Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and challenging
I greatly enjoyed this insightful and easily read book about a missionary's experiences in Yemen. I found it to be extremely honest- too often missionary biographies and autobiographies and seem distant and removed- this book doesn't hide the very real trials of life in a country like Yemen but testifies to the grace of God over all. Highly recommended!
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... "Face to Face with God" (which was the most amazing book I have ever read)
Reading this book after "Face to Face with God" (which was the most amazing book I have ever read), I found this a complete let down and uninspiring.
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. Gd Halford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and challenging, 22 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
I greatly enjoyed this insightful and easily read book about a missionary's experiences in Yemen. I found it to be extremely honest- too often missionary biographies and autobiographies and seem distant and removed- this book doesn't hide the very real trials of life in a country like Yemen but testifies to the grace of God over all. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith and a inside view of muslim women`s world, 25 Jun 2012
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
The story starts with attending the conference that will hopefully send this family as christian missionaries to Yemen. But then audra`s husband suffers an almost fatal mystery illness. However the family arrive in Yemen and begin language study. Audra becomes a friend of her language helper and is invited to female gatherings. One of these is a wedding celebration where she quickly discovers you can wear almost anything under the modest apparel worn outside. During this time there is a riot in town and then the army is out in force. The family relocate after finishing language study but not before a bizarre illness strikes Audra`s daughter. Through this Audra learns to trust God even when she doesn`t understand. At the new home Audra is initially frustrated at not being able to really meet the local women. This is overcome because she chooses to wear her modest clothes on a visit to a village when other english speakers did not. They soon need help and this is promised in the form of a mission trip by a supporting american church. But then there is a suicide bombing and the trip is cancelled. Audra becomes pregnant with her forth child and flies back to america to have the baby but then heir are complications. Audra learns something of the heart of God through this time.
Read this book if you want to be culturally aware but also read it to hear how God works through us.
I have two minor complaints. First I would have liked to have heard some perspective from the male viewpoint even if just snippets. Second I want to know what happened next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
This is a really good book. It's so wonderful to know that there are those who would give up certain luxuries to take this great gospel of Jesus to those who are less fortunate.
Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very captivating, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
Very captivating .reading this book I now pray for missionaries most especially in Muslims country. God bless and keep this family. I wonder if they are still living in Yemen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story on a family who gave up their life to help others less fortunate than themselves. Easy to read, well written and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars eye-opening, 30 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
My first thoughts were - why?? Why take your small children to live in Yemen? But the book answers all that and I found myself fascinated by the lifestyle they immerse themselves in.
Includes some sad parts - facts of life for that part of the world unfortunately, but well done to them for going there and sharing more than just their beliefs.

Well written and easy to read - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read!, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished reading this book. It is a lovely, well written book which, once started, was hard to put down. It gives a good insight to how the women of Yemen live. I also liked the fact that the author has included lots of Arabic words & phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars so encouraging, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
Really easy to read, lots of detail about the culture and making decisions to move to Yemen. Great testimonies.

Would have appreciated more from the ending, but really enjoyed reading it.

Gets me excited for mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... "Face to Face with God" (which was the most amazing book I have ever read), 14 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Veils of Yemen: How an American Woman Risked Her Life, Family, and Faith to Bring Jesus to Muslim Women (Kindle Edition)
Reading this book after "Face to Face with God" (which was the most amazing book I have ever read), I found this a complete let down and uninspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived very promptly. Unfortunately cannot comment on the story of the book as it was a gift! . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews