bag or round my neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a choice not to be missed., 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exellent buy. Light, wide field of view cristal, clear lenses, very little image tremour due to the 6x. As for this nonsence about loose lense covers, mine are fine and flip off with a slight touch, When in use the covers are in the well padded case, eventually I discarded them as I am not aware of the need to whirl the binoculars a around my head when being used!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delighted hubby., 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought these for my husband's birthday and he was thrilled with them. The magnification is great and they were crystal clear. I would have given them 5 stars but for one little niggle which is that the lens caps come off far too easily and you could be in danger of losing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great binoculars, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Bought after a lot of research. Nice weight to carry and use especially for a lady. Easy to use. Very clear image and great field of vision for bird watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good portable binocular, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pin sharp and bright views, plenty of eye relief, waterproof and with special coatings against dirt. Feels solid and not cheap at all. I still can't believe I got this for 100 £. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product. with excellent delivery service, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Excellent product.with excellent delivery service .read all reviews and was not disappointed. As in reviews found lens covers inadequate .but if you want a reasonable priced product you can't get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kowa 8x30 YF Series Porro Prism Binoculars
£110.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews