Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars the academy
good book abesolutley amazing storyline some flaws but brilliant and so funny it had me in fits on the floor
Published 20 months ago by benjamin lally

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright
It is a good plot but could do without all the character changes and a few punctuation mistakes and spelling.
Published 20 months ago by Will Castle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It is a good plot but could do without all the character changes and a few punctuation mistakes and spelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the academy, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
good book abesolutley amazing storyline some flaws but brilliant and so funny it had me in fits on the floor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wel worth a try, 3 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
this book contains everything from cartels to pyromancy. all of which is wound up so tight in mystery that mr holmes himself would cry (with joy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feels incomplete, 15 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am pleased to see another reviewer give this book 3 stars, it's a good read, but there are gaps and mistakes in it.

Cons

Grammar - lots of missing words, duplication of words, incorrect adjectives and incorrect sentence structure.

Compared to some of the kindle books though this is not bad and is still readable.

Plot - As I am reading the book I find that ideas are incomplete or plot twists are carried on by two different characters, this is a common problem with writers as they do not develop independent characters to explain the plot.

Incomplete - the story itself seems incomplete, there are areas that need additional detail, the reader is often left hanging or there are quite a few logic leaps, the main story seems to get lost somewhere.

Conclusion

Despite all the cons it was an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good long enjoyable read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Academy is an extremely intriguing story.

In my opinion although this is set in a school type environment this does not read like a typical 'Young Adult' book. It is violent, complicated and long with adult language and themes.

The book is based around Central, which includes a supernatural college or university type campus that literally is out of this world. The characters, students and teachers alike are often quite dark, lots of manipulation and secrets. When the book is not focused on Central it is based around shadowy supernatural operatives on various assignments.

Alex, the main character has hidden secrets which are even unknown to him. Whilst he is powerful he is an innocent in many ways. He also comes across as a bit boorish and a little dim. Other characters are far more compelling, and far more damaged, especially Mitsuru and Alice Gallow .

The main plot seems to be based on the manipulation of events to bring Alex to a certain choice or frame of mind.

I found this book captivating. The storytelling is engaging often jumping from one point to the next leaving the reader to fill in the gaps slowly. The world building is some of the best I have read, although at times during combat I felt the urge to shout "There is no spoon!"

The conclusion is a little weaker with very little being resolved. Some of those plot points are resolved later in the series but the ending of The Academy still feels somewhat anti-climatic.

Overall, this is an enthralling tale and very cheap at less than a pound. I look forward to reading the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad language, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought that this book was very bad language. It doesn't deserve to be written for young adult it is more of an adult book.

I thought that the book wasn't for my liking. I am glad that it was cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Academy (The Central Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book exceptionally boring. It dragged out, there didn't appear to be a proper plot, and I found it very difficult to connect with the main character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Academy (The Central Series Book 1)
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews