Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer magic!
I bought this ballet by way of introducing my 2.5 year old grand daughter to dance, music and of course, Alice in Wonderland. She and I have watched hour upon hour. It was a huge undertaking for the Royal Ballet and it does not disappoint. Imaginative use of various media bring this classic tale to life. The score is wonderful and the dancers both faultless and...
Published 21 months ago by Penny

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great ballet, poor DVD
Utterly beautiful ballet, but a dreadful DVD - it's mildly pixelated and really jerky when there is any fast movement. An appalling choice of filming, however they did it, for something that's an almost entirely visual medium. Why is it NTSC if it was filmed in England at the Royal Opera House? However, if you can get past the bad picture and forget about it, the...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by DB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer magic!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this ballet by way of introducing my 2.5 year old grand daughter to dance, music and of course, Alice in Wonderland. She and I have watched hour upon hour. It was a huge undertaking for the Royal Ballet and it does not disappoint. Imaginative use of various media bring this classic tale to life. The score is wonderful and the dancers both faultless and humorous! Don't hesitate to consider this for the families christmas stocking - a lovely way to relax after christmas lunch or coping with the long dark winter. A must for anyone who enjoys ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love., 6 April 2013
By 
Nicola Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I first discovered this ballet when I was writing my masters dissertation on Alice in Wonderland's cultural influence two years ago. It's just fantastic. Whilst I love the portrayal of Alice, the show is stolen by the ballerina who plays the Queen of Hearts. The sets, costumes and music were excellent and I found myself totally immersed. I'm afraid I'm not very good at reviewing the technical aspects of either a ballet performance or the DVD quality (I found no faults with either myself, although I'm sure you can find this information in another review). If you like ballet, or Alice in Wonderland, or just a good show - please buy this and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Great! Wheeldon's Alice in Wonderland, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
I loved it and watched twice in the same day. The lighting, costumes, coreography, the stage decoration are amazing, dancers fabulous, it is more than ballet! A masterpiece! Watched it with my daughter aged 13 studying ballet in conservatory, my husband who is an architect and my nephew only 6 years old. We all were fascinated by Wheeldon's Alice version. Use of new visual technologies with ballet were fabulous. Thank you Wheeldon and the team and dancers of Royal Ballet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Wheeldon, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is one of Wheeldon's master pieces. The story is clearly explained with no moment of relax. Scenes are passing by while you find there the mistery, the charm, even the fair one can experience in Carroll's tale. Also a great sense of humour, Zenaida Yanowsky is brilliant!! All dancers are at their best, Lauren Cuthbertson, the heroin who dances and dances non stop. McRae, Polulin, great dancers for an amazing Wheeldon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The white rabbit learns to dance, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Cressida (Minstead, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Royal Ballet's new version of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is certainly adventurous. It must be fantastic to see on stage. Sadly, on this DVD, the sometimes MTV-style camera work detracts rather than enhances.

This new ballet is quite ambitious with lots of clever costumes and effects (although a few would probably be more at home in a Lloyd Webber musical). The large and energetic cast give it their all, in particular Lauren Cuthbertson as Alice who seems to be almost constantly on stage. But the real star for me was Zenaida Yanowsky as the Queen of Hearts who gives a wonderfully comic and virtuoso performance. In fact, I was feeling somewhat restless during the first half of the ballet. But once the Queen of Hearts came into it, the whole thing was lifted immeasurably.

On the downside, the music is largely functional rather than memorable and a few scenes went on longer than they really needed to. On the whole, it is an enjoyable ballet. But I'm not certain I will be returning to it as often as I do some others. Still, it's always nice to see the Royal Ballet doing something new and different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Every good thing has been said about this production in previous reviews, except for one. What about the wonderful scene with the equally wonderful Steven Mcrae as the "tap-dancing" mad hatter. Wash the sound of his "tapping" was on the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Classic!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Loved this from start to finish. The dancing and music were sublime. I did find a little pixelation around the edges at times but it didn't detract from my enjoyment and I put it down to not having a high-definition TV. This ballet has all the potential of a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet Adventures of Alice in Wonderland., 21 Jan 2014
By 
B. J. Laidler "Happy Printer" (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
Wonderful ballet with outstandin special effects and beautiful music. My Grandaughters aged 5 & 7 were spellbound and it is difficult to get them away from the computer. Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful ballet production, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything about this production is perfect. The classic story of Alice in Wonderland has been brought to life as a ballet in a very spectacular way. The choreography is very expressive and captivating. And the visual presentation is a delight.
The costumes and sets are very interesting and help to give the production a magical feel.
There are bright and colourful sets that are very pleasing to the eye and the special effects make the whole show a convincing and entertaining presentation.
The music score is of equal quality with rich expressive passages that perfectly convey the story through rich sound.
This is a show that could appeal to the whole family and the picture and sound are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Wonderous!, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC] (DVD)
This was wonderful from start to stop. Some beautiful innovative choreography set to a music that really sets the mood. The set is stunning and costumes are something else!
The royal ballet delivers a technically beautiful yet still wonderfully expressive show and when the red queen appears! I have to say I have never seen such a beautiful piece of proficient ballet that amuses and titilates so!
A beauteous piece from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Royal Ballet - Alice's Adventures In Wonderland [DVD] [2010] [NTSC]
19.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews