Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unmistakeable, 18 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful surprise. 2 John Prine performances stretching back to before he even recorded his eponymous debut. What's even more astonishing is how finely wrought these songs were already. There is virtually nothing to distinguish them from the studio recordings except the additional instrumental embellishments. On top of that John Prine already had such good material that these 1970 songs appeared over the course of his 3 original albums. The songs as ever are beautifully played and sung, and there is the added bonus of the contrast between the first cd which was recorded in August 1970 at WFMT studios and the second cd which is a live performance in november 1970 at the Fifth Peg in Chicago with the always affable John Prine sounding relaxed and enjoying himself with an already adoring public!!! Absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs Being Born: Portrait Of An Artist As A Really Young Man, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
John Prine is well known now, but in 1970 and 1971, he was a young guy working at the Post Office in un-fancy Maywood, IL in the U.S. He's walking his route everyday just outside of Chicago, making up rhymes and songs to break up the boredom. Nothing so special in that, right? Just a singing mailman, another guy singing on the job.

He's delivering mail and writing down the words on his lunch break. A few of them show promise. A few more seem pretty good. Suddenly these amazing songs begin to blossom from his insights into peoples' lives -- the old people in Hello In There, young peoples' search for happiness and fun, the desire for fulfillment of the angel from Montgomery, the emptiness of Sam Stone and the hole in his arm, the devastation of a community by a giant coal company. He's both poignant and funny in exposing the irony of situations.

When I was young, I thought they were great songs filled with emotion. Forty years later, I listen to them and I'm amazed by their insights and wisdom, especially from someone in his early twenties.

The beauty of these two performances is in realizing their historical context. They are not a trove of recently discovered "new" songs, and you might be disappointed if that's what you're expecting. The two performances (one in a radio studio as a favor after an interview with the legendary Studs Terkel, the other at a small club in Chicago) are much more valuable for the way they peel back history.

Prine's humorous comments between songs in the 1971 live show are sharp and fresh enough to still make you laugh. These two discs are a valuable look at the act of creation of an incredible body of songs as they are being born.

It is a rare glimpse into what came before the beginning.

Thanks John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Postman always sings twice, 22 Mar 2012
By 
R Chennells (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
Nice early versions of some great songs some are duplicated studio and live versions.
Hope there are more in the garage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP SONGWRITER., 13 July 2013
By 
Mr R P Coulson (WALLASEY, MERSEYSIDE, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
Greatest of songwriters, not only in my opinion, star writers like kristofferson rate prine as the best.I have seen jp. 3 times and even shook his hand, he is my favourite songwriter, like cash,van zant etc. NOT the worlds best singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivery on time Excellent, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
Don't know how they managed to get a good clear copy of songs from 3M tape without the imperfections but they did. The live performance numbers are also of good quality and the audience gives added atmosphere to the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Mar 2013
By 
C. F. Hauxwell "kingcrimson" (thornaby-on-tees) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great selection of songs from across his brilliant gift of lyrics and tunes would recommend to any john prine fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple but so good, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Christopher J. Adby (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
John Prine is so good at what he does. Simple but heartfelt country style songs with an acoustic guitar. I bought his album "lost dogs and mixed blessings" a couple of years ago and it is regularly played. Great songs full of carefully crafted words supported by a quality band. Some country, some blues, some great rock n roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Prine, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
I had to buy this, John Prine a big big favourite of mine, Nice to add it to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Prine: At the Outset, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
I love Prine. Anything he's recorded I want on my shelf. These are early recordings, made, I guess, not long after he stopped delivering mail. Here are the first versions of several now widely admired songs, some characteristically witty asides on the live album and a reminder of what his voice was like before his recent illnesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors item, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singing Mailman Delivers (Audio CD)
A gem from the earliest days of Prine. I have been a John Prine fan for over 35 years, and these recordings are simply historic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singing Mailman Delivers
The Singing Mailman Delivers by John Prine (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews