Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not straightforward casual listening
It is a tough album to get into. More so if you bought it with any subjective expectations as to what you're getting. I think a lot of people saw it as a new Metallica album, featuring Lou Reed. Indeed it's the other way around. It is not a new Metallica album, but a Lou Reed & Metallica album. Forget Death Magnetic (fantastic, by the way), because you're not doing anyone...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by Majanen Juhani

versus
42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed and Metallica - The odd couple
Honestly its not for the want of trying, three straight listens in a row (each 87 minutes passed very slowly), a copy in the car and headphones. Clearly there are many Amazon reviewers out there who love this and respect for that. But in this humble abode this CD is in real danger of becoming the most expensive coffee coaster of modern times. In 1967 Lou Reed wrote lines...
Published on 24 Nov 2011 by Red on Black


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not straightforward casual listening, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Majanen Juhani (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is a tough album to get into. More so if you bought it with any subjective expectations as to what you're getting. I think a lot of people saw it as a new Metallica album, featuring Lou Reed. Indeed it's the other way around. It is not a new Metallica album, but a Lou Reed & Metallica album. Forget Death Magnetic (fantastic, by the way), because you're not doing anyone a service by comparing it to Lulu.

If you're a close-minded hardcore Metallica listener (if you think I mean hardcore Metallica listeners are close-minded, read it again) you will be disappointed. If you are a music appreciator, an art appreciator, and a Lou Reed and Metallica appreciator, you will need to buy this.

There have been terrible criticisms of the singing, that in some parts of some songs it's out of sync and out of place with the music accompanying it. The whole experience, however, is a tight package of creativity, based on lyrics written by Reed for the play Lulu. I can't stress it enough that this album is something separate the known sphere of Metallica productions, and that is the main thing listeners need to understand and even get past to appreciate this as a music album.

My favourites, after listening to the whole album twice, are Pumping Blood, Iced Honey, Cheat On Me and Junior Dad. The latter two take me back to Velvet Underground's creepy ambient, nearly static croon. I'd even dare to say that Junior Dad is my very favourite piece on this album. I like it even with "those stupid violins that go on for NINE F***ING MINUTES!". Just beautiful atmosphere, great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lou reed is a genius, 6 Nov 2011
By 
im not sure what deimos is and quite frankly based on their sad review i dont care. this is an amazing album. with each listen it gets better. brandenburg gate is a perfect opener then we have the view. metallica complament reeds vocals and their style of play inhances the beauty of lous writting. i love iced honey. its classic lou lyrics. its sad laments. little dog is fab but talk about saving the best for last. junior dad is genius. 20 minutes of beauty. 20 minutes of pain. this is one collaboration like the orb and dave gilmour that perfectly works. not so sure about the price though sadly. id say buy it but only if you must. the ordinary version is good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed and Metallica - The odd couple, 24 Nov 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
Honestly its not for the want of trying, three straight listens in a row (each 87 minutes passed very slowly), a copy in the car and headphones. Clearly there are many Amazon reviewers out there who love this and respect for that. But in this humble abode this CD is in real danger of becoming the most expensive coffee coaster of modern times. In 1967 Lou Reed wrote lines which stunned Andy Warhol and which energised thousands of aspiring musicians to to start bands. Remember "Shiny, shiny, shiny boots of leather/Whiplash girlchild in the dark/Comes in bells, your servant, don't forsake him/Strike, dear mistress, and cure his heart"? Can this be the same poet who today writes "I'm a woman who likes men, a little dog with a puny body and tiny dick, I AM A TABLE".

For the record Metallica are genius, their Black Album should be worshipped at the shrine of rock music. Lou Reeds career equally is an exemplar of uncompromising brilliance with the occasional large misstep but honestly "Metal Machine Music" is better than Lulu. In the last analysis this whole bloated mess collapses in on itself in the 19 minute finale of the truly horrible "Junior Dad" where you wish Nicolas Parsons would intervene and just shout "repetition". One positive note emerges from "Lulu" namely that Bob Dylan and the Grateful Dead must now relinquish their long held title of the worst collaboration in rock music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It rocks., 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
In a weird way Lulu is a good reminder of what rock actually is. This record is completely devoid of "good" taste. It thrashes and chugs and shouts. A lot of Metallica fans are adamant that it also sucks. A lot of Lou Reed fans are equally adamant that it's an embarrassment. Throw in various talking heads from late night arts review shows and the message is clear. Don't try anything different, make records for niche markets, be that for metal fans or the coffee table crowd and above all show some dignity.
What I like about this record is what a lot of people dislike about it. Reed's voice is too frail for Metallica's huge crunch. The result is that it sounds unstable, loose, like Metallica just jamming some riffs. You can hear them as an unpolished honest to god band, rather than as a recording unit or stadium act. In other words, to me at least, it rocks in the truest sense of the word. Lou's voice just sits on top, croaking away lyrics that work with the unholy maelstrom the band kicks up. Ultimately, it's the part of Metallica that isn't a corporate entity, the part of the band that was influenced by hardcore punk and doesn't care about its reputation. Contrary to popular misconception, I also think Lulu is every bit as much, if not more, Metallica as it is Lou Reed. Anyway, I think it rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've Made Your Mind Up Already So May As Well Not Read, 16 Sep 2012
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
About ten years ago my girlfriend left me and "And your ******* depressing Lou Reed!" was one of her final messages.
In reference to me playing "Berlin" and "Songs For Drella" once too often. So in that context, it's a good job she wasn't around when I got into "Lulu"...
There clearly isn't going to be stadium shows of Lou Reed & Metallica playing this album. But I think it could sell out on smaller venues. It wouldn't be a phonebox. It's a pity people some people not on Amazon, are basing it on the Later... With Jools Holland performance of "Iced Honey" as the production on the album has it perfectly balanced that doesn't get lost in translation from a live television feed. You only have the golden rule of "No retakes, mistakes are perfect!" to thank for The View not having a re-recorded vocal.
I have met other people who like it. Most people either go quiet or say they've never heard Lulu, but I have met a few. They happen to be poets. If you've ever gone to an Open Floor/Mic and loved it then you can't hate Lulu as much as people who can't stand Open Floor/Mic nights seem to.
I'm going to buy the guitar tab book of this album. And five minutes into Junior Dad, I didn't want the album to end. And then it didn't.
Lulu is 5 stars for me. And if Lou and Metallica don't retire, then I hope their next album is full of rage, hurt and spite at the response to this album. I suppose I'd have to see the actual play.
The only way this album could be improved would be Lou and the band performing this album to an empty arena.
We are a minority, but history will show us we were right all along by giving Lulu five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 130 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Marriage Made In Hell, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
When Metallica announced a secret two-week recording project some months ago, I was intrigued. Death Magnetic had been a step in the right direction, even if it wasn't perfect (especially production-wise). It seemed like Metallica were getting back on track after the poorly-received St. Anger got a mauling from fans and critics. "So what is this new project?", I wondered. A collaboration with other members of the Big Four (following the recent touring)? A new covers collection (a la Garage Days and Garage, Inc)?

Nope. What was unveiled was an album with Lou Reed. "OK", I thought, "Maybe this will allow the band to explore their more experimental hard-rock side last seen on Load and Reload. If they went back to that style with Reed they may produce something thoughtful and interesting to listen to, then return to the metal on their next album". I was wrong.

I wasn't as surprised at the union as some, having remembered the performance Metallica had with Reed at the 25th Anniversary of the Rock N' Roll Hall of Fame. But I was still surprised, and like many, pretty underwhelmed. The YouTube parody video of Hitler from the movie Downfall receiving the news and getting worked up, pretty much sums it up.

As everyone probably knows by now, the project is a concept-album based on the works of German playwright Frank Wedekind, the story itself concerns a dancer-turned-prostitute named Lulu, hence the title. The lyrics and basic structure of the songs had already been prepared by Reed in basic form, and Metallica's job was basically to fill in the gaps with improvisation. This is where the trouble lies. Metallica have been brilliant song-writers in the past, and have crafted some of the most iconic and enduring thrash metal and hard rock songs of all time. Improvisation isn't so much their strong suit. And it really shows on Lulu.

The opener is Brandenburg Gate, which is the shortest track on the album, but this doesn't make it any less painful. It just sets the tone for much worse to come. Aimless strumming leads into distorted guitar and Lou Reed's cracked and off-key vocals, singing from the point of view of the heroine of the story. He begins with "I would cut my legs and tits of when I think of Boris Karloff, or Kinski". Then Hetfield comes in, his voice better than Reed's but still so many miles away from it's 80's/ early 90's best, screaming about a "small-town girl" over and over again like a deranged redneck.

Things get even worse with The View, which has a doomy, out-of tune guitar riff set to more atrocious, off-key lyrical garbage from Reed. He seems to talk his way through the songs, but his voice is completely at odds with Metallica's metal riffs. Hetfield continually shouts about the fact that he is "the table", which is both unintentionally hilarious and painful when recalling his past glories.

The least terrible songs on the album are probably Iced Honey, which sounds almost below-average, until Reed's mumblings come in to ruin it and send it down to the level of awful, and Little Dog, in which Metallica melt away a bit and let Lou Reed do his thing, which is more subtle but just mind-numbingly-tedious and boring.

The worst? Take your pick. Pumping Blood has some of the most incongruous metal riffs mixed with some of Lou Reed's worst lyrics. Frusttration made me laugh out loud at how pitiful his delivery was, sounding like a 104-year old. Mistress Dread features a riff which is nothing to write home about, but at least it's fast, right? You hope that it might lead to some good guitar work, but instead it drones on like a stadium full of vuvuzela horns for 7 minutes with no deviation. One of my picks for worst track of the album has to be the soul-crushing, ear-killing, brain-melting closer Junior Dad, which is 20 minutes long. I've listened to songs longer than that before and fully enjoyed them, but this song is so painfully dull and uninspired the Bush administration probably would have used it to torture terrorist suspects at Guantanamo Bay. Metallica said that they cried during the performance of this song. I almost did too, but out of sheer boredom.

The album is plodding, repetitive, painful and aggressively boring. It sounds as though the band brought in their worst demos of un-releasable material and set it to a crazy old homeless man's ramblings. Reed is the cause of a lot of ire among Metallica fans, but the band are just as to blame, maybe even more so, as one could argue that Reed is just "doing his usual thing". Reed fans know that he is way past his best, but some who could stand Metal Machine Music may be able to at least tolerate this. Metallica are inexcusably bad (and they no longer have the St. Anger "we were going through therapy" excuse). Kirk Hammett's contribution is seemingly absent, just as he seemed to be in St. Anger, with no lead guitar emerging from the sludgy, half-baked riffs. Lars' drumming is frequently out of time, and has all the subtlety of a sledgehammer on songs like Pumping Blood. Robert Trujillo (whom I pity) is buried in the mix, barely audible.

Lyrically the album is diabolical. The Halloween release date is appropriate with the horrors on display here. The so-called story has no coherence, as Reed attempts to shock with lyrics like: "Waggle my ass like a dark prostitute coagulating heart-pumping blood", and "I swallow your sharpest curdle like a coloured man's dick". Why did Metallica allow themselves to be part of something so cringe-worthy and just plain bad? Hetfield only has a a small amount of vocal time on the record, but he is woeful and embarrassing compared to his efforts on lyrical gems like "Master of Puppets", and "Harvester of Sorrow".

In conclusion, this is a failed experiment with flaws so huge, they dwarf even St. Anger's worst moments by some distance. If Metallica had chosen to make collaboration with say, Lemmy, or Tom Waits, or Nick Cave, it might have yielded something that was listenable. But this "effort" from these two disparate musical forces is boring, painful, hilariously awful and humiliating. Reed has been putting out avant-garde albums for a while now, so his reputation will receive little damage from the fallout of this mess of an album. What happens to Metallica is more concerning. Lars will no doubt castigate fans for "not getting it", but the reality is, this is not some fine-tuned piece of art that broad-minded people will understand and love, it is just a truly awful and painful album. I'm no musical Philistine, I enjoy lengthy and complex music from Opeth, Pink Floyd, Dream Theater and others, but this record practically made my ears bleed. Hopefully they will return in a year or two with a new full Metallica album with a good production, great guitar riffs and memorable hooks, and this unholy abomination will be forgotten. If they return with anything sub-par, they may find themselves losing even more fans. I bought this album out of loyalty and will continue to keep the faith, but not all will have my patience.

For dissapointed Metallica and metal/rock fans fans try these if you haven't already:

Megadeth - Th1rt3en

Anthrax - Worship Music

Machine Head - Unto The Locust [+Digital Booklet]

Opeth - Heritage

Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn Of Events
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
I was a huge Metallica fan in the mid-80s Ride the lightning/Master of puppets era. I did buy 'Justice' and 'Black' but had drifted away into other things by then, to be honest and didn't pay them that much attention. Haven't heard anything by them since.
This, though, is immense and deserves close attention.
Track 1 Brandenburg Gate got my immediate attention, from the first few urgently strummed acoustic chords and Reed's spoken lyrics, but the album gets much better from there on.
2. The View features an immensely heavy riff, reminiscent of early Black Sabbath to my ears. Surely this must satisfy any metal fan and the purchase price was worth it for this song alone?
3. Pumping Blood is a bit variable. A simple riff with a wonderful whining lead guitar and Lou Reed screaming all through it but doesn't seem to be going anywhere really. With a minute to go it suddenly explodes into classic early 80s thrash. Great.
4. Mistress Dread starts off with what can only be described as a manic, breathless, relentless, thrash assault. Lou is speaking something but quite honestly who cares? It just adds to the mix. Towards the end the riffing dies down then starts again several times. Quite superb.
5. Iced Honey starts off quite poorly - just a real dirge of a plodding riff. Doesn't really go anywhere. Fairly forgettable and arguably the worst track on the album.
5. Cheat On Me slows things down with a lovely quiet intro and Lou repeating 'Why do you cheat on me?' over the top. Gradually the piece picks up pace and volume and turns into a really classy, mature piece of hard rock. Excellent.
6. Frustration. Awesome. A massive riff that my speakers can barely handle. Just a really heavy song, again with obvious Black Sabbath influences. The song pauses at times for Reed to deliver some dark poetry and the tension is almost unbearable, like the band are straining to be let loose before reintroducing the riff again. Awesome.
7. Little Dog provides a nice contrast to the heaviness of Frustration with a picked and strummed acoustic guitar and that wonderful winding/ whining drone of lead guitar in the background again. Excellent.
9. Dragon. Another slightly off-kilter track (the droning lead appears again, which is great). After a while what I would describe as the classic Metallica sound features, with those almost squeeky-clean chugging guitar riffs that they used to have.
10. Junior Dad. For me the clear standout track on the album. Reed singing softly over a beautiful melody for the first 10-11 minutes followed by 8-9 minutes of ambient style strings reminiscent of early Anathaema to my ears. Music for driving through the mountains at dusk. Just achingly beautiful.

Overall, a really interesting collection of edgy songs. Interesting to note the polarity of views on this. People seem to either love it or hate it, with relatively few people who are indifferent and giving 2-3 stars. You simply cannot be indifferent to art. Great art should force you to actually make a decision, one way or the other.
Initially I gave this a five but changed it, the reason being that I felt I had to reserve that rating for the truly exceptional, I.e. the top 5 records I've heard in my life, but nevertheless probably the most exciting record I've heard in over a decade. I'll probably come back and change to to 5 again in a couple of months. I read other reviewers saying bin this and listen to 'Master' again. But we can't simply play old stuff over and over again.
Metallica's best album anyone? To me this sounds like a band at or close to the peak of their powers, just relaxed and enjoying themselves. Reed's rich voice just blends in perfectly. I can't help feeling that 20 years from now critics will return to this and start writing how it was a classic and much underrated release.
Simply magnificent..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i am the table, i am 69 years old & this is Rock & Roll, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
i guess most of the negative reviews that you can try to read over here must come from metalica fans.
First of all, i am a lou fan. & i have to admit that i have never heard a complete metalica song, though i have met some of their fans.
& that has been enough. some years ago they were queen fans, then they were ac/dc fans, then they were rem fans, now most are iphone fans....
isn't that funny? ha ha ha...
when i first heard this double vinyl, i didn't really get to understand it, or even really like it.
(maybe the metalica fans had something to do)
but, now that i've grown up; i gotta admit that this album is essential, totally...
just sit down, relax & simply enjoy it. it'll grown on you, slowly, very slowly, but firmly....
it's amazing how lou totally sick & about 69 years old can still place a stick where it fits.
it's great how many people hate this record, just like another life circle...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This needs to be LISTENED to, 19 Nov 2012
By 
Robert Phillips "Rob" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
To add to a previous review... Personally I do think that Tracey Emin's unmade bed "is not art" - but then that is just my taste and I can appreciate that it may reach others in a more meaningful way. However, as a different example, I love Francis Bacon's work and to me Lulu is a lot more like his warped and thought provoking images than a (in my humble opinion) pointless messy bed.

The unmade bed leaves me untouched and bored, Francis Bacon's works are jarring and unpleasant at first sight but then get intriguing (although still unpleasant) with closer consideration and at times scare the **** out of me if I spend too much time looking at them. Lulu has that same effect, if you can get past the initial jarring qualities (and can forgive some of the eye-wateringly strange genital-based lyrics) this album is full of fascinating images and emotions.

It is NOT an album for listening to in the car on the way to work or on your iPod while out running or at the gym. It needs and deserves dedicated time with no distractions. It's worth the time and effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lou rants and Metallica metals, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lulu (Audio CD)
Package arrived in tact and undamaged on the first date of the estimate arrivals range. the Album has a beautiful cover photos and has been excellently laid out. Musically I don't think this is one of Lou's better efforts. New Sensation, Magic, Set the Twilight Reeling and Esctacy are by far better works. Even the Raven project has more to commend it. Although there aren't many actual songs on that, the spoken parts are spine chillingly gripping. Lulu on the other hand seems to be just Lou talking over improvised metal, which is not that exciting. Having received a number of cd's through the post that week I probably haven't give it the attention it deserves. However at the very nice price It will sit very comfortably in my Lou Reed collection and, like Metal Machine Music, will get an irregular playing once in a while....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

Lulu
Lulu by Metallica (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews