Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not her best but still worth reading
Beatrice Bradley is staying in Greece with her friends the Hopkinsons when she is invited to go with her host, Sir Rudri Hopkinson, an eccentric archaeologist, on a trip to raise the goddess Artemis. The ill assorted party sets off to sleep overnight at various sacred sites and hopefully to summon the goddess.

If you add into the mix a inquisitive trio of...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Damaskcat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PATIENCE UNREWARDED
Deranged archeologist Rudri Hopkinson intends to recreate conditions once used to summon up Greek Gods. Mrs Bradley is one of the disparate team accompanying him to ancient scenes of worship and sacrifice. Weird events follow. Mystical or mischievous? Has someone a secret agenda?

Those with a love of Greece may find much to enthral, for the routes taken and...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Mr. D. L. Rees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not her best but still worth reading, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Away, Death (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
Beatrice Bradley is staying in Greece with her friends the Hopkinsons when she is invited to go with her host, Sir Rudri Hopkinson, an eccentric archaeologist, on a trip to raise the goddess Artemis. The ill assorted party sets off to sleep overnight at various sacred sites and hopefully to summon the goddess.

If you add into the mix a inquisitive trio of small boys, a couple of feuding archaeologists and two young women who appear to have secrets to hide not to speak of some snakes and a cow, named Io, which may or may not be necessary for the rituals they hope to perform then the expedition seems doomed before it gets off the ground.

Mrs Bradley is there in a semi-professional capacity to keep an eye on Sir Rudri's mental state which is causing concern especially when he is seen waving a knife around in the vicinity of his young son. I found the book intriguing as a study of a group of people travelling to ancient sites but as a crime novel it is not one of Gladys Mitchell's best in my opinion. The murder doesn't happen until very late on in the book and then there are just too many suspects to be eliminated in too short a period of time.

The writing, as ever, is excellent as are the characters but the main part of the mystery is when the murder will be committed and who the murder victim will be. I did find the Greek mythology and history of interest and I felt the various sites visited really came to life. I did enjoy the book even though the crime took second place to the interactions of the various members of the group though it is not my favourite of the Gladys Mitchell novels I have read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PATIENCE UNREWARDED, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Deranged archeologist Rudri Hopkinson intends to recreate conditions once used to summon up Greek Gods. Mrs Bradley is one of the disparate team accompanying him to ancient scenes of worship and sacrifice. Weird events follow. Mystical or mischievous? Has someone a secret agenda?

Those with a love of Greece may find much to enthral, for the routes taken and conditions experienced are described in detail. Others may feel the pace far too slow. This edition's cover blurb does not help. The murder it mentions does not occur until near the book's end. It says "Mrs Bradley is called upon to investigate...." In fact, she has already been present over 230 pages and is the one who finds the remains.

From about page 100 onwards I yearned for somebody to hurry up and get killed, especially with so many tiresome characters around - not least those little boys brought along for use in a whipping ceremony(!). For too long too much had been too silly to convince. By the time death occurred I was virtually past caring - especially as it had been evident for ages whose it would be.

Other Mrs Bradley adventures have been enjoyed - they witty and engaging. Sadly this one I cannot recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow, intricate and dull, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Come Away, Death (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
I made 2 serious attempts to read this book but was defeated on both occasions. I recently completed an OU course in Ancient Greek but still found the background of Greek religion totally uninvolving and its detail reminiscent of a dry-as-dust old-fashioned lecture. The characters did not engage my interest or sympathy either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book got pretty terrible reviews, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Away, Death (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
This book got pretty terrible reviews, so I delayed purchasing and reading it for a while. I am sorry that I did. It moves at a slower pace than the other books, but it is thoroughly enjoyable. If you have any reservations, give it a try. It seems to me that Gladys Mitchell was honing her skill during this one, there is less emphasis on psychological conditions and more on character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Greek rites cause mayhem for archaeologists, 31 Mar 2005
By 
Molly Walzer (Santa Rosa, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Away, Death (Paperback)
Dame Beatrice Lestrade is ably seconded by Laura Gavin in their efforts to prevent bizarre deaths while on an expedition along the Sacred Way with the intent of evoking Artemis herself by performing sacrificial rituals in the dead of night. The atmosphere of Eleusis is well evoked, and the dread mystery surrounding the tomb of Agamemnon, King of Men. Apparitions, whether human or otherwise are seen of Apollo and Artemis herself. 3 small boys and tame vipers complicate the picture. One of Mitchell's most evocative cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A serpentine plot (that's a pun!), 15 Aug 2013
By 
Hils T (South Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
An understanding of Ancient Greek deities and their sacred places might make the opening of this convoluted tale a little more comprehensible! By p88, there had been a couple of strange practical jokes, some stilted conversations between cartoon type characters as they trekked between sacred sites and I had had enough. Reading the review that states there's about another 140 pages before the actual murder is discovered did not encourage me to continue struggling on. At times the author's sentence construction drove me crackers too! I often enjoy vintage crime books and don't really approve of reviewing a book I haven't completed but, honestly, Gladys Mitchell is a vintage author I won't be trying again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Mrs Bradley series, 22 Jun 2013
By 
C. F. Hewlett "colin" (Bridgend, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
they are a good read, the TV version was easier. The books are more words than action. A good read but not an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ` bit slowmoving, 25 May 2009
By 
L. E. Wellington-garrett "polar" (1066 country UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember Gladys Mitchell,and used to enjoy her stories,but that was a longtime ago.
This one I found to very slow in getting off the ground.It took a long time to get to the vital part of the story.

Disappointing really. But it is an interesting story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Away, Death (Mrs Bradley)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews