Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine HTC Car kit - Excellent Quality Product
Packaging & Contents:
Great packaging and just the right size for the product itself. In the box you get the Car Holder with suction mount, a separate disc with sticky pad so you can stick this to your dash/interior and can then use the suction mount against this if window mount is not feasible. A Car charger (for cigarette lighter) and USB cable which is...
Published 17 months ago by mechanimal82

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but do not hold the phone firmly
Very nice if you want to use the phone in vertical mode, but if you usually use it in horizontal mode, the phone is not firmly holded. However, you may connect a USB cable through the craddle to improve stability of the phone.
Published 15 months ago by Silvia


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuine HTC Car kit - Excellent Quality Product, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Packaging & Contents:
Great packaging and just the right size for the product itself. In the box you get the Car Holder with suction mount, a separate disc with sticky pad so you can stick this to your dash/interior and can then use the suction mount against this if window mount is not feasible. A Car charger (for cigarette lighter) and USB cable which is specifically designed with clips so the to secure it to the mount. Lastly, a user guide with multi-language instructions detailing how to fit the carkit and operation.

Products & Fitting:
The main bulk of the car kit is a great quality plastic and looks very good. I like the fact that the suction section is twist-to-stick as opposed to most previous mounts I've had which have a tough clip to secure the suction which looks unsightly. This gives the mount a clean look with no unobtrusive parts. The overall size is 9.5cm from base of the suction section to the outside edge of the phone cradle. The phone holder is 7cm in width and 10cm in length, so when adding the phone in you'll need a space of about 12/13cm lengthwise.

There are 2 ball joints with a connector rod about 2/3cm long. These parts are made from polished silver to give that expensive feel to it. One ball joint is in the suction section and the other on the rear of the phone cradle. This is to enable you to easily swivel the direction of the phone to pretty much any angle you wish... Out of all car kits I've had this is a great feature and much better than any previous clip/unclip angle finders which are far more limited than this ball joint mechanism.

The joints are fairly stiff to manoeuvre, but easy enough that it won't cause any problems angling the phone to how you want it. This means that there should be no worries about the angle moving as you drive or hit bumps. In my opinion this is the perfect balance between stiffness & maneuverability.

The Cigarette adapter isn't the smallest or cleanest I've seen with some protrusion out of the lighter unit by about 3cm, adding the extra from the USB cable end you have to allow for at least 6cm before you get to the flexible cable. It may have also been nice to have a dual USB output, but the single output is fine for my needs and the plastic top has a matt finish to it, while the main body is a shiny plastic. Other than that it is a standard USB sized output, so could be easily used for charging any other USB device.

The supplied cable is around 180cm in length so you should have no problems reaching from the cigarette lighter to wherever you decide to place the mount. Excess cable is suggested to wrap around the silver arm, and there is a space in the suction removal pull tab to hook the cable into to keep it neat and tidy. One end is the standard larger USB and the other end comprises of the smaller micro-USB plug protruding from a small clip which allows this to be securely fitted to the phone cradle. As the plug is protruding, it is entirely feasible to use this for any device which uses the micro-USB connector as a charge port and does not limit you to only having this for the specific use intended.

I have fitted mine to the car using the supplied place pad. Suction is really strong and you can move the angle with ease without any risk of it coming loose. One point to note is that if you turn the phone holder clockwise it can detach from the rest of the unit. I'm not sure of the reason for this, maybe so it can be used as a temporary phone case. However, I wouldn't suggest this be used as it's not as sturdy as official phone cases. I would like to see this section be offered as an additional accessory in case of breaking as it is just plastic.

Usage with Phone:
The phone slides snugly into the cradle, sometimes I've had to tweak the charging pin slightly to get it to connect. But it's not too much of an issue, and isn't too hard to accomplish. Once the phone is in situ it's easy to manipulate the phone to the right angle if you've knocked it out while inserting the phone. Bluetooth is automatically started, a connection to the handsfree made and the Car Home application loads (unless told not to from within the Car Home app settings).

Options available from the Car Home Application Settings screen;
'Auto launch' - Start app when my phone connects to my car dock
'Auto play' - Resume Music or Radio after launching app (this will load your last played track or radio station)
'Auto connect' - Auto connect to my Bluetooth devices (select which device you want the app to connect to by default)
'Voice call accessory' - This allows you to switch in app to a different Bluetooth Device
'Audio-out accessory' - Same as above, but for Audio out instead of call out
'Beats Audio' - Select this to enable Beats Audio to be applied to your streamed music
'Read out notification' - Announce incoming calls and new messages and allow voice command to react to them
'Notification preview' - Announce caller ID and sender information for new calls and sender for new messages
'Show disclaimer' - Show disclaimer every time I use this app

By default the main screen shows you large image of clock and weather - These are non-interactive so you cannot adjust any clock settings. There is a large button displayed to show you the 'last played/playing now' track and several buttons for sending you straight to Navigation, Dialer, Music, Speak, People, Settings, Exit and a '+' button to allow you to add a shortcut to any app you have in your drawer. I would have like the option to add widgets to the Car Home screen as you have multiple screens which you can easily swipe to.

Other than that the buttons are clear and easy to access at a quick glance. It seems that HTC have really tried to provide several levels with this app and not just let the buttons take you to the relevant inbuilt application. i.e. when you press "Dialer" you get a dialer with larger buttons to make it easier while driving. Pressing Navigation takes you to a screen with multiple (large) buttons to either go straight to Google maps, Previous Destinations, Appointment locations, Gas stations, Restaurants etc. It even has the option to go by photo, using the location info from the photo's in your gallery (if available).

Speak is interesting. It's quite clever in so much that when you press this button it simulates a call to itself so that you actually speak and hear with your handsfree for the voice commands rather than using the phone's inbuilt mic & speaker. One issue I've encountered is if the voice command fails sometimes the call remains active and you have to manually end it.

Other than the few little issues the app is really good. Screen stays on while docked so you don't have to keep pressing the unlock button on the phone. The app works like a launcher so you cannot press the home button to exit it which is a little annoying if you want to access any other apps while the phone is docked, but I can see the reason for this.

Handily when undocking the phone Bluetooth is disabled, so be careful if you're in a call on your handsfree and want to continue the conversation while in the car after stopping.

Overall Opinion:
This is a great quality accessory, build is exceptional which is what would be expected for an OEM product. Slightly dearer in cost than some multi-purpose carkits, but you get what you pay for with this. But if you're getting a One and want to extend that luxury feel to the car environment you certainly would not go wrong purchasing this product. Looks-wise it stands out from the crowd and should have the envy of everyone who sees it.

Only negative is really to do with the charging adapter. I would have liked this to sit as flush as possible in the cigarette lighter unit as is possible with some other adapters. To this end I may purchase a smaller adapter to make things as neat as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the HTC ONE car driver, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having had a navman satnav for around 8 years, I was looking to replace it. Now I have the HTC ONE and this kit, no additional sat nav required! (WARNING -- DO NOT UPGRADE Google Maps on the HTC ONE. The new version does not play well with "HTC Car Mode" - main specific issue is that if you are in NAV mode and you receive a call, hanging up the call returns you to the main menu with no ability to return to the driving map! It is possible to disable ALL automatic app updates and then revert to the installed app)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect!, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I was initially put off from buying this by the poor reviews claiming ill fitting charging sockets, holder falling off windscreens and phone not seating into the charging pin nicely.

Trust me, all utter rubbish. I originally went for a brodit mount, and wish I hadn't! (anyone want to buy it off me?)

I checked the official HTC holder out in-store, where they actually let me take it out of the box, clip the charger in, and test the phone in it!

Phone slides in nicely and connects with the charging pin first time, every time.
Charging pin holds the phone in the holder when in landscape mode with no issues whatsoever.
Hold the phone with just two fingers to slide it out, comes away with no force required.
Car mode launches when phone is docked, automatically switching on bluetooth, and closes when undocked. All good.

The holder has remained on my windscreen all through the hot summer. This thing is not about to fall off.

I paid full price at 44. At this price, it's a steal. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dock, hit or miss charger, 12 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Had been looking at this dock for a while and previously had a cheaper one size fits all type dock. Changed my car and thought, why not go for the official one. Well I'm glad I did, the quality of this is just great, had no issues with suction and the thing just stays where you put it. Dropped a star for the fact that the charging sometimes seems rather hit or miss. Maybe it's my car and the length of the charging adaptor but sometimes I have to fiddle about to get it charging. But certainly no complaints on the holder itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a well made cradle but even with the discounted price on Amazon I'm not 100% convinced its worth the asking price. I had a Samsung Galaxy S2 previously. It's card cradle was more substantial and considerably cheaper. That's the only reason I haven't given the full five stars.
The cradle itself is good. The only concern I have is that the phone slides easily in and out of the base and the only way it locks is by attachment to the USB socket. I'm not at all convinced the phone would remain secure if mounted horizontally in the cradle so I choose to keep the phone in the vertical orientation.
As soon as he phone docks in the cradle the "Car" app activates with clear large icons displaying several options. The phone starts up Bluetooth automatically and connects immediately to your paired Bluetooth option (if you've already paired one that is).
All in all this is a good quality device but a little too expensive in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but do not hold the phone firmly, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Very nice if you want to use the phone in vertical mode, but if you usually use it in horizontal mode, the phone is not firmly holded. However, you may connect a USB cable through the craddle to improve stability of the phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hands free!, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Excellent piece of kit which compliments my htc one. I use this every day and has made communication much easier for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, no discrete wiring., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Works perfectly as intended, comes with a decent charger that can keep up with charging duties while all services are in use on the phone. There are a lack of pictures of this product with the actual cable attached & in action, I hoped the charging cable had been discretely channelled behind the cradle & down the arm- it has not, I wasn't too bothered as I eventually found a suitable location where I could minimize the exposed wiring- but in case anyone was thinking along the same lines as me & has never had a HTC cradle before- the charging cable nicely clips onto the cradle, but from that point dangles straight down- so cable management is left completely down to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As reviewed - not great but easy to fix!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
As all of the other reviews of this product have stated, this is a great holder, let down by the excessive cost (for what it is) and the fact that the phone isn't held securely..

However, there is a VERY easy fix which can make it better and I will put this to the manufacturer.

You simply buy some "mirror" tape (the green double sided) from Maplins which comes on a reel and then stick a very small square of this on the holder but don't remove the top side (or if you do place some thin cellophane over it). This has the effect of making the phone push a little further in to the clip and secures it perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but no cigar, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having only recently 'converted' from my much loved Galaxy S2, I am used to using the clever Samsung car mount and was please that HTC had a similar version. These cradles actually modify the way the phone behaves to work better in-car. First impressions on receipt were good - well engineered, just like the phone. It fixes strongly to the screen and takes the phone nicely. But here's the problem, the USB jack that clips into the cradle to power the phone doesn't properly align with the port on the phone, so I can't just slide the phone in. I have to un-clip the jack, slide in the phone then fiddle around with the jack until it does align and then can press it in.
Not the end of the world, but a daily irritant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTC CAR D160 Flagship Device Car Kit
31.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews