Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME INDEED
Again Jordi Savall has produced a disc beyond ones expectations. Indeed it was all that I would have hoped for and have looked for - that magical illusive sound of vocals and string orchestras that permeate the Western Euopean Conciousness and Sub Concious, often only maddening snatches are heard felltingly on film sound tracks. All sounds are freshly minted and it does...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Norman E. Harrington

versus
5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Authentic?
Is this really what Ottoman music sounded like, surely it sounds a bit too close to 20C film music, I suspect the composer/arranger of quite a bit is Signor Savall himself , well at least of the harmonies and orchestration with some good local colour added. Unfortunately there was no musical notation in the early 16th century in Turkey, so we dont actually know what this...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Tancredi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUBLIME INDEED, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
Again Jordi Savall has produced a disc beyond ones expectations. Indeed it was all that I would have hoped for and have looked for - that magical illusive sound of vocals and string orchestras that permeate the Western Euopean Conciousness and Sub Concious, often only maddening snatches are heard felltingly on film sound tracks. All sounds are freshly minted and it does not have the dusty creaky production values that some exponents of ancient ( said avdvisadly) music revel in to the detriment of their art.
I can offer no greater praise than those who are not familiar with this great artist and his wonderful collaborators could not have a better introduction to a very magical world

Istanbul: Dmitrie Cantemir: ""The Book of Science of Music"" and the Sephardic and Armenian Traditions
Jerusalem: City of two Peaces - Heavenly Peace and Earthly Peace (La Ville des deux Paix: La Paix celeste et la Paix terrestre)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mesmeric music, 2 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
Played on a high-quality SACD player this has a haunting quality that will repay listening to over and over again. Even the breathing of the woodwind player can be heard and the vocal colouring is exceptional. Very high-quality recording indeed, even when transferred to the iPhone. A revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
A beautiful album that does not disappoint. The choice of pieces, the arrangements, the playing, the interpretation, all superb. Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Authentic?, 9 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
Is this really what Ottoman music sounded like, surely it sounds a bit too close to 20C film music, I suspect the composer/arranger of quite a bit is Signor Savall himself , well at least of the harmonies and orchestration with some good local colour added. Unfortunately there was no musical notation in the early 16th century in Turkey, so we dont actually know what this music sounded like, but surely it was not like this easy listening

However if you have enjoyed similar concoctions from this source you will enjoy this rather similar product, with its coffee table book to match, but authentic , I suspect not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 28 Jan 2013
By 
D. W. Taylor (Widnes, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift for christmas I may be told about it or not. I might get some feedback you never know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God service, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: La Sublime Porte / The Sublime Gate: Voices of Istanbul (Audio CD)
the product arrived on time, and, as stated, it was brand new. No complaints whatsoever. This was an excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews