Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Some Girls album, you'll like the Blu more
I've got mixed feelings about the Some Girls material from the album but generally like it and was curious enough to buy the Blu-ray. If you like the album, I believe you'll really like the Blu-ray concert. The band was tight, Mick's vocals were especially strong in my opinion and the performance was very spirited and enjoyable to watch. There was a lot of passion put...
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by Richard Nelson

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different band on their new material
It never ceases to amaze me how variable the Stones can be within a single set. On parts of this, they really are firing on all cylinders, elsewhere it's little short of embarrassing.

I think it's fair to say that the lows are more obvious on the video than on the cd, which I would venture to suggest is a different (and superior) mix. As far as the video...
Published on 18 Feb. 2012 by freewheeling frankie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like the Some Girls album, you'll like the Blu more, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Some Girls - Live In Texas '78 [Blu-ray] [2011] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
I've got mixed feelings about the Some Girls material from the album but generally like it and was curious enough to buy the Blu-ray. If you like the album, I believe you'll really like the Blu-ray concert. The band was tight, Mick's vocals were especially strong in my opinion and the performance was very spirited and enjoyable to watch. There was a lot of passion put into the Some Girls material and was played very well. I enjoyed the Some Girls material on the Blu-ray even more than the studio album. The audio was clear and you could hear all the guitars even when Mick was playing. The video is more than serviceable. A little grainy? Sure, but so what. It was 1978.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different band on their new material, 18 Feb. 2012
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It never ceases to amaze me how variable the Stones can be within a single set. On parts of this, they really are firing on all cylinders, elsewhere it's little short of embarrassing.

I think it's fair to say that the lows are more obvious on the video than on the cd, which I would venture to suggest is a different (and superior) mix. As far as the video quality goes, it's perfectly Respectable, though to a degree the whole experience is somewhat diminished by Jagger's ill-fitting and far too revealing legwear. However, once he gets warmed up (takes a couple of songs, he initially sings very flat) Jagger is in fine and very hard working vocal form throughout. Keith, especially on the video, seems to be mixed way higher than Ronnie, which is unfortunate as at times his playing is far from inspired - e.g. compare the version of Let It Rock here with the one available on Rarities 1971 - 2003 recorded in Leeds in March 1971. No contest. Several of Keith's solos sound alarmingly cack-handed - he was clearly having an off night because there's plenty of evidence of him playing far better on later recordings.

But what's really interesting about this performance is how they turn into a different and far better band when they start playing their new album. They play 7 of the 10 songs from Some Girls in a block in the middle of the set, and frankly apart from slight problems getting any sound out of Ronnie's steel guitar on Far Away Eyes (which also features the rare sight of Mick Jagger playing piano, plus a guest spot from local boy Doug Kershaw on fiddle) they're all excellent. Just check out Jagger's vocal on Shattered, where his rhythmic dexterity is stunning. So it's depressing to report that most of the rest of this gig is pretty so-so. While I'm definitely among those who think Some Girls is their last really good album, a quick comparison of this recording to a good performance by the Mick Taylor line-up shows how much they had already declined - check out the Belgian Affair download from stonesarchive.com if you want to hear a top quality Stones live album. To my ears, they long seem to have found it hard to give their all on songs they've played many times - one of the reasons, probably, that for the last 2 or 3 decades they've always exhumed some less-played old songs when they tour, and they always sound better than the old warhorses like Brown Sugar or this gig's woefully over-extended Jumping Jack Flash.

So if you're a big fan of Some Girls and want to hear/see some live versions that leave many of the studio versions standing, this is a worthwhile buy. Apart from that it's a bit frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb performance from the Stones, 6 Oct. 2011
It seems the Stones are agreeing to document in High Def,all major filmed landmark gigs of their amazing career. I suspect this is not just for the money (and yet how their cash must roll in!) No..They are now at a late career stage where there is a need to ensure their posterity is preserved. The Stones have nothing after all like the Beatles definitive anthology.The 25x5 documentary twenty five years ago is only half their career to date!!!! I ramble....

This is a great concert.Saw it in Vue cinema, Hull on Oct 4th 2011. Apart from the great performance musically, you get most of the "Some girls" album live onstage. Shattered, Beast of burden and especially,When the whip comes down are all first rate.

Pity it wasnt filmed in 35 mm as these 16mm films, even when cleaned up to HD still have a "misty" look comparitively. However, it is of its time and we must savour it. On the cinema showing, I was amazed at how well Bill Wymans bass was put at the front of the soundmix. Thank you Mr Clearmountain, you have shown how fundamental his basslines were to the Stones.

Enjoy this gig folks and I hope the blu ray is as good as the cinema release. Roll on further filmed gigs in Blu ray. Lets have Paris 76, Hampton Roads 81 and maybe Marquee London 71 if this could scrub up well enough from the old LTV tapes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 6 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. P. A. Evans (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great dvd of a great band in their late prime, quality visual
and audio. Mick, Keef and the rest of the band were blinding.
Well worth buying and as usual good service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, Great sound., 16 Jan. 2012
This is a great Rolling Stones concert from the late 1970s. The band is really together and the hits are played with a lot of enthusiasm and power.
The sound is superb on this DVD, Micks vocals bounce from the rear speakers and really makes this sound mix work brilliantly.
The extras are also very entertaining with Mick obviously enjoying remenicing his past in a great interview.
Well put together and well worth getting, can't wait for what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones on fire, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Some Girls - Live In Texas '78 [Blu-ray] [2011] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
If you are a Stones fan like me then this is a must. If you are not a Stones fan this is a must see to understand why the rest of us are. The period between 1969 and 1978 saw the Stones at their very best live whether with Mick Taylor or Ronnie Wood. In this DVD they are still raw, decadent, arrogant, living the real rock and roll lifestyle yet delivering their best performances musically, Keef is great, how did he do it all?. Since then they have become "respectable", established, knighted, more polished, professional, clean, sober (most of them)and very rich yet still the worlds greatest rock and roll band. This DVD captures them at the height and towards the end of the period they truly earned the title and had the world at their feet. I've been to many of their gigs around the world but would love to have been at this one, now I can and for much less than the cost of a ticket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 21 Mar. 2013
For me this period of the Stones career was actually their best. Some Girls was always my favorite album and Miss You my favorite track. This show from Texas in 1978 really is one of their finest gigs ever with Mick coming across as camp as he ever was and almost giving Ronnie full sex on the stage - something he could never get away with when Keith was his sole plaything.
OK I know the snobs will say that the Mick Taylor years were better and that the Stones music between 66 & 73 was their best, but we don't all agree and when I hear songs as good as these and see a performance as electric I have to bow to my own feelings instead of running with the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Girls - DVD, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is great fun. It is a concert given in Fort Worth in Dallas. It features content from Some Girls along with live standards like Honky Tonk Women, Tumbling Dice, Brown Sugar and Jumping Jack Flash. The concert is not in a stadium but a theatre and the band perform without backing singers and big production support. I use music videos to make exercise more entertaining and this DVD is ideal for bouncing around and keeping going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Please - more of these vintage concerts on DVD, 14 Feb. 2012
Watched this last night and very much enjoyed. A truly great Stones show with Mick and Rionnie prancing about playfully a la Bowie and Ronno in 1973 at Hammersmith. Can't remember Mick ever giving Keith the flailing tongue - he'd have probably sliced it off.

The Mick 2011 interview on the extra does suggest the old fellah is losing a few marbles however, not the sharp knife he used to be that's for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Same , same , same...., 24 Oct. 2014
By 
F.H (Brussels , Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a stone fan so I got it...But still Wonder , why so many concerts on Dvd by the stones...I canna tell the difference from one to another , same songs , same versions, same poses...It's only rock and roll but I like it...Ok, but it cost a lot of money to have the same thing over and over again...If they had more rehearsals or bits filmed in a studio, it would bring something new but here....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Girls - Live In Texas '78 [Blu-ray] [2011] [NTSC]
£12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews