Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great set, 14 Jan 2013
By 
P. Hampton "Phil Hampton" (middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
I think this is a great set, particularly as it contains albums that have historically been difficult to get hold of. The sound quality is good, but the pictures used on the CD sleeves could be better quality.

The one obvious missing album is Live in London, but this is a copyright ownership issues that does not seem close to resolution at this time.

My only concern with this set is the fact that I was stung for 25. import duty when it arrived, but all things considered it is still pretty good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
Lots of tracks I'd never heard before and some I might not listen to again but overall this is a wonderful collection which I am proud to own - astonishing value for money at 58
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FINE COLLLECTION, 18 July 2013
By 
Enrique Bernabe Platero "SUPEROFITO" (HUELVA,, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
SONY/BGM HAS MAKE A VERY BIG EFFORT!!! GOOD PRICE, SATISFACTORY REMASTERS AND REGULAR CREDITS & SLEEVES... IT'S A GOOD OPPORTUNITY TO KNOW THE FIRST ( AND BIG ) PATHWAY OF THIS MYTH OF COUNTRY, ROCK, FOLK AND TOO MANY THINGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all John Denver fans, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
Brilliant I have played every album at least once. A must have for all John Denver fans
When are the other record companies bringing out their box sets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain anyway, plus an album previously released only to family and friends, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
Containing all his solo studio albums up to 1986, three hits compilations and a live album, this box has the added bonus of an album that John recorded in 1966, which was only pressed to give a few copies to family and friends, here titled John Denver sings.

As a long standing fan, I have reviewed some original albums and some compilations. I am re-acquainting myself with other original albums that I once had on vinyl but didn't upgrade to CD, and hearing for the first time albums that I never heard at all. Even the ones I have on CD sometimes sound better than before.

John's albums after 1986 (and not here) are generally not as well known as the music here, but his final album of new recordings, All Aboard, is an outstanding collection of train songs, proving that he was still able to record great music right to the end.

The bonus CD from 1966 includes four Beatles covers, some original songs and other covers. Babe I hate to go (which John wrote) would later be re-titled Leavin' on a jet plane, in which guise John recorded it for Rhymes and reasons, later becoming a huge hit for Peter Paul and Mary. The final track is Farewell party, in which John doesn't want his funeral to be mournful - a stark contrast to a different song of the same title that Gene Watson recorded. John's Farewell party song closes an excellent album that might not have sold in huge quantities had it been released commercially, but is definitely worth a listen.

I'll review at least some of the other albums individually as and when I feel like it, and may occasionally revise my existing reviews of John's earlier releases. Suffice to say that this is a great collection.

Finally, here's a list of the albums involved, with the numbers that are conveniently put on the spine of each sleeve alongside the name. 10 and 11 were, of course, originally issued as a double LP.

1. Rhymes and reasons (1969)
2. Take me to tomorrow (1970)
3. Whose garden was this (1970)
4. Poems, prayers and promises (1971)
5. Aerie (1971)
6. Rocky mountain high (1972)
7. Farewell Andromeda (1973)
8. John Denver's greatest hits (1973)
9. Back home again (1974)
10 and 11. An evening with John Denver (1975)
12. Windsong (1975)
13. Rocky mountain Christmas (1975)
14. Spirit (1976)
15. John Denver's greatest hits vol. 2 (1977)
16. I want to live (1977)
17. John Denver (1979)
18. Autograph (1980)
19. Some days are diamonds (1981)
20. Seasons of the heart (1982)
21. It's about time (1983)
22. John Denver's greatest hits vol. 3 (1985)
23. Dreamland express (1985)
24. One world (1986)
25. John Denver sings (1966)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long-Time John Denver fan, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
Having started collecting John Denver from the first album, this box is excellent value as I missed a few and I now have all his music. Great artist, sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds GREAT!, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
Bought as a birthday present for my wife, as she is John Denver mad, and I have heard some of the tracks and it is really good, especially of his early recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl to CD to mp3, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
This Compact Disc collection will now supplement my existing vinyl collection and enables digitisation onto my IPod; I believe this is a great value pack for any John Denver fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete RCA Albums (Audio CD)
I'm happy, the product was as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete RCA Albums
The Complete RCA Albums by John Denver (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews