Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitchell works wonders
Love her or hate her, Gladys Mitchell is a one of a kind writer. While she is of the same era as Christie, Sayers, Marsh et al, she stands apart from them in the manner of her story construction and writing. There is often a lengthy exposition (which occasionally does not appear to be that), a crime and a leisurely period of detection. Characterization is important and...
Published on 19 April 2012 by kettlecharlie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madder than ever
I always look forward to starting a new Mrs Bradley and then wonder why - this one is no different; I really should stop buying them but I just know that I will find one that I really love one day. Gladys Mitchell promises a lot and then doesn't deliver. Sometimes I get the feeling that she didn't ever go back and change anything - non sequiturs are dealt with by a...
Published 23 months ago by folkfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mitchell works wonders, 19 April 2012
By 
kettlecharlie "john" (fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love her or hate her, Gladys Mitchell is a one of a kind writer. While she is of the same era as Christie, Sayers, Marsh et al, she stands apart from them in the manner of her story construction and writing. There is often a lengthy exposition (which occasionally does not appear to be that), a crime and a leisurely period of detection. Characterization is important and the relationships involved. Not for the "Great Gladys" the constant reminder of the little grey cells, but Mrs (later Dame) Bradley uses them-- and if you wish to see what this formidable lady looked like just turn to a photograph of the author. Quirky, yes, but always enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 30 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Mrs. Bradley this is for you. If you have never met her, either at all or in this incarnation, this is for you. Intelligent, acidic and slightly less cosy than most cosy crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Madder than ever, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Twenty-Third Man (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
I always look forward to starting a new Mrs Bradley and then wonder why - this one is no different; I really should stop buying them but I just know that I will find one that I really love one day. Gladys Mitchell promises a lot and then doesn't deliver. Sometimes I get the feeling that she didn't ever go back and change anything - non sequiturs are dealt with by a convoluted 'excuse' - a bit more rigorous copy editing may have been a better plan. So, in short, this is okay, it's a Mrs Bradley, she solves the case. That's it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who is the twenty fourth body?, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Twenty-Third Man (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
Dame Beatrice Bradley is taking an extended holiday on the island of Hombres Muertos - the Island of Dead Men. One of her first expeditions is to a cave which contains the mummified bodies of twenty three kings. Except that one of the kings appears to be taller than the others and attracts Beatrice's attention. Put that together with a child's comment that there were twenty four kings not twenty three and the sudden disappearance of someone who has been on the island for a while and Beatrice is intrigued.

Full of eccentric characters - Mrs Angel who seems to have secrets; Mr Porterhouse - a horticulturist with a worrying interest in poisonous plants and his own small island; the obnoxious child, Clement, who is being brought up without any boundaries. Then there is the gossiping staff of the hotel and the local bandits who are soft hearted really and the troglodytes who dwell in the local caves.

The cast of this intriguing mystery is enlivened by Laura Gavin, Beatrice Bradley's secretary and he small son who goes to the island to hold a watching brief when her employer returns to the UK to do some research. I really enjoyed this story and was left guessing what was really going on until the last few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dame Bradley takes on the bandits, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is another in the series of Mrs Bradley murder mysteries. I have read only one previous in the series, but it was definitely intriguing! This one was originally published in 1957. Dame Beatrice Lestrange Bradley, as she now is, is on holiday on the island of Hombres Muertos.

Eccentric, blunt to the point of rudeness, Dame Bradley takes all in her stride as she confronts murder, mystery, bandits and mad people left, right and centre. Funny, witty, sharp - you almost want to not like Dame Bradley, but you get the feeling if you met her you'd find her quite fascinating. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEATH IN A HOT CLIMATE, 6 April 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twenty-Third Man (Mrs Bradley) (Kindle Edition)
The Island of Hombres Muertos, Dame Beatrice (Mrs. Bradley that was) on holiday. At the hotel many staff and guests with secrets. All too soon the inevitable death to intrigue....

As ever, Gladys Mitchell is strong on location, dialogue and the bizarre - Dame Beatrice destined to ride donkeys, climb mountains, consult surprisingly affable brigands not to mention verminous troglodytes (they regarding their fleas as "little brothers"). Colourful characters, of course, abound - including remarkably self-possessed young Clement, who spies on all and alienates most, he ultimately with so much to say.

Key to everything is the island's main tourist attraction, that cave housing twenty-three corpses of ancient illustrious ones, mummified by lava when the volcano erupted. How come an extra body? Why?

That last question may for some readers prove a sticking point, they wondering why the murder victim was not more easily and permanently disposed of.

Much entertains, especially in the first half. Latter stages tend to get bogged down in much talking and various implausibilities. Somehow, though, this does not really seem to matter - the result still an enjoyable read, with the writer's mischievous underlying humour always appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read by Gladys Mitchell. Recommend to anyone who enjoys books about femail dectives set in the late 20's early 30's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bored I can't make it through, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only got to page 27 and it's so boring and unrealistic that I'm going to have to force my way through the rest. It is utterly improbable, with characters racing into the scene telling everyone left and right they've been in prison for murder and other equally strange bursts of confidence without having built up the character's personality.

I love Agatha Christie, Sayers, Heyer, and that type of mystery author...Can't think how anyone would like Mitchell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twenty-Third Man (Mrs Bradley)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews