Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked, not loved it-but still worth watching
I love Audrey Tautou, and I have seen almost every movie she has been in with the exception of maybe two films. When I read that this film was from the same director as 'Priceless', I had to purchase it (I was overseas during the time that it played in theatres, otherwise I would have seen it then). I expected this film to be just as great as Priceless, but it wasn't...
Published 23 months ago by LePapillon

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Farced Forward
This is the latest in a spate of well-made, "feel good" films flowing out of France. Any irritation over its silliness is offset by the magnetic presence of Audrey Tautou, as Émilie Dandrieux, the to be honest rather capricious and devious joint owner of a hair salon. Not realising that an anonymous love letter has been sent to her by Jean, the salon's handsome...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by Antenna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked, not loved it-but still worth watching, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I love Audrey Tautou, and I have seen almost every movie she has been in with the exception of maybe two films. When I read that this film was from the same director as 'Priceless', I had to purchase it (I was overseas during the time that it played in theatres, otherwise I would have seen it then). I expected this film to be just as great as Priceless, but it wasn't. There was something that felt a bit off/underdeveloped in terms of the plot and the directing seemed a bit 'free-style' for my taste. Audrey Tautou was lovely, but her character just didn't seem to have a strong goal/intentions as I have seen in other films. One of her greatest gifts as an actress is that she is so clear about who she is. In this film she seemed a bit wishy-washy, and it seems to be a directing flaw, not an acting one. However, all of the actors were spot on and gave wonderfully entertaining performances. I enjoyed the film and even watched it twice. I just didn't love it as much as I have loved other Audrey movies for the reasons I just mentioned. Hence, four stars, not five. But I do think it is worth watching as the actors are top notch and cinematography-wise there are a number of very pleasing moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Farced Forward, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
This is the latest in a spate of well-made, "feel good" films flowing out of France. Any irritation over its silliness is offset by the magnetic presence of Audrey Tautou, as Émilie Dandrieux, the to be honest rather capricious and devious joint owner of a hair salon. Not realising that an anonymous love letter has been sent to her by Jean, the salon's handsome odd-job man, Tautou retrieves this from the waste bin, and uses it verbatim to concoct a letter from an imaginary secret admirer to her mother Maddy. Émilie is convinced that this will serve to shake Maddy, sympathetically played by Nathalie Baye, out of her longstanding grief over being abandoned by her callous husband.

In the style of true French farce, the misunderstandings pile up as you may well imagine.

There are many amusing scenes, as when Émilie is forced to admit that she has sacked Jean, because the discovery that he is multilingual and Harvard- educated (he's lost his position as an interpreter owing to a nervous breakdown) makes her feel inadequate and uncertain about how to speak grammatically in his presence.

The denouement is cringe-making in places, the emotions superficial - except for Jean's at times inexplicable fancy for Émilie - and the ultimate happy ending not in doubt, but a little light-hearted entertainment probably never did anyone much harm, and it is a way of practising one's French. You may also like the fact that the main characters are all flawed in various ways, especially Émilie, which may make them appear more human.

My only query is why the title was changed from "De Vrais Mensonges" which translated literally as "Real Lies" seems more apt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming French film full of the sunshine of the south of France, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
A quirky plot, which some here have described as "implausable" and "feel good", but so what? it is not full of violence like typical conspiracy movies where guns rule, but explores in typical way that French films can and do, odd angles and with many humerous and touching moments. The setting of the Salon and the sunshine of the south of France along with some interesting music, gives a relaxed and charming context as the whimiscal plot unfolds.. as with "Crustacés et coquillages" and Amelie, and also the excellent "Mic-Macs - (jean-pierre jeunet ) clearly, if you don't like French films or reading sub titles - watch something else!.. but for those who enjoy the completely different way that life can be seen and is often explored in French movies, give it a watch..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De vrais mensonges, 15 Feb 2012
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
SYNOPSIS
========
One fine spring morning, Emilie receives a love letter, beautiful, inspired but anonymous.

She throws it in the bin, before plotting a way to save her mother: sad and isolated since the departure of her husband.

But Emilie doesn't know the author is John, her shy, though intelligent, employee.

LOVELY
======
A lovely French farce. Audrey Tautou is beautiful as always but the star of the film has to be her mother, Nathalie Baye.
I found it funny, engaging and the comedic timing, particularly from Sami Bouajila (who plays the handyman, made it a laugh out loud romp from start to finish.

c'est très bien
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not in the same league as Amelie but good nonetheless, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
My friend bought this for me because she knows Amelie is my all time favourite film and we really enjoyed watching it together, the performances were all excellent and the plot was good and mostly plausible which is a bonus for French farce as they can stretch credulity at times (see Cockles and Muscles for comparison! you'll die laughing at the absurd ending!)I actually think Sami Bouajila played it brilliantly. Audreys character in this is not another Amelie as she is a more flawed person and does not earn your sympathy in the same way at all. Great performance nonetheless.
Two criticisms, firstly from me is that any review suggesting this is as good as Amelie, has not seen Amelie. Amelie is a magical otherworldly fantasy adventure on a different level to most films for craft, script and acting. That is not to say this film is bad, just that it isn't Amelie and does not stand the comparison. And secondly from my friend who is a bit impatient with subtitles because as she rightly pointed out it is not made clear anywhere on the packaging(except in the microscopic technical box on the back) that this is a foreign language film. Despite this she enjoyed the film but did feel misled by the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
A story about a daughter who goes to some lengths to make her Mother feel loved and special again. Quirky, but not in the Amelie sense, Audry Tatou's character shows many similarities to the character she played in Amelie. Intriguing to the end, it is a very watchable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Most contrived thing imaginable, 1 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I enjoyed the director's 'Priceless', which, while not exactly a masterpiece, was funny and in proper screwball tradition, making us both laugh and care about the characters. Here, the plot twists any which way it can to make up for the lack of laughs and characterisation, and so it ends up being awful on all three fronts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I really enjoyed the first 20-30 minutes of this movie, but then it stretched out those 20-30 minutes for another hour until it reached the inevitable end. The film offered hopes of a farcical French romantic comedy, but it failed to deliver the farce by not introducing anyone beyond the initial triangle and failed to deliver a comfortable romantic triangle as two points of the triangle were mother and daughter.

It would have only got one star, but I gave it an extra star for the character of Paulette who put a smile on my face whenever she was on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming Tale, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
A charming French romantic comedy, it fails ultimately only because of the shadow cast by the wonderful, unassailable "Amelie". However, the characters and acting are excellent, and, for the price, Beautiful Lies is well-worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY!!!, 26 Mar 2014
By 
LOVELY STORY...
A lovely French farce. Audrey Tautou is beautiful as always!!! But the star of the film has to be her mother, Nathalie Baye.
I found it very funny, very engaging and the comedic timing perfect, particularly from Sami Bouajila (who plays the handyman, made it a laugh out loud romp from start to finish. i'll watch again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010)
Beautiful Lies [DVD] (2010) by Pierre Salvadori (DVD - 2011)
5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews