Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grass
A brilliant book. I had to read it again, immediately. Well written, fast paced and beautifully unpredictable. It was great to read a Science Fantasy novel so different from others I've read. Sheri Tepper seems to be able to write fantastically individual books. There doesn't seem to be a pattern she follows with the result that every book is a new experience.
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by Pauline Hartley

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Moral Responsibilities of Aliens
Grass presents a very interesting alien world, one where the entire planet is covered by grasses of various kinds except for small treed areas, with a very original set of aliens. The Hippae and their associated Hounds are the type of thing that can give you nightmares, an enlarged, horrific parody of horses, capable of mentally controlling those around them, with a...
Published on 16 Nov 2003 by Patrick Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grass, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Pauline Hartley (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A brilliant book. I had to read it again, immediately. Well written, fast paced and beautifully unpredictable. It was great to read a Science Fantasy novel so different from others I've read. Sheri Tepper seems to be able to write fantastically individual books. There doesn't seem to be a pattern she follows with the result that every book is a new experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that builds its way into a masterpiece, 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
The beginning of this book may seem to dwell on seemingly unrelated topics, but they wind together as you progress through it to give a thoroughly satisfaying read.
The third person narrative is used to its fullest extent, unlike some writers Sheri S. Tepper does not focus in on one character but explores the motivations and feelings of many, giving the reader a comprehesive understanding of the events that unfold.
I found myself not caring as deeply about the characters as perhaps I should, but with a storyline such as the one in Grass it was of little concern.
I would recommend this book to anyone who has become dissatisfied with the meaningless and infantile science fiction that has flooded the market today, for it restores all faith in science fiction as a credible genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherri Tepper's Grass - a darker vision, 5 Dec 2004
This review is from: Grass (Paperback)
It sounds almost like normal on Grass; a spaceport, big estates for the aristocracy in the countryside, hunting, horses, hounds, quarry........ A quick diplomatic mission in a homelike environment or at least that was what Marjorie's family was expecting. Things rapidly show their true colours when they arrive on Grass complete with their horses, ready to join the social whirl. However, Marjorie has never heard of the rigorous training or seen the unusual clothing the Grassians use, nor has she heard of mounts that demand silence, hounds that may not be looked at and riders maimed or 'disappeared' while hunting the elusive Foxen. The true story on Grass is much darker and far more complicated than one at first imagines, culminating in an almost surreal conclusion which ties all the disparate loose ends together. I really enjoyed this book and I still do ten years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read the reviews that give the plot away - just read this book, 12 Dec 2006
By 
J. L. Ashurst (Crewe, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is superlative fiction, whatever genre you try to put it in. I came to the book knowing nothing of the plot, and that's as it should be - otherwise you miss some of the most interesting surprises of the book. The reviewer who entitles their review 'the moral responsibilities of aliens' (whilst giving a good review, not that I agree with all of it) gives, I feel, far too much of the plot away. So if you're one of those people who, like me, don't like being told the middle of a book before you've even started it, then I have to say be careful reading such detailed reviews. I liken it to being told the plot twist of 'The Sixth Sense' - it's just 'not done', is it chaps?

Tepper always deals with broad moral themes, but you never get the feeling she's preaching. Her characters remain as vivid to me now as when I read the book last (which was quite some time ago). I won't go on, because better reviewers than I can cover this. My enthusiasm for this book renders me a little useless for rational dissection.

And if you, like me, love 'Grass', my next recommendation of Tepper's work would be 'The Family Tree'. And don't read any reviews, because if anyone gives away the big plot twist in THAT one they deserve to have every new book's plot explained to them in detail before they open the covers for the rest of their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Moral Responsibilities of Aliens, 16 Nov 2003
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Grass presents a very interesting alien world, one where the entire planet is covered by grasses of various kinds except for small treed areas, with a very original set of aliens. The Hippae and their associated Hounds are the type of thing that can give you nightmares, an enlarged, horrific parody of horses, capable of mentally controlling those around them, with a totally egocentric and blood-thirsty attitude. And the human society that has formed around the Hippae is also intriguing, somewhat modeled on the South American estancias, but with a strong English manor element, as the humans use the Hippae as mounts for the Hunt, a direct parody of the sport of fox hunting, with the object of the Hunt being the Foxen, a creature never really seen in its entirety, but only glimpsed from the corners of the eyes. The ecology and relationships of the various species of the planet form the major scientific underpinnings of this novel, relationships that are somewhat surprising and very interesting.
Into this world come Marjorie Westriding, her husband Rigo, her children Stella and Tony, Rigo's mistress Eugenie, and the family Catholic priests, sent as ambassadors from Sanctity, the controlling religious body on Earth, to investigate why Grass is the only known planet that does not seem to be infected with a fatal plague that is slowly wiping out humanity. The novel's action is driven by the consequences of family learning about the strange social structures and alien life forms of the planet.
While Marjorie, the main character, if fairly well drawn with a fair amount of depth, most of the other characters are very much stick figures that are supporting spear carriers only. This is a pity, as Rigo, Stella, and the dom Sylvan show intimations of being intriguing people, but they are never portrayed in enough depth to make them come alive. The total cast of characters is fairly large, and at later stages in the book it becomes difficult to remember just who each one is due to their limited portrayal.
Grass is at least partially an investigation of religion, faith, and original sin for both humans and for two different alien races. As such, it invites some comparison with other science fiction works that have dealt with these themes - Walter M. Miller, Jr.'s A Canticle for Leibowitz, Orson Scott Card's Speaker for the Dead, and the one closest in theme to this, James Blish's A Case of Conscience. Unfortunately, Grass does not meet the high level shown by these other books, as the crisis of faith experienced by Marjorie and the Foxen is dealt with somewhat shallowly. There is little deep explication of the problems, ambiguities, and paradoxes that entail from the concept of original sin applying to an alien race that were so well investigated by Blish's work. Marjorie's own changing concept of God from the traditional Catholic picture to one where humans are mere instruments of God's will, a virus that He unleashed to perform a specific action, where individual humans are not known by name to God, is a better formed and portrayed concept, but still not at the depth and emotional level that Canticle for Leibowitz achieved.
This is an ambitious work, with many sub-themes twined around the main one, each of which is deserving of in-depth portrayal. As written, this book is just too short to do justice to either the sub-themes or the main theme, not to mention the need for greater character development. It probably should have been twice its current length to fully develop all of the richness of ideas that Tepper presents here. Still, a very original work, more focused on anthropology and with difficult thematic material than is common in science fiction, items which make this a worthwhile reading experience.
--- Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine SF classic, 7 May 2012
By 
A. Mackintosh (Heptonstall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. At times it felt like I was reading Asimov or Le Guin for the first time and Grass certainly has an old school (in the nicest way possible) feel about it. There are some slightly trite bits but to dwell on those would be pointless since this is a genuinely well written, imaginative and highly enjoyable SF/fantasy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning: like all Sheri Teppper books, 4 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Grass (Hardcover)
Gripping, well developped, highly imaginative: Tepper combines her usual combination of sensitivity, dark humour and biting insights into the corruptability of humankind. Truly moving. Beware - it's part two of a trilogy (Raising the Stones, Grass, Sideshow), though the first two can be enjoyed in either order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit long, but overall a good book., 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: Grass (Paperback)
This book feels more fantasy than sci-fi, and takes a while to get into, but is worth it. The world of Grass is creepy as anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and enthralling, 12 Nov 2002
'Grass' is a brilliant book ... it's complex, many-layered, and full of action and conflict. This, like most of Tepper's novels, builds slowly, with many sub- and side-plots. She builds worlds (in this and her other works), worlds where human troubles (esp. those caused by human faults) are resolved in inventive and surprising ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slow start, but interesting if you are patient..., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grass (S.F. MASTERWORKS) (Kindle Edition)
I found that the first 200 or so pages (kindle version) were pretty slow given the potential of the subject.
Against that the presence of a female "lead" with a background in Olympic equestrianism made for a very different "feel" to the usual all action SF novels that we observe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grass (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
Grass (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Sheri S. Tepper
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews