Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Ballroom
This perceptive and well-executed film still after nearly 15 years since its release comes over as one of the most original films I've ever watched. The storyline is nothing more than a re-working of a classic fairy tale of handsome princes and ugly frogs (or dance partners) and yet the magical retelling make this film the success it is.

Scott Hastings is the...
Published on 23 April 2006 by Rich Milligan

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother
This so called HD version is no better quality than the original SD disc. If you already have it on DVD don't bother to upgrade. If you are considering buying it then go for the SD version & save yourself 10. I have sent mine back.
Published on 2 July 2008 by K. M. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly brilliant, 4 Sep 2007
Packed full of Australian humor, and not taking its self seriously, this film will leave you side ache long after it has finished. Scott Hastings, (played by profesional dancer Pual Mercurio) wants to dance his own steps, after his partner walks out on him he enlists the help of beginer dancer Fran to help him realise his dream. Scott knows he must follow his dreams, but others are determind to see him fail, such as his rival dancer and compertision overser, Barry Fife. A great feel good movie, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Rom Com?, 14 May 2006
By 
Philip Knight "Phil Knight" (Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I believe that the storyline has its origins in work done by some Australian theatre students and some beautiful theatrical set pieces (think Moulin Rouge, on a smaller budget) suggest that this may well be the case. Add to the mix some stunning performances by complete unknowns (where are they now?); brilliant film editing; unabashed adherence to the romantic comedy book of rules; and a great sound track (worth buying for itself). This is one of the best feel good movies you'll ever see and all without the over the top saccharine sweetness that so often ruins less acomplished Hollywood romcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Ballroom, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally had a copy of this DVD which had come free in a newspaper years ago. I absolutely loved the film, the music and dancing is fantastic, great comedy acting from a superb Australian cast. The only drawback with my original DVD was picture & sound quality, I watched it through a red haze! I suppose it's what you expect from a free copy. I recently discovered it again when sorting through my cupboard of DVDs. Remembering how much I loved the film I decided to update it with a Blu-ray version. I was amazed how much difference it made, it was like watching the film for the first time. Well worth a watch. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated film, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks like a simple Australian musical, but quite a complicated storyline.
Fran's transformation is amazing.
Good music, and develops well.
A film you can watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Don't DO Ballroom...., 8 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With the recent upsurge in popularity in and broadcasting of all things Ballroom and dancing and stuff, it seems I'm the only one I know that can resist it - and quite easily, at that.

All that forced preening, pirouetting and showing off leaves me cold. Baz Lurhmann's debut film, Strictly Ballroom, however, at least actually gets me looking at the screen and not my toes.

Whilst not getting quite as enraptured by its sparkly magic as much as some folk - and many critics, it is the story and the very human one at that shines through. Everyone who has a single DNA in their bodies that gives them an ounce of heart and compassion will soon appreciate this modern fairytale.

Some of the styles are rather alarming, both in hair and fashion but that now adds to the film's charm and keeps the metabolism slightly uneven. Strangely, to me, it looks a little older than the 20 years that it is.

For the rest of the population who do enjoy "Strictly" and those other shows will undoubtedly lap this one up. Not only do you get the swirly moves but a beautiful story, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star, 2 July 2010
By 
The first movie from acclaimed Australian director Baz Luhrmann it as the same sort of feel as Moulin Rouge had to it and is brilliant fun.
Im not a massive fan of dancing films but you cant help but like the simple charms of this tale all he wants to do is dance his way and despite everyone trying to stop him finally gets to dance his steps at the finals.
A great end sequence that is right up there with the end of Dirty Dancing this film will fill you with a happy feeling and have you routing for them to win.
Despite some quirky bits at the beginining i will say stick with this film its great fun and a superb Baz Luhrmann film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly funny., 3 Oct 2009
If you like Muriel's Wedding you will love this film. I first saw this film sixteen years ago and have watched it countless times. I just love the characterisations of the dancers and the dance authorities with their petty politics and inflated self importance. Now I go to a dance school and see the world of dance from the inside the film is even funnier. It is such an clever parody of the dance studio culture. The timeless if cliched storyline of the plain girl falling in love and struggling against the odds to dance at a prestigious competition has that feel good factor. However it's the wry Australian humour that I love. Its just packed with little moments that you can easily miss with a single viewing like the way the heroine is squashed against the door window near the start. There is one stunning bit of cinematography. There is a fiesta going on in the yard of a slum and the camera pulls back showing a railroad and a freight train snakes past. It really captures the moment of this litile island of fun amidst the dingy urban landscape. That moment is worth watching the film for. The climax at the Panpacific championships is both hilarious and moving, setting the scene for a dramatic Pase Doble. This film made me laugh and gave me a passion to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for the eyes!!!!, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strictly Ballroom [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Although Baz Lurhmann is more famously renowned for Moulin Rounge it would be unfair to say that this was his only success!
Strictly Ballroom is full of colour and movement that would please any film-goer!
Although the plot seems slightly unoriginal it still brings a fresh and funny glimpse into the trials and tribulations of ballroom dancing.
I would certainly suggest this film to anyone who wanted a feel-good film with a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 2 July 2008
By 
K. M. Bailey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This so called HD version is no better quality than the original SD disc. If you already have it on DVD don't bother to upgrade. If you are considering buying it then go for the SD version & save yourself 10. I have sent mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the current under 10 pounds, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Brett R. Ray (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although not the greatest Hi Def transfer. I do believe the quality to be greater than the standard DVD.
The standard DVD does go blurry even if upscaled.
Coming from Australia, as of March 2009 this is the best source material available. Well worth the purchase price. Very happy viewing it.
We would get a better picture if there was a clean original negative scanned at 6K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strictly Ballroom [DVD] [1992]
Strictly Ballroom [DVD] [1992] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2011)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews