Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This board game is ridiculously good!
This game is surprisingly, ridiculously good! I got it as a gift for my birthday and it's clever, well-thought-out and an absolute joy to play. I normally avoid board games based on stuff, worried that they're cheap cash-ins. This has been damn good fun!

The basic mechanics are that each player attempts to control the city by playing one or more card (of...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Teapot Brigand

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok
I bought it as a present for my boyfriend, as we are both fans of Terry Pratchett.
The gameplay is unrelated to the book.
Box is very solid and game board and cards are very nicely done!

It wasn't my thing but I am sure many people would enjoy it!
Published 21 months ago by Kesse


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This board game is ridiculously good!, 22 Sep 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
This game is surprisingly, ridiculously good! I got it as a gift for my birthday and it's clever, well-thought-out and an absolute joy to play. I normally avoid board games based on stuff, worried that they're cheap cash-ins. This has been damn good fun!

The basic mechanics are that each player attempts to control the city by playing one or more card (of 100-200?) a turn, most cards allowing you to chuck down a minion to contest an area or purchase a building in an area you control. You start with 5 cards and restock to 5 at the end of your turn. It's remarkably subtle and difficult to control an area, requiring cash, no trouble and minions, so planning ahead while trying not to tip off your mates gets pretty conflicted. Each area adds in different bonus rules, maybe tipping off your eventual plan. Add in that everyone has a random personality with secret winning conditions (control the city, keep the peace, ruin the peace, make loads of money, own the city) and you end up trying to mind-game your poor friends.

It fits damn well in the Pratchett universe, as every card is different (seriously; I spent a good 10-20 minutes just looking at the damn things!)

The one bad thing about the game is the playing pieces. Though the board is spectacular and the cards are damn pretty, the pieces are just painted wood chips. It keeps things nice and easy to see, though, as trying to keep track of who's controlling the city can get difficult!

Basically, it's a reasonably mechanically simple game at the core, but if your friends are remotely sneaky, it becomes absurdly devious. Outsmarting each other is absurdly good fun and the wonderfulness of the cards makes it damned awesome to play. Get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Strategic, Beautiful and Fun, 2 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
My family (which includes one very big Terry Pratchett fan) received this as a gift for Christmas, and we've been completely bowled over by it! Initially, I must say that my expectations were low. Board game adaptations from other media (the Discworld books in this case) are rarely any good; they just cash in on the brand and have nothing innovative to offer. But we've played it every single day since Christmas, and we're getting very competitive now ...

Look and Feel: upon opening up the set, the Ankh Morpork game cleared the first hurdle of any board game - it looks absolutely gorgeous. The key components, namely the board and playing cards, all feature classic Discworld illustrations including those by Paul Kidby. Nothing is repeated, so there are literally dozens of beautifully-drawn cards to admire as the game progresses. The other playing pieces are all made out of wood, and they feel great and fit into the overall design well.

The Discworld Universe: although you do not need to be familiar with Discworld to understand and enjoy this game, fans of Pratchett's creation will be beside themselves as all their favourite characters - major or minor - make an appearance. History Monks - yes. Ridcully - check. Vimes - but of course. Death - Hello! The mad and bad city of Ankh Morpork is brilliantly brought to life by making each district have its own unique character and influence upon the game. Best of all, each of these elements is integrated with the gameplay in a way that is completely consistent with their characters; for example, playing the History Monks card will allow you to pick up cards from "the past", i.e. the discard pile.

Gameplay: its fair to say that the initial rules and objectives of Ankh Morpork are not immediately intuitive, and you will need a game or two to get the hang of it. The gameplay is a strategy card game combined with territorial conquest. Basically, you use the powers described on the cards in your hand to gain control of various aspects of the board, with the aim of fulfilling your secret objective. Happily, this becomes a very strategic endeavour, and you really have to out-think your opponents to stop them from fulfilling their objectives (if you can figure out what they are) and succeeding in your own. Random events (caused by the magic-using characters) and the occasional stupid ability can throw all your best-laid plans to waste. Like all the best board games, things get really crazy towards the end-stages, when the stakes get frantically high and any player could be within a turn of winning.

In summary: Ankh Morpork is a great independent board game, and is a wonderful addition to the Discworld universe. Its funny, fun to play, has good strategic depth and strong re-playability, and is beautiful to look at. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 10 Oct 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
This game is great fun, and remains great fun having now played it many times with various groups of people.
The game is complex enough to allow attempts at strategy and to have excellent replay value but has enough randomness to be a good laugh and be engaging without being too serious. The best thing about this game is its accessibility. The rules seem complex on an initial read through but they are really easy to follow within a couple of rounds of actually playing. Best yet, many of the games I've played were won by someone who had never played before.
There is no requirement to know anything about Discworld to enjoy this game but the carefully-thought-out use of all the characters is an added bonus to any fan of the book series.
In short then, this is a surprisingly clever and entertaining game. It allows for some brilliant moments of pure genius and/or hilarious misfortune and I've yet to have an unenjoyable game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining - but go for the collectors' edition if you can afford it, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
We're thoroughly enjoying this game - worth playing many times. You don't need to be a Pratchett fan to enjoy the game, either. But if you can afford the collector's edition, it's worth paying a bit more for wooden coins, larger map, free poster - and cards and die without the number between 7 and 9!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 4 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
The game is perfect! I bought it for my friend to complete his Discworld collection. He already has got Thud and Guards! Guards! Unfortunately you can only play Thud with two players and Guards! Guards! is fun but a little bit... Well, it lacks something, some thrill factor.

But this game is wonderful! It has got everything! Tactics, luck, variation, speed. Easy to learn, hard to master. And it's also fun with two players (and that's rare with most multiplayer boardgames) It's the perfect game and it just so happens to have a brilliant theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complicated but great game, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
I bought it for my daughter's 9th birthday. It took a while to read and understand the complex rules, but once we worked it out, it was immense fun to play, for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best board games ever, 19 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
This game is so much fun whether you're a discworld fan or not. The concept of the game is quite unusual and is based largely on playing different types of cards. To start with the game can seem rather chaotic. If you've read the Anh Morpork discworld books, you'll know this is just how life appears to be there. However, over time you get to bring strategy into play. For us the game takes around an hour to play, although alot will depend on the winning conditions each player gets and these are drawn at random at the start of the game. Some of the winning conditions will take longer to complete & if all players are unlucky enough to get the tough ones I image the game could continue for quite some time. It's not a particularly educational game, but it is absolutely brilliant fun. A must if you are a board game fan looking for something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Discworld board game, 28 Dec 2011
By 
L. P. Woodley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
Nice to have a simple but challenging board game fro christmas, we had lots of fun with this. Even those who did not read the books caught on quickly. this will get played again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those who haven't read the books too!, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
Great fun game! We were missing one piece, the company shipped it over from New Zealand, no questions asked, with an apology, played it a few times, my other half is a fan of the books and laughs at the characters, spot on apparently, I haven't read them, still enjoy the game, the background and the concept!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 15 Aug 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game (Toy)
I found this game to have very little influence from the Discworld books, but where Terry Pratchett's influence does appear, it does so wonderfully! The artwork is especially wonderful on the cards. I've only played two player so far, but the game plays very differently each game because of the variant win conditions.

Similar to a game like Fluxx, in Discworld Ankh-Morpork you draw a card and play a card every turn. It's pretty easy to learn, but it does require a bit of room to keep your pieces (less than Munchkin, but more than Catan).

We are in love with this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry Pratchett Ankh Morpork Discworld Board Game
£27.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews