Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 9 December 2011
I've got mixed feelings about the Some Girls material from the album but generally like it and was curious enough to buy the Blu-ray. If you like the album, I believe you'll really like the Blu-ray concert. The band was tight, Mick's vocals were especially strong in my opinion and the performance was very spirited and enjoyable to watch. There was a lot of passion put into the Some Girls material and was played very well. I enjoyed the Some Girls material on the Blu-ray even more than the studio album. The audio was clear and you could hear all the guitars even when Mick was playing. The video is more than serviceable. A little grainy? Sure, but so what. It was 1978.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2011
It seems the Stones are agreeing to document in High Def,all major filmed landmark gigs of their amazing career. I suspect this is not just for the money (and yet how their cash must roll in!) No..They are now at a late career stage where there is a need to ensure their posterity is preserved. The Stones have nothing after all like the Beatles definitive anthology.The 25x5 documentary twenty five years ago is only half their career to date!!!! I ramble....

This is a great concert.Saw it in Vue cinema, Hull on Oct 4th 2011. Apart from the great performance musically, you get most of the "Some girls" album live onstage. Shattered, Beast of burden and especially,When the whip comes down are all first rate.

Pity it wasnt filmed in 35 mm as these 16mm films, even when cleaned up to HD still have a "misty" look comparitively. However, it is of its time and we must savour it. On the cinema showing, I was amazed at how well Bill Wymans bass was put at the front of the soundmix. Thank you Mr Clearmountain, you have shown how fundamental his basslines were to the Stones.

Enjoy this gig folks and I hope the blu ray is as good as the cinema release. Roll on further filmed gigs in Blu ray. Lets have Paris 76, Hampton Roads 81 and maybe Marquee London 71 if this could scrub up well enough from the old LTV tapes
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
It never ceases to amaze me how variable the Stones can be within a single set. On parts of this, they really are firing on all cylinders, elsewhere it's little short of embarrassing.

I think it's fair to say that the lows are more obvious on the video than on the cd, which I would venture to suggest is a different (and superior) mix. As far as the video quality goes, it's perfectly Respectable, though to a degree the whole experience is somewhat diminished by Jagger's ill-fitting and far too revealing legwear. However, once he gets warmed up (takes a couple of songs, he initially sings very flat) Jagger is in fine and very hard working vocal form throughout. Keith, especially on the video, seems to be mixed way higher than Ronnie, which is unfortunate as at times his playing is far from inspired - e.g. compare the version of Let It Rock here with the one available on Rarities 1971 - 2003 recorded in Leeds in March 1971. No contest. Several of Keith's solos sound alarmingly cack-handed - he was clearly having an off night because there's plenty of evidence of him playing far better on later recordings.

But what's really interesting about this performance is how they turn into a different and far better band when they start playing their new album. They play 7 of the 10 songs from Some Girls in a block in the middle of the set, and frankly apart from slight problems getting any sound out of Ronnie's steel guitar on Far Away Eyes (which also features the rare sight of Mick Jagger playing piano, plus a guest spot from local boy Doug Kershaw on fiddle) they're all excellent. Just check out Jagger's vocal on Shattered, where his rhythmic dexterity is stunning. So it's depressing to report that most of the rest of this gig is pretty so-so. While I'm definitely among those who think Some Girls is their last really good album, a quick comparison of this recording to a good performance by the Mick Taylor line-up shows how much they had already declined - check out the Belgian Affair download from if you want to hear a top quality Stones live album. To my ears, they long seem to have found it hard to give their all on songs they've played many times - one of the reasons, probably, that for the last 2 or 3 decades they've always exhumed some less-played old songs when they tour, and they always sound better than the old warhorses like Brown Sugar or this gig's woefully over-extended Jumping Jack Flash.

So if you're a big fan of Some Girls and want to hear/see some live versions that leave many of the studio versions standing, this is a worthwhile buy. Apart from that it's a bit frustrating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2011
Great dvd of a great band in their late prime, quality visual
and audio. Mick, Keef and the rest of the band were blinding.
Well worth buying and as usual good service from Amazon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 16 January 2012
This is a great Rolling Stones concert from the late 1970s. The band is really together and the hits are played with a lot of enthusiasm and power.
The sound is superb on this DVD, Micks vocals bounce from the rear speakers and really makes this sound mix work brilliantly.
The extras are also very entertaining with Mick obviously enjoying remenicing his past in a great interview.
Well put together and well worth getting, can't wait for what's next.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2012
If you are a Stones fan like me then this is a must. If you are not a Stones fan this is a must see to understand why the rest of us are. The period between 1969 and 1978 saw the Stones at their very best live whether with Mick Taylor or Ronnie Wood. In this DVD they are still raw, decadent, arrogant, living the real rock and roll lifestyle yet delivering their best performances musically, Keef is great, how did he do it all?. Since then they have become "respectable", established, knighted, more polished, professional, clean, sober (most of them)and very rich yet still the worlds greatest rock and roll band. This DVD captures them at the height and towards the end of the period they truly earned the title and had the world at their feet. I've been to many of their gigs around the world but would love to have been at this one, now I can and for much less than the cost of a ticket!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 April 2012
This DVD is great fun. It is a concert given in Fort Worth in Dallas. It features content from Some Girls along with live standards like Honky Tonk Women, Tumbling Dice, Brown Sugar and Jumping Jack Flash. The concert is not in a stadium but a theatre and the band perform without backing singers and big production support. I use music videos to make exercise more entertaining and this DVD is ideal for bouncing around and keeping going!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
I always loved the version of Beast of Burden on display here (it is on youtube in various places, but, as far as I can tell with footage from only one 16mm camera) this has the best sound and the views from different cameras well-mixed.

I watched the rest and I was very pleased to see how the stones were at the top of their game here.

Although I generally prefer Mick Taylor's guitar sound as more lyrical and melodical I find that Ronnie is often underrated and portrayed as a garage rocker. This DVD does his playing justice (as does his 1976 Wild Horses solo of Knebworth).

Having listened to this delightful concert over the past couple of days I have started preferring it over the other Stones live versions, and that says a lot because I love Get Yer Ya Ya's Out and the 1972 and 1973 concerts. My all-time favorite renditions collection would contain many of the ones on this DVD with some added 1973 versions like Gimme Shelter, Heartbreaker and Angie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2012
I don't watch music DVD's that much, I prefer to be able to just listen to the music, so when I saw that this included a CD of the show as well I thought time to invest. I knew the shows on this tour were good, one of the other ones is available to listen to on Wolfgangs Vault and you could tell straight away they were so much better than on the tours that followed. And this set adds further evidence to that theory. Ok so Mick is trying to act all New York punk, and no it doesn't quite work, but somehow you still can't quite take your eyes off him. But behind him, the greatest rock'n' roll band in the world is playing like their lives depended on it. Keith may have been at the height of his drugs years but he somehow always found a way to pull it together enough for the shows, and this is no exception. Some Girls isn't high on everyones list of favourite Stones albums but I feel it is one of their best middle ranking ones and the appearence of so many songs from that album is no problem. Add to that a decent handful of the usual suspects and youve got a really good setlist. So if you''re still unsure whether or not to buy this, my advice is go out and get it, make sure you get the package with the CD, and then if you can't cope with Mick trying to be a New York punk, just put the CD on and listen to the greatest rock'n'roll band in the world tearin' it up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This is a must if your a stones fan, some not so well known songs are on here (when the whip comes down) and are fantastic.
Good qaulity footage too, of a very energetic performance.
Mick, Kieth,Charlie and Ronnie at their very best, must have watched this 20 times and still not bored!

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Shine a Light [Blu-ray]
Shine a Light [Blu-ray] by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2008)

Sweet Summer Sun - Hyde Park Live [Blu-ray] [2013]
Sweet Summer Sun - Hyde Park Live [Blu-ray] [2013] by The Rolling Stones (Blu-ray - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.