Customer Reviews


371 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
comedy is all pervasive - even when it comes to the hot topic of religeous extremism and terrorism. the film isn't without its faults but its 5* simply based on its brave approach to the topic. nigel lindsay for me is especially brilliant in this. a must buy
Published on 15 Sept. 2011 by Donald Donaldson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I have been told to see this film by lots of friends as they found so funny, it was ok
Published 13 months ago by mr john kirby


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
comedy is all pervasive - even when it comes to the hot topic of religeous extremism and terrorism. the film isn't without its faults but its 5* simply based on its brave approach to the topic. nigel lindsay for me is especially brilliant in this. a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tragi-comedy, 23 April 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chris Morris sees the worst in nearly everyone, he then ups the pace a little and records it. The result is usually unpleasant, often very funny, and sometimes an eye-opener. In Morris World everyone is stupid, self-serving or mendacious; many characters manage all three without breaking into a sweat. We are invited to laugh at the characters and not with them. However, laugh most of us do. The story of four West Riding Asian lads (plus a white convert from the Fred Kite school of organising) in their struggle to become suicide bombers should be anything but amusing, but where the human side mixes with the doctrinaire concept it is both amusing and touching. To varying degrees the purity of the Islamic background has been lost to the effects of living in a Western society; and both of these backgrounds exist in the main protagonists at the same time. The response of Police, intelligence services and British officials is scarcely more effective. It is undoubtedly black comedy of the blackest kind.

Those of you unable to follow West Riding accents are going find this film a strain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Lions DVD, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. K. Parker "Book Worm" (Blackpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't seen this film you simply must!. It's British humour at it's best. One of the main characters went on to become a star in the TV series Sirens. The film when it was originally released was very controversial as it dealt with suicide bombers. The way the subject is turned round to make it humourous is very clever. Put it on your Christmas list!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Chris Morris' Finest Works, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. George Johnson "Gj" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's a enough reviews about the story and the synopsis covers all you need to know. There are moments of farcical comedy that have you laughing out out loud, moments of deep pathos and drama but I found the balance to be right. The characters so believable with a superb cast of which the character of Barry ( Nigel Lindsay ) is the most stunning, manages to have you screaming with laughter one minute and wanting him to get his just desserts the next.

The film obviously came out at the height of the frenzy the media had whipped up about terrorists lurking around every corner and it's uncomfortable in places, barbed and unpleasant but that's one of the hallmarks of work by Morris. Much like John Sullivan ( Only Fools and Horses ), superb master of pathos but Morris obviously pushing much darker subjects. I love the proposition from Morris that I think fits with what most sensible people think, yes there are psychotics who think the world is against them and their chosen cause, yes they are most certainly dangerous but they are a tiny, tiny badly organised minority that we simply need to be alert for, mostly to protect them from themselves.

If you've never seen of any of Morris's work before this is a superb place to start, his really dark tendencies held in check for the big screen. Easily one of the best dark satirical comedy films to be made in the UK in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an unrealistic assessment of jihadists....., 12 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Four Lions [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's a Chris Morris movie - what do you expect? Absolutely hilarious and extremely brave at the same time. An absolute classic piece of satire to rank with Brass Eye and The day Today.
The film isn't really about Islam, Jihad, Balti Britain, isolation of minorities, or anything like that - it's simply a story about a bunch of mates who have an idea but are a bit cr*p when it comes to the practicalities. "Last of the Summer Wine" was filmed just up the road....
Excellent characterisation where, as previously noted, one feels sympathy for these young men in their lack of reasoning ability to work out that what they are doing is not the only option. It is a rare film that has you thinking in this way while wiping tears of laughter from your eyes.
I can state from personal experience of looking after some prisoners with extremist views that the characters here are not exaggerated at all, especially Barry - the old saying from my Catholic childhood comes to mind - "watch the converts, they're a bit keen."
Oh, yes, laughter. For those who cannot see the humour:
"She's got a beard"
"Is a wookie a bear?"
"Can I have a blue puffin?"
"chicken drummer"
"Twelve bottles of bleach, please"
"Eh up, you unbelieving Kuffar b*stards, I'm gonna stir your baked beans"
"Shoulda gone Chicken Cottage", and of course...

"RUBBER DINGHY RAPIDS, BRO!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars four lions with an open mind, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Lions [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Watched this hoping it would make me see how rediculous suicide bombers were. But unfortunately I liked the characters! There are some side-splitting moments that make me involuntarily giggle every time I think of them. (embarassing sitting on a bus!!!) Still too radical a subject for me, but an extremely well acted film. Poignant in placces too. Watch it with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOUR LIONS, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
Friends fan (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We first saw a bit of the back-end of this film when we turned over, waiting for our programme to start and thought it really funny - so made a mental note to look out for full film. Whilst I was purchasing something else on Amazon, it came up with this, amongst others, that I might like - how did it know I was looking for it - I never said? Anyway, it's absolutely fab. it starts off as any serious film would, but you soon realise that it is discreet comedy, taking a look at the lighter, definitely simpler side of some religious group's lives. It really is laugh after laugh with a serious bit of story going on. I cannot say what the story is or it would spoil it. All I can say is that it's not a Christian culture here, but it is very well portrayed and the writer is brilliant as are the actors in this. The only down side that in the making they did kill a sheep BY ACCIDENT. Go on, give it a whirl. If you have seen "In Bruge" and thought that was funny and very well written and acted, particularly Colin Farrel: then you'll really like this. On a similar par but where In Bruge was Irish, this is another culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 9 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every now and then you find a film out of the blue that gives you a good laugh - this is one of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well it's Morris, innit. Watch it., 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Morgan "wes" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Lions (Amazon Instant Video)
I met Morris outside the Comedy theatre, he was researching this film and shortly to engage in a justly famous arraigning of Mart Amis, for lumping Muslims together at the ICA; this showed he is no stupid Muslim baiter. In fact like Python, Morris attacks not the religion but the buffoons who dishonor their faith. He does this very well, in addition to helping ascendant stars like Riz Ahmed and Nigel Lindsay become better known. There's a delightful mixture of Carrollian logic here, juxtaposed with slapstick and simple silliness. It is also surprisingly touching, "rubber dingy rapids" the hapless would-be jihadi says as he propels himself to oblivion; the relationship between Ahmed and his beautiful doctor wife is also tender, even their little boy is sweet. A delightful mixture of seriousness and stupidity that will not disappoint Morris fans, reassured like me to find genius Jeff Beck's guitar version of Nitin Sawney's 'Nadia' as sountrack, a touch of class. A hoot, with a top cast too. Highlight, whether the Honey Monster is or is not a bear [spoiler alert "I just shot it!"].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost excellent, but still pushing the boundaries of satire, 8 May 2010
This film is about a group of Jihadist friends in Sheffield who plan to martyr themselves. Sounds hilarious, right? Well, bizarrely, it pretty much works. In taking on the subject, you've got to suspect Morris has deliberately decided to take the bull by the horns on the debate as to whether anything should be off limits in the world of satire and comedy. His willingness to make us question the absurdity of the received wisdom on subjects is precisely why he is such an important film maker. Everyone will remember his Brass Eye special "Paedo Britain" which absurdly had Government Minsters outraged - despite not actually having sat down and watched it through.

The film has courted controversy and some of the 7/7 families have asked people not to support it. This is totally understandable. Morris clearly isn't condoning suicide bombings with this film, but where he's been very successful and clever is that he's not mocking the Jihadists either. Its a fine line to walk, and aside from perhaps the overly dumb characterisation of Waj (Omar's best friend) and Fassel (who wants to deliver bombs by mounting them on crows) the film works very well as a black comedy - there was plenty of laughter tonight in Cineworld Cardiff, and its quite something to get an audience to belly-laugh when someone detonates themselves. Thankfully the more awkward 'dumb lines' (what are those rabbits doing here / its a chicken bro, etc) are limited to the first 30 minutes of the film. From then on, the film finds its groove and the characterisation becomes more credible, with Riz Ahmed as Omar really carrying the film - he manages to combine the poignancy of his family knowing about his Jihadist calling whilst simultaneously avoiding either schmultz or steering the film away from its satirical core.

Probably not the best thing Morris has ever done, but, let's face it, Morris on a bad day would beat 90% of stuff by other writers. I think challenging comedy as produced by Morris deserves wide public support - as the Onion demonstrated after the 9/11 attacks ('Holy ****ing ***t, America under attack') - frequently comedy and actually laughing at tragedy is the best way to start a dialogue and open up. Go out and see it, laugh, think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Lions [DVD]
Four Lions [DVD] by Chris Morris (DVD - 2010)
£4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews