Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
I spent a good few (tiring) hours trying to make a choice on a cheap mp3 player. Every one I homed in on seemed to have some plus sides and some down sides according to reviews. Having decided that maybe it was worth just taking a gamble and going for one of the unbranded Chinese ones (I mean, obviously, they're all Chinese!), I found one of these at the right price...
Published 6 months ago by looking-deeper

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor software lets it down!
This player was the ultimate disappointment, (having the 2GB version of this player) and I would actually call it UNFIT FOR PURPOSE!
In a nutshell the "played last" function just does not work, whatever you try. It always points to the same track at 00:00 (probably the first song that you ever played). This is extremely irritating when you for instance listen to an...
Published 14 months ago by LAKWUKTOL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
I spent a good few (tiring) hours trying to make a choice on a cheap mp3 player. Every one I homed in on seemed to have some plus sides and some down sides according to reviews. Having decided that maybe it was worth just taking a gamble and going for one of the unbranded Chinese ones (I mean, obviously, they're all Chinese!), I found one of these at the right price.
I'd already read reviews but they'd said the menus weren't good and the volume was a bit low so had given up on it. Anyway, I can now say that having bought one and tried it out, I have nothing but praise for this big usb stick!
I'm sure an iPod can make you a coffee in the morning but this player can do most of the other stuff you really need!
The screen is very clear and easy to navigate, it's easy to drag and drop files/folders and the buttons are easy to use even with large fingers. Perhaps most importantly, the sound quality is brill! I have learnt however that it REALLY matters what phones you have plugged in. My JVC Riptides produce copius amounts of full, rich-bass sound on as little as 10 (out of 30). However through my old Ross headphones I have to double that to 20! - The same is true of the buds that come with the player. If you put your fingers over the buds you get a nice rich sound but otherwise you lose a bit of volume and a good portion of bass.
How can so little a thing deliver so much? Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good player but poor instructions, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
Bought this at Christmas for my daughter. She is delighted with it. She also bought some cheap headphones (6.99 ALBA ones from a certain catalogue shop) and these compliment the MP3 player perfectly.

The downside to the player is that the instructions could be better. Getting music onto the player is as straightforward as dragging and dropping from file manager. However, there should be a way of storing the music by album - I still haven't worked out how to do this. There is a way of storing albums in individual folders instead which is almost as good.

It may be obvious from the name that this is an MP3 player so, if like me you have stored your music as MP4s, you'll have to copy them onto disc again.

Overall, a good player. I recommend it.

EDIT

I have now worked out how to store music by album or artist - see one of the comments for further details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mp3 player, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
excellent value for money and recommend seller to my friends and family. easy to use and would buy another if i had the chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice sound and tough, 9 Dec 2012
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
Got fed up with damaging expensive MP3 players and bought this on a whim as priced at 29.99 seemed good value. I have had this item for 12 months, it has been dropped, stood on and generally abused and still works perfectly, even the headphones lasted 6 months! Maybe i got lucky. Apart from its toughness i find the sound rather good, its easy to use and the battery lasts well. The only odd thing is if you have an album with contributing artists it tends to play only the songs from one artist and not the whole album even though it lists it as it should be, but maybe i am doing something wrong? I would recommend this Mp3 if you want something tough, and if you do break it at least it only cost 30 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little MP3 player, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
I bought this product to use for training. Fitness tests downloaded and it's perfect, lightweight and convenient. You nearly forget it's in your pocket. Good quality sound also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
So far the person I bought this MP3 for is getting much use out of it and is really happy with it. The headphones received with it are also good quality. The one I received has a display screen in japanese which I have not yet figured how to change but its not hard at all to work out whats what and all the song titles and playlists are in english so no problems there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Philips should be ashamed!, 16 Nov 2013
By 
J. P. Wattam "jpwuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
Stupidly bought as cheap alternative to an iPod. I can't believe this is listed here at the same price as a new 4Gb shuffle! Trust me, you'll be a lot happier checking the abundance of 2nd and 3rd generation iPod nanos on ebay for around the same price.

First problem with this device: doesn't remember where you were, so you can't stop and start at will. Once the device is switched off, the best it can do is remember what album you were last playing.

Second problem is file compatibility. It only accepts mp3, and not the new m4a format used by iTunes. So you'll spend some time converting m4a to mp3, which fortunately is easy with iTunes although you'll end up duplicating in your library and on your hard disk. If you don't download from iTunes then this won't be a problem for you - just make sure you're ripping CDs as mp3.

Third problem is ID3 tags. These tell the player song title, artist etc. But the device only uses v1 tags. You probably won't know what version tags are on your music so it's a matter of seeing what happens when you load it to this device. You'll then need to download an app (free, fortunately) to change relevant tags to v1 of ID3. When I did this, I lost album art in iTunes although that might have been something I did wrong because of all the trial and error.

Fourthly, even after fixing tags as above, the player couldn't properly recognise the tags, at which point I gave up.

The technical issues are really surprising for a manufacturer like Philips. The device itself is physically quite attractive, the controls are easy to master, and the sound seems fine. Now using it as a rather expensive USB drive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor software lets it down!, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
This player was the ultimate disappointment, (having the 2GB version of this player) and I would actually call it UNFIT FOR PURPOSE!
In a nutshell the "played last" function just does not work, whatever you try. It always points to the same track at 00:00 (probably the first song that you ever played). This is extremely irritating when you for instance listen to an audio book with long chapters and it will NOT remember where you stopped/paused, nor what artist, track, time stopped. In "folder view" it will at least point you to the right album that you last used. But that is about it. The included PC software that communicates with Philips HQ bombards you with SW updates that turn out to be the same you already have and none of these updates have yet fixed this SERIOUS deficiency! Long live Zen Nano Plus! What effort to program a GUI and not add a simple feature that would take someone 20 minutes or less to program!
Otherwise it plays music well, sound good, battery good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars SA3MXX04 MP3 player, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
Did some research before purchase based on positive reviews so had high hopes for this as a gift for a 10year old. Spent about 4 hours transferring a load of MP3s onto it and worked perfectly for a couple of days. Good sound quality, reasonable battery life and easy to use menus.

Unfortunately the next morning the player was just showing a blank backlit screen. Tried reset button, no effect; downloaded the Philips device manager utility and followed instructions on the Philips website to recover/repair the player but every time I tried it would not detect correctly via USB. Googling revealed many users having similar probs, akthough most were able to resolve it using the Philips utility. Even tried another suggestion which was to leave until the battery was completely empty nd then try again but still no luck. It will have to go back for a refund and I will be buying the Sansa Clip+ instead which was the original choice until Amazon failed to deliver in time for Christmas holiday....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only Lasted 3 Months, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: SA3MXX04KA GoGEAR MP3 Player with Direct USB, FullSound & 4GB Memory (Electronics)
I received this as an xmas gift. It seemed like a good enough player and have been using it in the car. After 3 months of light use it died. Have tried to reset it but cannot revive it.

You may be lucky and have a little more success than I did, but sadly these days we seem to have to accept buying products that just don't last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews