Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage to Iberia, 24 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
After the events of the Arab Spring, commentators were quick to point out the very different worlds, separated by narrow waters, between North Africa and Southern Europe. Even forgiving the flaws of such a stark comparison, such circumstances make all the important and welcome this wonderful latest offering from the Morrocan-born Amina Alaoui.

Assisted by musicians from Tunisia, Barcelona and Brazil via Portugal on violin, oud, flamenco guitar and mandolin respectively as well as her own son on percussion, Alaoui has created a timely yet timeless tribute to the various musical influences of the Iberian peninsula. To this extent at least "Arco Iris" comes from the same tradition of fellow ECM artist Savina Yannatou's group Primevera en Salonico amongst others.

Lest there be any doubt, "Arco Iris" is beautifully recorded and exquisitely packaged with informative yet mood-enhancing liner notes from Alaoui herself.

"Fado Al-Mu'tamid" is a self-descriptive fado arrangement of the words of the eleventh century Al-Mu-tamid Ibn Abbad (a one-time ruler of the Taifa of Seville). "Yo laylo layl" is a fantastically sensual and evocative working of on a poem by another Moorish poet of the time, Ibn Zaydun de Cordoba. Not to be outdone, the last two compositions feature the words of Alaoui herself. Of those two, while Que Fare is excellent, the concluding title song "Arco Iris" (which means Rainbow") is, for me, the highlight of the entire recording as Alaoui sings wistfully (in Spanish) of the "Bride of rain for a moment/Or the cloud angel's bow".

The lack of appreciation for "Arco Iris" is tragic as, without wishing to pigeonhole her, Alaoui deserves to receive the acclaim and popularity of Fado's leading light, Mariza as one will struggle in world and jazz circles to find someone fashioning a finer body of work than Aloui to whom I give the last word "What do we have left without love, without nuances, without a rainbow?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you undecided about buying this CD?, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Harry F. Korbl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
Are the 20 second Amazon snippets too short to make a decision?

Type into a YouTube search "amina alaoui arco iris" and you will find 4 complete tracks from this lovely album.

Arco Iris
Oh Andaluces
Fado Al-Mu'tamid
Flor de nieve

After listening to these, I decided to place my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truelly Magnificent Album, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
If you like Fado, Andulucian, Flamenco and Morisco music beautifully sung and performed this cd is a must. The old and new song are seemlessly placed together in this hauntingly wonderful cd. Why aren't this these artists beter known.? I can only presume that our junk radio stations are afraid to play interesting and complex music. Many of these songs are evocative of a Spain that is rarely seen or heard. The searing, controlled passion in these songs is truelly manificent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
If you haven't listened to Amina Alaoui, a treat is in store. You don't have to like Moroccan/Spanish/Flamenco music to appreciate her magnificent voice and phrasing. Highly recommended to all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmeric, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Moorie (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
Most brilliant CD for these autumn days... staring out of the window and hearing the subdued melancholy of her voice; the music of horizons never to be reached. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (MP3 Download)
Beautiful album, stunning.

What more can I say to use up more words when they are not needed?, oh there done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arco iris music, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
what a wonderful feast of mediterranean arab andalus songs and music, both gentle and uplifting. amina alaoui has a crystalline purity to her voice which never demands too much attention, fitting in perfectly with her superb musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
An album that will allow your mind to be transported into foreign lands. I have not stopped playing it, I will be buying her other album on the strength of this one. 5 star music superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully relaxing, 10 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
The more I play this the more I like it. Particularly evocative background music using flamenco guitar, mandolin, violin and other instruments I'm not familiar with. If I meditated, this is the sort of sound I'd probably meditate to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Arco Iris (Audio CD)
All ther playing here is as fine as the singing and it is beautifully produced. A genius of a recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arco Iris
Arco Iris by Amina Alaoui
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews