Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming
Not my normal cup of tea bought this on amazons recommedation and wow this guy is amazing great story great dog . 3rd in a series of at least 6 and they are all great so far mix of action and laughs must read for all .
Published on 31 July 2011 by Marc Morris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not as good as the first two
I will continue reading this seris, however this does seem the weaker link so far in the books, does end on a spooky note and there are some good pieces in it, the part with jesus in a bar and the story telling do stand out.
Published 19 months ago by Evil Edna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep them coming, 31 July 2011
By 
Marc Morris (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Not my normal cup of tea bought this on amazons recommedation and wow this guy is amazing great story great dog . 3rd in a series of at least 6 and they are all great so far mix of action and laughs must read for all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not as good as the first two, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
I will continue reading this seris, however this does seem the weaker link so far in the books, does end on a spooky note and there are some good pieces in it, the part with jesus in a bar and the story telling do stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars déjà Dresden Files, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
The series so far has kept me reading just to see how closely the plot and characters follow the essentials of the Dresden files books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere as good as the first two, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in the series, I looked forward to this one.
Alas, it was a disappointment.

The once original premise - a 2000-year old druid from the Iron Age lives in modern-day USA, in the role of a young Irishman who runs an occult bookstore - has grown stale. The reading experience was similar to hearing a the same old joke told yet again.

The plot is thin. Because the main story is too meagre to fill a book, there's obvious padding. For example, at one stage, there are a lot of superfluous characters telling each other stories. I got the impression that those characters were inserted purely so they could tell their life stories. The pretext for the story-telling is flimsy... a male male bonding session before they set off on a quest. "Let's each tell a story, this way we'll all be bonded together." Those stories are interesting, but they're not part of the novel plot.

What annoys me most is the info-dumping. The druid delivers lengthy lectures (pages!) to his apprentice. Those are as tedious as lengthy lectures in college, and they serve no purpose other than provide masses of information for the reader. The previous books managed to convey information by weaving it skilfully and unobtrusively into the plot, but in this book, it's boring info-dumps.

Whereas in the previous books, various religions were treated with respect, and the characters from those religions acted in ways consistent with their values, this time, it's plain silly.

For example, Jesus Christ is a character in this book. While I was willing to suspend my disbelief, to imagine what Jesus would do if he visited 21st century America, and to picture him multiplying fish&chips meals, I think Jesus would do that for a reason. Jesus might indeed sit in a fish&chips shop and give everyone a free meal - perhaps to feed the hungry, to make a statement, or to illustrate a point - but I very much doubt he'd do it as a magic trick for his own amusement because he's bored.

Reading, I got the impression that the author was trying to trump his previous books, but had run out of fresh ideas, so he rehashed the old jokes about religions, just laying everything on thicker.

The result is - for this reader at least - contrived, silly and boring.

I won't buy the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but strange, 26 April 2013
By 
chris (whitwick, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting take on mythology with a darker turn than previous books but still exciting. It's Definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammered, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Throughly enjoed the book and the series. I would recommend it to any fan of fantasy fiction. Leaves the reader looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammered, 16 April 2013
By 
M. Taylor (Oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable third book in the series! Fast paced and easy read. As good as Jim Butcher, Harry Connolly Ethan al....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, really well written. Well researched and put together, brings a whole new aspect into the attitudes of the gods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic tale, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. L. A. L. Barnes "Lara" (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hammered: The Iron Druid Chronicles: Book Three (Iron Druid Trilogy 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great characters, good plot and some very funny moments. The dog is amazing! My favourite author/ series of this genre so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough Oberon, 21 Feb 2014
I love these books. I know some reviews have said there's huge info dumps, and apparently pointless story telling and all the rest of it, but I don't care. I can just dive into these books and enjoy them - and when the story pauses while something else is going, I get interested in that as well. All good for me.

Now, word of warning - this one lost a star cos frankly - there's not enough Oberon in it. That dog should have his own series in my opinion and because Atticus is off gallivanting in this one for most of the book, poor Oberon is limited. So hopefully in the next one, he'll come back.

But that's my opinion! Other people may not find Oberon as entertaining as I do and there's plenty in this to keep everyone going. If you liked the first two, chances are, you'll like this one as well. If you haven't read the first two - go read them before you look at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews